Events & Discussions

 

FALL 2014 SJSU Campus Reading Program Activities

Discussion Groups Schedule for "My Beloved World" (Campus Reading Program) Fall 2014

All discussions are scheduled in Clark Hall 100H (the large fishbowl room).

Thursday, Aug. 28 Noon - 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 3 2-3 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 9 Noon - 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 17 Noon - 1 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 25 3-4 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 1 1 - 2 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 9 3 - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 15 Noon - 1 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 27 11 a.m. to Noon
Thursday, Nov. 6 Noon - 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 19 1 - 2 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 2 2 - 3 p.m.


Possible discussion questions are at LitLovers.com.

MORE EXCITING EVENTS:

  • Thursday, Sept. 18, 3 p.m. at MLK Library 225-229:Lecture

"Justice Sonia Sotomayor: Making the Constitution Safe for Democracy." Prof. Kenneth Nuger of the Political Science Department will share some reflections and insights about this justice's approach and rationale in interpreting the law of the land.  This event is held in recognition of Constitution Day as well, which comes every year on September 17 to honor the signing of the U.S. Constitution in Philadelphia in 1787.

  • Wednesday, Oct. 8, 7:30 p.m. at Concert Hall, Music 176: CONCERT

Come early and learn how to do some dance steps to these rhythms in Music Building room 150, starting at 6:30 pm.

The Latin Jazz Ensemble will present a concert that includes highlights of music related to the place and culture of Puerto Rico.  Join us as we savor the rhythms of Justice Sotomayor's ethnic heritage.

 

  • Monday, Oct. 20, 4 p.m. at Student Union: SOTOMAYOR Interview  

Justice Sonia Sotomayor will come to San Jose State to share more of her thoughts and experiences in an interview conducted by her former clerk, UC Berkeley Law Professor Melissa Murray. 
As tickets to this event have sold out, there will be livestreaming at the Morris Dailey auditorium starting at 4 pm on the same day to accommodate those who are interested and would like to gather and watch the event together. Should Morris Dailey also fill up or for those who cannot be on campus that day, the URL for the livestream will be http://www.ustream.tv/channel/sjsu---judge-sonia-sotomayor so Spartans everywhere may still access it.

  • Wednesday, Oct. 22 at 7:00 p.m. ONLINE Discussion

In celebration of Justice Sonia Sotomayor's visit to SJSU this October, ALASC and its partners, Campus Reading, SLA, SLISConnect, ASIS&T, and CLA SIG - would like to invite you to read Justice Sotomayor’s memoir, “My Beloved World.”  Then join the online discussion on Collaborate   https://sas.elluminate.com/d.jnlp?sid=2011274&password=D.BD192CD80069307D3104D61D410E88 

Come share your thoughts and feelings about the book or just hang out and make some new friends!

Event flyer (pdf)

  • Thursday, Nov. 20, 4:30 p.m. at MLK Library 225-229: PANEL DISCUSSION

Prof. Tanya Bakhru, Women's Studies, will chair a panel discussion on the related topic of "Women in Justice Systems." Participants will include Prof. Kate Davis, Global Studies; Prof. Edith Kinney, Justice Studies; Layma Ahmadzai, Student Affairs.