Faculty Scholarship

Our faculty have wide-ranging research interests in areas such as child welfare, aging, mental health, immigrants and refugees, and health. Their research areas and a link to their websites where more details on their scholarly work and interests can be found, are below.

 Name Primary Research Interests

 

Emily Bruce

Emily Bruce

emily.bruce@sjsu.edu

Child welfare practice and policy, specifically transition age youth leaving out-of-home care.

sjsu.edu/people/emily.bruce/

 

Edward Cohen

Edward Cohen

edward.cohen@sjsu.edu

Mental health; international social work and SW education.

sjsu.edu/people/edward.cohen/

 

Photo of Amy D'Andrade

Amy D’Andrade

amy.dandrade@sjsu.edu

Reunification in child welfare practice; service access and service delivery for parents with children in out-of-home care.

sjsu.edu/people/amy.dandrade/

 

Sadhna Diwan

Sadhna Diwan

sadhna.diwan@sjsu.edu

1) Delivery of Health, Mental Health, and Social Services for Frail Older People and their Families (Impact of Dementia & Depression, Needs/ Risk Assessment, Case Management, Resource Allocation and Service Utilization in Long-term Care).

2) Cultural Diversity and Well-being (impact of social integration and social capital on mental and physical health of immigrants).

sjsu.edu/people/sadhna.diwan/

 

Laurie Drabble

Laurie Drabble

laurie.drabble@sjsu.edu

Alcohol and drug issues among marginalized populations of women, with a special focus on sexual minority women's health and collaboration between addiction treatment and child welfare fields

sjsu.edu/people/laurie.drabble/

 

Nicole Dubus

Nicole Dubus

nicole.dubus@sjsu.edu

The life course experiences of refugees; in particular, factors that create culturally-effective health and behavioral health services to refugees and forced migrants.

Mike Gorman

michael.gorman@sjsu.edu

Social Work and health, Global comparative social work human rights, HIV and public health, LGBT populations, qualitative research methods.

sjsu.edu/people/mike.gorman/

 

Meekyung Han

Meekyung Han

meekyung.han@sjsu.edu

1) Issues related to mental health and general well-being among Asian Americans; and 2) enhancing culturally sensitive and competent social work practice with Asian populations.

sjsu.edu/people/meekyung.han/

 

Peter Allen Lee

Peter Allen Lee

peter.a.lee@sjsu.edu

Psychological development and adjustment of Asian Americans, and ethnic groups in the child welfare and mental health systems,  Social work in community settings (i.e., Social Workers in the Library programs),  Social work education,  Leadership discovery

sjsu.edu/people/peter.a.lee/

 

Sang Lee

Sang E. Lee

sang.lee@sjsu.edu

Dementia and caregiving in immigrant populations, including dementia knowledge and perceptions, family caregiving, home and community based service utilization, role of culture, and culturally competent research and practice 

sjsu.edu/people/sang.lee/

 

Kathy Lemon

kathy.lemon@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

Migdalia Reyes

Migdalia Reyes

migdalia.reyes@sjsu.edu

 

sjsu.edu/people/migdalia.reyes/

 

Soma Sen

Soma Sen

soma.sen@sjsu.edu

Understanding and addressing health disparities among marginalized groups;  HIV/AIDS prevalence among Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI), both nationally and internationally; social factors (such as race/ethnicity, gender, culture, stigma) that create the differential disease burden in society

sjsu.edu/people/soma.sen/