Success Centers and Academic Advising

Below is information on the college success centers and where to get academic advising for general education (GE) and in your major:

Academic Advising & Retention Services(Undeclared and Pre-Nursing Students)

Charles W. Davidson College of Engineering

College of Health and Human Sciences

College of Humanities and Arts

College of Science

College of Social Sciences

Connie L. Lurie College of Education

Lucas College and Graduate School of Business

If you have any questions, please contact us at academic.advising@sjsu.edu. You can also get information on your major and help with academic advising issues from your department office. In addition to the resources below, you can find contact information for your department online here.

 



 

Academic Advising & Retention Services(Undeclared and Pre-Nursing Students)

Academic Advising and Retention Services (AARS) provides advising for Undeclared and PreNursing students.

All students in these groups will be required to meet with an advisor every semester.

Location: Student Services Center
Phone: 408-924-2129
Email: academic.adivising@sjsu.edu                                                                              Website: http://www.sjsu.edu/aars/ 



 

Charles W. Davidson College of Engineering

Advising in your major: All engineering students have an advisor in their major. For detailed contact information and appointment visit our website.

All engineering students have an advising hold each semester. You must see your advisor once a semester. Make an appointment in the early part of the semester. If you wait to when course registration is happening than it will be difficult to get an appointment.

Location: Engineering Building 344                                                                       
Phone: (408) 924-3990 
Email:success-engineering@sjsu.edu                 
Website: https://engineering.sjsu.edu/student-success/engineering-student-success-center 

Email:nikos.mourtos@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3965
Fax: (408) 924-3818
Location: Engineering Building 272
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/ae/students/advising/index.html 

Nikos J. Mourtos Professor and Department Chair nikos.mourtos@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3867

Email: aviation-engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3190
Fax: (408) 924-3198
Location: Industrial Studies Building 111
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/avtech/students/advising/index.html 

Fred Barez Department Chair fred.barez@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4298

Email:biomedical-engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-4000
Fax: (408) 924-4057
Location: Engineering Building 385
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/bcme/students/undergraduate-advising/index.html 

Guna Selvaduray Professor and Department Chair guna.selvaduray@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3874

Email:civil-engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3900
Fax: (408) 924-4004
Location: Engineering Building 147
Advising: http://cee.sjsu.edu/undergraduate-studies/advising 

Laura Sullivan-Green Associate Professor and Department Chair laura.sullivan-green@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3906

Email: frontdesk-computer-engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-4150
Fax: (408) 924-4153
Location: Engineering Building 284
Advising: http://cmpe.sjsu.edu/content/advisors 

Xiao Su Department Chair chair-computer-engineering@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4150

Email:electrical.engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3950
Fax: (408) 924-3925
Location: Engineering Building 349
Advising: https://ee.sjsu.edu/content/advising 

Thuy T. Le Department Chair thuy.le@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5708

Email:general-engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-4048
Fax: (408) 924-3883
Location: Engineering Building 491
Advising: http://generalengineering.sjsu.edu/ms/student_resources/advising/ 

Ping Hsu Program Director ping.hsu@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3902

Email:industrialsystems-dept@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-4301
Location: Engineering Building 485
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/ise/students/advising/ 

Yasser Dessouky Professor and Department Chair yasser.dessouky@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4133

Email:mechanical-engineering@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3850
Fax: (408) 924-3995
Location: Engineering Building 310
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/me/studentresources/advising/index.html 

Nicole Okamoto Professor and Department Chair nicole.okamoto@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4054

 



 

College of Health and Human Sciences

General education advising, help with changing majors, academic policy related questions, meeting with peer advisors, and/or attending various regularly scheduled presentations and workshops

Location: MacQuarrie Hall 533 and Health Building 140
Phone: (408) 924-2910, (408) 924-8601
Email: chhssuccesscenter@sjsu.edu                                                                                  Website: http://www.sjsu.edu/chhs-ssc/ 

 

Email:healthscience-group@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-2971
Fax: (408) 924-2979
Location: Spartan Complex 201

 professor Anne Dermers Department Chair Anne.demers@sjsu.edu (408) 924-2980

Email:hospitality@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3000
Fax: (408) 924-3061
Location: MacQuarrie Hall 407

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/hspm/advising/ 


professor Tsu-Hong Yen Department Chair Tsu-Hong.Yen@sjsu.edu (408) 924 3292

Email:journalism@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3240
Location: Dwight Bentel Hall 105

Advising: https://sjsujmc.com/advising/ 


Phylis West Johnson Program Director phylis.west@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5997

Email:justice-studies@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-2940
Location: MacQuarrie Hall 524

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/justicestudies/for-students/advising/index.html 


James Lee Department Chair james.lee@sjsu.edu (408) 924 5866

Phone: (408) 924-3010
Fax: (408) 924-3053
Location: Spartan Complex 102

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/kinesiology/advising/ 


Matthew A. Masucci Department Chair matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3021

Email:nursing@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3131
Location: Health Building 420

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/nursing/students/advising/index.html 


Colleen O'Leary-Kelley Director and Professor colleen.oleary-kelley@sjsu.edu (408) 924 1319

Phone: (408) 924-3100
Fax: (408) 924-3114
Location: Central Classroom Building 200

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/nufspkg/current-students/nufspkg-advising/index.html 


Ashwini Wagle Department Chair ashwini.wagle@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3110

Email:occupationaltherapyadmin@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3070
Fax: (408) 924-3088
Location: Central Classroom Building 203

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/occupationaltherapy/advising/ 


Winifred Schultz-Krohn Department Chair winifred.schultz-krohn@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3070

Email:Mai.Phan@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5800
Location: Washington Square Hall 215

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/socialwork/currentstudents/studentresources/advising/ 


Peter Allen Lee Director peter.a.lee@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5850

 



 

College of Humanities and Arts

Advising in your major: There are faculty advisors in each of the H&A majors that advise undergrads in the requirements for the major. The faculty advisors and their contact information can be found on the department websites  (The departments are listed on the left side bar.)

Humanities and Arts Student Success Center: The College of Humanities and the Arts (H&A) Student Success Center is the central advising resource for students in the College.

Location: Clark Hall  244
Phone: (408) 924-5095
Email:ha-successcenter@sjsu.edu
Website:http://www.sjsu.edu/ha-advising/  

 

Email:art@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4320
Fax:  (408) 924-4326
Location: Art Building 116
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/art/advising/index.html 

Anthony Raynsford Department Chair anthony.raynsford@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4320

Email:Design@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4340
Location: Art Building 120

Connie Hwang Department Chair connie.hwang@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4340

Email: english@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4425
Location: Faculty Offices 102
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/english/currentstudents/advisors/index.html 

Noelle Brada-Williams Department Chair Noelle.Brada-Williams@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4439

Email:nikole.abrego@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4530
Location: Hugh Gillis Hall 100
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/filmandtheatre/advising/index.html 

Elisha Miranda Department Chair elisha.miranda@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4545

Email:humanities@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4463
Location: Clark Hall 419
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/hum/advising/ 

Shannon Rose Riley Department Chair shannonRose.riley@sjsu.edu (408) 924-1365

Email:linguistics@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4413
Fax:  (408) 924-4703
Location: Clark Hall 473
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/linguistics/current_students/advising/index.html 

Swathi Vanniarajan Department Chair swathi.vanniarajan@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4413

Email:music@sjsu.edu and dance@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4673 and (408) 924-5041
Fax:  (408) 924-4773
Location: Music Building 179 and Washington Square 104

Fred Cohen Director afred.cohen@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4673

Email:Janet.Stemwedel@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4468
Location: Faculty Office Building 201
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/philosophy/advising/ 

Janet Stemwedel Department Chair janet.stemwedel@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4470

Email:world-languages@sjsu.edu
Phone:  (408) 924-4602
Location: Clark Hall 421
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/wll/student_resources/undergraduate_advisors/index.html 

Damian Bacich Department Chair damian.bacich@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4602

  



    

College of Science

Advising in your major: All science students have an advisor assigned based on their major. Check the contact information at the CoSAC website

All science students have an advising hold each semester. You must see your assigned advisor once a semester to have the advising hold removed. The hold will prevent you from registering for classes. Therefore, you should make an appointment in the early part of the semester. If you wait until course registration is happening then it will be difficult to get an appointment. There are no drop-in appointments so you must make an appointment with your assigned advisor in order to get your advising hold removed. You can make an appointment through the CoSAC online appointment system

College of Science Advising Center: CoSAC provides lower-division major advising for declared Biology, Chemistry and Computer Science students and General Education advising and student success programs for all undergraduate students in the College of Science.  

Location: Duncan Hall 212
Phone: (408) 924-5193
Email: science-advisingcenter@sjsu.edu
Website: http://www.sjsu.edu/cosac/  

Email: bioassistant-group@sjsu.edu 
Phone: (408) 924-4900
Fax: (408) 924-4840
Location: Duncan Hall 254
Advising: www.sjsu.edu/biology/undergraduate-programs/advising/index.html

Jeffrey Y Honda Professor and Department Chair jeffrey.honda@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4877

Email:chemoffice@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5000
Fax: (408) 924-4945
Location: Duncan Hall 518

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/chemistry/Academic_Programs/index.html 


Karen Singmaster Professor and Department Chair karen.singmaster@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5000

Email:info-compsci@sjsu.edu 
Phone: (408) 924-5060
Fax: (408) 924-5062
Location: MacQuarrie Hall 208

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/cs/practicalities/index.html 


Sami Khuri Department Chair sami.khuri@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5081

Email: undergradadvisor-geology@sjsu.edu 
Phone: (408) 924-5045
Fax: (408) 924-5053
Location: Duncan Hall 321

Jonathan Miller Department Chair jonathan.miller@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5015

Email:math-info@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5100
Fax: (408) 924-5080
Location: MacQuarrie Hall 308

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/math/advising/advisinginfo/index.html 


Bem Cayco Department Chair bem.cayco@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5100

Email:meteorology@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5200
Fax: (408) 924-5191
Location: Duncan Hall 620

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/meteorology/undergraduates/undergraduate_advising/index.html 


Alison Bridger Department Chair alison.bridger@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5206

Email:physics-astronomy@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5210
Location: Science Building 148

Advising: http://physics.sjsu.edu/student_resources/advising/index.html 


Monika Kress Department Chair and Professor monika.kress@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5210

 



 

College of Social Sciences

Advising in your major: There are faculty advisors in each of the COSS majors that advise undergrads in the requirements for the major. The faculty advisors and their contact information are listed on our website.

Academic Counseling Center for Excellence in the Social Sciences (ACCESS) provides advising for undergraduate students majoring or intending to major in any of the departments in the College of Social Sciences (CoSS). All incoming frosh are encouraged to make an appointment with an ACCESS advisor your first semester.

Location: Clark Hall 240
Phone: (408) 924-5363                                                                                                   
Email: socsci-success@sjsu.edu 
Website: http://www.sjsu.edu/access/advising/ 

Email:afam-studies@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5871
Fax: (408) 924-5872
Location: Washington Square Hall 216A

Theodorea Regina Berry Department Chair theodorea.berry@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5339

Email:  roberto.gonzalez@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5710
Fax: (408) 924-5348
Location: Clark Hall Suite 469

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/anthropology/Advising/ 


Roberto Gonzalez Department Chair roberto.gonzalez@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5715

Email: Deanna.Fassett@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-0112
Location: Hugh Gillis Hall 108

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/comm/about/advising/index.html 


Deanna Fassett Department Chair deanna.fassett@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5511

Email:economics@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5400
Fax: (408) 924-5872
Location: Dudley Moorhead Hall 146

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/economics/students/Advising/index.html 


Colleen Haight Department Chair colleen.haight@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5422

Email: environmental-studies@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5450
Fax: (408) 924-5477
Location: Washington Square Hall 118

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/envs/advising/ 


Lynne Trulio Department Chair lynne.trulio@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5439

Email: lynne.trulio@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5475
Fax: (408) 924-5477
Location: Washington Square Hall 118

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/geography/students/advising/index.html 


Lynne Trulio Acting Department Chair lynne.trulio@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5439

Email:global-studies@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-6951
Fax: (408) 924-5477
Location: Washington Square Hall 118

Katherine Cushing Director katherine.cushing@sjsu.edu (408) 924-6951

Email:treina.bills@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5500
Location: Dudley Moorhead Hall 134

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/history/undergraduate_program/advising/index.html 


Jonathan Roth Department Chair jonathan.roth@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5505

Email:mas-community-group@sjsu.edu/a>
Phone: (408) 924-5760
Fax: (408) 924-5700
Location: Clark Hall 231

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/ccs/Apply/index.html 


Marcos Pizarro Department Chair marcos.pizarro@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5584

Phone: (408) 924-5550
Fax: (408) 924-5556
Location: Clark Hall 471

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/polisci/UndergraduateStudents/Advising/index.html 


Melinda Jackson Department Chair Melinda.Jackson@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5293

Email:Psychology@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5600
Location: Dudley Moorehead 157

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/psych/Undergraduates/Advising/index.html 


Lynda Heiden Department Chair Lynda.Heiden@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5647

Email:sociology@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5320
Location: Dudley Moorhead Hall 241

Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/siss/advising/ 


Carlos Garcia Department Chair carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5804

Email:eurbplan@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5882
Fax: (408) 924-5872
Location: Washington Square Hall 216A

Colleen Haight Department Chair colleen.haight@sjsu.edu (408) 924-5422

  



   

Connie L. Lurie College of Education

 

Advising in your major: All education students have an advisor assigned based on their major and are highly encouraged to see them each semester. Make an appointment in the early part of the semester. If you wait to when course registration is happening for spring (November) than it will be difficult to get an appointment.

Lurie College of Education Success Center: The success center has a range of activities including professional development workshops, mentoring, networking events, and access to university, college, and career resources. The Center also provides academic advising about General Education (GE) requirements, changing a major/minor, and support for students on academic probation or disqualified from the university.

Location: Sweeney Hall 106
Phone: (408) 924-2700
Email:  LurieCollege-SuccessCenter@sjsu.edu
Website: http://www.sjsu.edu/education/studentsuccesscenter/  

 

Email:childdev@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-3718
Fax: (408) 924-3758
Location: Sweeney Hall 201
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/chad/chad-resources/advising/index.html 

Ravisha Mathur Department Chair ravisha.mathur@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3666

Phone: (408) 924-3688
Fax: (408) 924-3641
Location: Sweeney Hall 115
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/cds/student-resources/advising/index.html 

Shaum P. Bhagat Department Chair shaum.bhagat@sjsu.edu (408) 924-4019

  



  

Lucas College and Graduate School of Business

Jack Holland Student Success Center is the central advisement office for all undergraduate business majors.  We help with academic planning (includes general education and major course requirements), the graduation application process, understanding college and university policies and procedures, career coaching, and advice for students on academic probation or those disqualified from San Jose State University.

Location: Boccardo Business Complex 008
Phone: (408) 924-3435
Email: jackholland-center@sjsu.edu
Advising: http://www.sjsu.edu/lcobssc/advising/index.html 

 

Phone: (408) 924-3460
Fax: (408) 924-3463
Location: Business Tower 850

Elizabeth Grace Department Chair TElizabeth.grace@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3474

Phone: (408) 924-6880
fax: (408) 924-6885
Location: Business Tower 650

Taeho Park School Director taeho.park@sjsu.edu (408) 924-6881

Phone: (408) 924-7790
Fax: (408) 924-7793
Location: Business Tower 250

Timothy R. Hill School Director timothy.hill@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3512

Phone: (408) 924-3550 
Fax: (408) 924-3555
Location: Business Tower 650


Meg Virick Director m.virick@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3551

Phone: (408) 924-3506 
Fax: (408) 924-3445
Location: Business Tower 750

Michael Merz Acting Department Chair michael.merz@sjsu.edu (408) 924-3539