Advising

The Sociology Department offers advisement sessions to all sociology students.

For generic information and questions, students can refer the Advising Hub webpage which is meant to bring together all the different advising and counseling offices together to make it easier for you to find the updated, reliable information you need.

Advising Hub

Academic Advising

ACCESS provides advising for undergraduate students majoring or wanting to major in any of the departments and programs listed in the access website.

ACCESS Success Center

Drop-In Major Advising - Spring 2014

PLEASE BRING THE FOLLOWING ITEMS TO YOUR ADVISING SESSION:

  • "My Academics" Homepage (print screen)
  • Course History (via "My Academics")
  • Unofficial transcripts from SJSU
  • Unofficial transcripts from previous college(s) OR print a copy of the "Transfer Credit" report from MySJSU "My Academics" section

Select an Advisor according to Major and Undergraduate level or Graduate level.

Advisor Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
Social Sciences Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Maria Luisa Alaniz
DMH 220
(408) 924-5543
maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
  8:30am-11:30am, 2:00pm-3:00pm   1:00pm-3:00pm
Dr. Peter Chua (SOCI)
DMH 223
(408) 924-5330
peter.chua@sjsu.edu
   9:30am-10:15am, 4:30pm-5:45pm,and by appointment   9:30am-10:15am, 4:30pm-5:45pm
Asian American Studies Program Coordinator
Dr. Hien Do
CL 240
(408) 924-5363
hien.do@sjsu.edu
       
Dr. Carlos Garcia (SOCI)
DMH 216
(408) 924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
10:15am -11:30am 10:15am -11:30am  10:15am -11:30am   10:15am -11:30am
Women's Studies Program Coordinator
Dr. Shahin Gerami
DMH 238A
(408) 924-5754
shahin.gerami@sjsu.edu
10:30am-11:30am, and by appointment   10:30am-11:30am  
Graduate Advisor
Dr. Amy Leisenring (SOCI)
DMH 224
(408) 924-5756
amy.leisenring@sjsu.edu
 4:00pm-6:00pm (Grad Students Only)   No Undergraduate Major Advising for Spring 2014.  Graduate Advising Only.  
Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Susan Murray (SOCI)
DMH 211
(408) 924-5327
susan.murray@sjsu.edu
  8:00am-8:45am, 2:45pm-5:45pm Selected Wednesdays 1:00pm-3:00pm Jan 29, Feb 15, 19, Mar 5, Apr 2, 16, 30, May 7 8:00am-8:45am, 2:45pm-5:45pm
Dr. Scott Myers-Lipton (SOCI)
DMH 210
(408) 924-5761
scott.myers-lipton@sjsu.edu
   2:00pm-4:00pm   2:00pm-4:00pm
Department Chair
Dr. Wendy Ng (SISS)
DMH 241B
(408) 924-5594
wendy.ng@sjsu.edu
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY  
Dr. Preston Rudy (SOCI)
DMH 222
(408) 924-5333
preston.rudy@sjsu.edu
And by appointment 2:45pm-3:45pm 5:15pm-5:45pm  9:15am-10:15am, 1:0opm-1:25pm