Spartan Food Pantry

The Spartan Food Pantry is a full-service, staffed, walk-in pantry at SJSU offering non-perishable goods, fresh produce, and refrigerated items.Spartan Food Pantry Logo

No student should have to face food insecurity. We define those in need as students who have limited or uncertain access to nutritious and safe foods because of a lack of money and other resources.

Much of our food provided is donated in partnership with Second Harvest of Silicon Valley. Individual donations are accepted during operational hours.

Fall 2019 Hours:

  • Monday 1:00 - 5:00 p.m. 
  • Wednesday-Friday 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • We will be closed on Dec 17 & 19th

pantry starff

Winter Break Hours:

  • Monday 12.23.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Tuesday 12.24.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Wednesday 12.25.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Thursday 12.26.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Friday 12.27.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Monday 12.30.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Tuesday 12.31.2019 - Closed / University Closed
  • Wednesday 01.01.2020 - Closed / University Closed
  • Thursday 01.02.2019 - Closed
  • Friday 01.03.2019 - Closed
  • Monday 01.06.2020 - 12Noon-3PM
  • Tuesday 01.07.2020 - Closed
  • Wednesday 01.08.2020 - 12Noon-3PMW
  • Thursday 01.09.2020 - Closed
  • Friday 01.10.2020 - 12Noon-3PM
  • Monday 01.13.2020 - 12Noon-3PM
  • Tuesday 01.14.2020 - Closed
  • Wednesday 01.15.2020 - 12Noon-3PM
  • Thursday 01.16.2020 - Closed
  • Friday 01.17.2020 - 12Noon-3PM
  • Monday 01.20.2020 - Closed / University Closed
  • Tuesday 01.21.2020 - Closed
  • Wednesday 01.22.2020 - 12Noon-3PM
  • Thursday 01.23.2020 - 11AM-5PM (First day of Spring Term; New User Agreement required)

Spring 2020 Hours:

  • Monday/Thursday/Friday 11AM-5PM
  • Tuesday/Wednesday 12-6PM

 

Location: Diaz Compean Student Union (exterior entrance across from Engineering Rotunda)

 

Eligibility:

  • Experiencing Hunger/Food Insecurity
  • Must be currently enrolled or future enrolled SJSU student who has had prior enrollment
  • Must bring Tower ID Card and reusable grocery bags
  • Must earn a gross annual income of $33,348* or less (no documentation required) 

How Spartan Food Pantry Works 

Step 1: Check In

  • Check in (staff swipe your SJSU Tower ID card verifying you are currently enrolled)
  • Complete the Spartan Food Pantry Intake & Agreement Form at one of our computer stations. This is completed on the first visit of each academic semester.

Step 2: Shop

  • Shop for items within the six zones. Availability of stock in each zone may vary. Staff will let you know if there are any limits per zone on that day.
    • Zone 1 (Produce)
    • Zone 2 (Multiple Use)
    • Zone 3 (Cool Zone)
    • Zone 4 (Single Use)
    • Zone 5 (Toiletries)
    • Zone 6 (Grab-N-Go)

Step 3: Check Out

  • Check out (staff will review items and re-swipe your Tower ID)
  • Bag items (in re-usable bag you've brought)

We highly encourage students to ask questions if they don't know how to prepare a food. SJSU Wellness & Health Promotion has an excellent website about Eating Well on a Budget that helps provide cooking tips, videos, and recipes. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

 

Follow Us on Social Media

Follow SJSUFoodPantry on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.


 

*Income limits are set by US Government at 275% of the Federal Poverty Line. $2,862 monthly for individuals of a household of 1; add $1,013 per additional household member. Please ask if you have questions.