How to Pay

Cash Payment Remember to pay by due dates to avoid penalties. Visit the Calendar for deadlines


Methods of Payment

San José State University accepts several different methods of payment. Students can make payment by one of the following options.

  • E-Check: Must have SJSU Student ID or User ID number and password in order to access Student Financials in my.sjsu.edu
  • Credit Card: We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. You can pay by credit card online through your MySJSU account. For more information, please visit the Credit Card Payments site at the Bursar's office.
  • Check, Cashier's Check or Money Order: Pay in person at the Bursar's Office, by drop box, or by mail. Postmarks are not accepted. Your name, local telephone number where you can be reached and SJSU ID number - not social security number - must be on the face of the check Mail checks to: Bursar's Office, San José State University, One Washington Square, San José, CA 95192-0138.
  • Third Party Sponsor: A purchase order must be attached with agency name, contact person, address and telephone.
  • Cash:Pay in person

Refer to payment options and instructions for more information. For step-by-step instructions on how to pay online, see the How to Make an Online Payment (PDF) tutorial.


Payment of Tuition and Fees

Billing statements will not be sent. Failure to pay fees by the due date may result in classes being dropped without notice. If a check or e-check is dishonored by the bank for any reason including keying errors, the registration is subject to cancellation.

Classes may be dropped immediately without prior notification.

Remember that your payment must be received by the due date – postmarks are not accepted. Failure to pay fees by the due date may result in the cancellation of your class(es). Review your MySJSU account for the payment due date.


Returned Checks and Declined Credit Credit Cards

If you pay your fees by personal check or eCheck, please note that if your check is returned to the university unpaid for any reason, your registration is subject to cancellation of all courses for this session without prior notification. A $25 fee is charged for the first dishonored check or eCheck and $35 per check thereafter. An additional $20 administrative fee per check may also be charged. If your credit card is declined for any reason, your registration is subject to cancellation without prior notice.


Fee Receipts

You may use a printed copy from your student account to present to an employer for reimbursement or for tax reporting purposes.


Student Record Holds

San José State University has authority to withhold registration privileges for any student with an outstanding cashiering debt. If a cashiering hold has been placed on your records, your registration will not be processed. To resolve the debt, please call the Bursar's Office at 408-924-1601.


Use of Social Security Number

Applicants are required to include their correct social security numbers in designated places on applications for admission pursuant to the authority contained in Section 41201, Title 5, California Code of Regulations, and Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C. 6109). The University uses the social security number to identify students and their records including identification for purposes of financial aid eligibility and disbursement and the repayment of financial aid and other debts payable to the institution.

Also, the Internal Revenue Service requires the University to file a 1098-T form for degree seeking students that include the student’s social security number. This information is used by the IRS to help determine whether a student, or a person claiming a student as a dependent, may take a credit or deduction to reduce federal income taxes.

Back to Top