Advising

The Department of Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences offers advisement sessions to all students.

For generic information and questions, students can refer the Advising Hub webpage which is meant to bring together all the different advising and counseling offices together to make it easier for you to find the updated, reliable information you need.

Advising Hub

Academic Advising

ACCESS provides advising for undergraduate students majoring or wanting to major in any of the departments and programs listed in the access website.

ACCESS Success Center

Drop-In Major Advising

Fall 2015 Major Advising - First day of advising will be August 20, 2015

Sociology Undergraduate Major Advisor: Dr. Susan Murray
Office Hours (DMH 211): TBA

Sociology Graduate Major Advisor: Dr. Amy Leisenring
Office Hours (DMH 224): TBA

Social Science Major Advisor (incl. Teacher Preparation): Dr. Maria Luisa Alaniz
Office Hours (DMH 220): TBA

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program Coordinator:  Dr. Tanya Bakhru
Office Hours (DMH 213): TBA

 

For additional department advisors, please see the grid below.

PLEASE BRING THE FOLLOWING ITEMS TO YOUR ADVISING SESSION:

  • "My Academics" Homepage (print screen)
  • Course History (via "My Academics")
  • Unofficial transcripts from SJSU
  • Unofficial transcripts from previous college(s) OR print a copy of the "Transfer Credit" report from MySJSU "My Academics" section

Select an Advisor according to Major and Undergraduate level or Graduate level.

Advisor Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
Social Sciences Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Maria Luisa Alaniz
DMH 220
(408) 924-5543
maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
       
Women's Studies Program Coordinator
Dr. Tanya Bakhru
DMH 213
(408) 924-5744
tanya.bakhru@sjsu.edu
       
Dr. Natalie Boero
DMH 210
(408) 924-5345
natalie.boero@sjsu.edu
       
Dr. Peter Chua (SOCI)
DMH 223
(408) 924-5330
peter.chua@sjsu.edu
 

 

   
Asian American Studies Program Coordinator
Dr. Hien Do
CL 240
(408) 924-5363
hien.do@sjsu.edu
 ** VISIT THE ACCESS CENTER  www.sjsu.edu/access  ** 
Dr. Faustina DuCros
DMH 212
(408) 924-5325
faustina.ducros@sjsu.edu
       
Dr. Carlos Garcia (SOCI)
DMH 216
(408) 924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
       
Graduate Advisor
Dr. Amy Leisenring (SOCI)
DMH 224
(408) 924-5756
amy.leisenring@sjsu.edu
 

 

   
Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Susan Murray (SOCI)
DMH 211
(408) 924-5327
susan.murray@sjsu.edu
 

 

 

 
Dr. Scott Myers-Lipton (SOCI)
DMH 210
(408) 924-5761
scott.myers-lipton@sjsu.edu
       
Department Chair
Dr. Wendy Ng (SISS)
DMH 241B
(408) 924-5594
wendy.ng@sjsu.edu
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY ** 
Dr. Preston Rudy (SOCI)
DMH 222
(408) 924-5333
preston.rudy@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

 
Dr. Megan Thiele (SOCI)
DMH 224
(408) 924-2975
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu