NSF Awards $482K to Technology Pathways Program

A cross-disciplinary team of SJSU researchers has been awarded nearly a half million dollars by NSF to develop a Technology Pathway Program (TPP) for non-STEM majors at SJSU and at CSU East Bay: Engineering Professor Belle Wei, Center for Faculty Development Director Amy Strage, Computer Engineering Department Chair Xiao Su, Psychology Assistant Professor David Schuster, Psychology Assistant Professor Valerie Carr, Psychology Professor Cheryl Chancellor-Freeland, Software Engineering Adjunct Professor Hungwen Li, and General Engineering Adjunct Professor Morris Jones.

Given the emergence of big data and the growth of the technology based economy, the demand for workers who have both domain knowledge and technical skills is growing. The TPP program will incorporate relevant technical concepts into non-STEM students’ curriculum. Behavioral and social sciences students will be targeted for the program at SJSU, as will health sciences students at CSU East Bay.

Using a cohort structure and student-centered pedagogical strategies for STEM-related disciplines, TPP leaders will establish a learning community consisting of professors, industry professionals and students. A combination of in-person meetings and online tools will be used to facilitate community engagement and operations, and a series of curricular and co-curricular activities will create a balance of “high-tech” and “high-touch” educational practices.

Plans also call for the propagation and transferability of the project. The team aims to work with other campuses to develop similar interdisciplinary technology programs, and also seeks to work with other CSU faculty in using the developed curricular and pedagogical materials to facilitate their own adoption of the TPP program.