Advising

The Department of Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences offers advisement sessions to all students.

For generic information and questions, students can refer the Advising Hub webpage which is meant to bring together all the different advising and counseling offices together to make it easier for you to find the updated, reliable information you need.

Advising Hub

Academic Advising

ACCESS provides advising for undergraduate students majoring or wanting to major in any of the departments and programs listed in the access website.

ACCESS Success Center

Drop-In Major Advising

Fall 2014 Major Advising - Last day of advising will be December 10, 2014

PLEASE BRING THE FOLLOWING ITEMS TO YOUR ADVISING SESSION:

  • "My Academics" Homepage (print screen)
  • Course History (via "My Academics")
  • Unofficial transcripts from SJSU
  • Unofficial transcripts from previous college(s) OR print a copy of the "Transfer Credit" report from MySJSU "My Academics" section

Select an Advisor according to Major and Undergraduate level or Graduate level.

Advisor Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
Social Sciences Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Maria Luisa Alaniz
DMH 220
(408) 924-5543
maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
   3:00pm-5:30pm   3:00pm-5:30pm
Women's Studies Program Coordinator
Dr. Tanya Bakhru
DMH 213
(408) 924-5744
tanya.bakhru@sjsu.edu
8:30am-9:00am 10:00am-noon 8:30am-9:00am  
Dr. Natalie Boero
DMH 210
(408) 924-5345
natalie.boero@sjsu.edu
11:45am-12:45pm   4:15pm-6:30pm  
Dr. Peter Chua (SOCI)
DMH 223
(408) 924-5330
peter.chua@sjsu.edu
   12:10pm-1:10pm and by appointment 4:50pm-5:50pm
Asian American Studies Program Coordinator
Dr. Hien Do
CL 240
(408) 924-5363
hien.do@sjsu.edu
       
Dr. Carlos Garcia (SOCI)
DMH 216
(408) 924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
 11:30am-11:55am 10:15am-10:50am 11:30am-11:55am 10:15am-10:50am
Graduate Advisor
Dr. Amy Leisenring (SOCI)
DMH 224
(408) 924-5756
amy.leisenring@sjsu.edu
 4:00pm-6:00pm
(Grad students only)
 1:15pm-2:45pm    11am-noon
Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Susan Murray (SOCI)
DMH 211
(408) 924-5327
susan.murray@sjsu.edu
  8:00am-10:15am, 2:45pm-5:45pm

Selected Wednesdays: 1:00pm-3:00pm
Sept 3, 17; Oct 1, 15, 29; Nov 5, 19; and Dec 3

8:00am-10:15am
Dr. Scott Myers-Lipton (SOCI)
DMH 210
(408) 924-5761
scott.myers-lipton@sjsu.edu
  1:00pm-3:00pm, 4:15pm-5:15pm    2:00pm-3:00pm
Department Chair
Dr. Wendy Ng (SISS)
DMH 241B
(408) 924-5594
wendy.ng@sjsu.edu
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY  
SOCS Teacher Prep Advisor
Wendy Rouse
DMH 239
(408) 924-5748
wendy.rouse@sjsu.edu
  11:00am-noon   11:00am-noon
Dr. Preston Rudy (SOCI)
DMH 222
(408) 924-5333
preston.rudy@sjsu.edu
 

9:30am-10:15am, 5:00pm-5:30pm, 8:45pm-9:15pm

4::45pm-5:30pm and 8:45pm-9:15pm 9:30am-10:15am
Dr. Megan Thiele (SOCI)
DMH 224
(408) 924-2975
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
 noon-12:50pm   noon-12:50pm