Board of Directors

The Tower Foundation provides a means, through membership on the Board of Directors, to engage prominent alumni and citizens in the life of the university. Board members play a critical role in shaping the philanthropic strategy and work closely with the university to reach out to other graduates and businesses in the community to build commitment and funding for San Jose State.

Tower's Board of Directors is composed of a maximum of 31 community members, many of whom must be SJSU alumni. Members are elected to three-year terms. Officers of the Board are elected by the membership and serve one-year terms. The Board's five committees, Executive, Finance and Investment, Audit, Development, and Nominating and Governance, advise the Foundation on campaign development, investments, public relations and long-range planning. It is the responsibility of each board member to take a leading philanthropic role by making annual contributions to SJSU.

Six ex officio members, including the San Jose State president and members of the president's senior cabinet, serve on the Tower Board of Directors. The board meets four times a year.

Tower Foundation Board of Directors 2016-2017 

Mary A. Papazian, SJSU President
Edward A. Oates, '68, Chairman of the Board
John W. Baird, Vice Chairman of the Board
Paul I. Lanning, SJSU Vice President, University Advancement and CEO Tower Foundation

William E. Barton Sr., '67
Gene Bleymaier, SJSU Athletic Director
Phillip R. Boyce, '66
Stephen Caplan, '65
Richard Conniff, '87
Charles W. Davidson, '57
Dana Ditmore
Charlie Faas, SJSU Vice President, Administration and Finance/CFO

Andrew Hale Feinstein, SJSU Provost and Vice President, Academic Affairs
Ronald M. Filice, '87

Leslie C. Francis, '65
Aaron Friedman, Student Representative
Wanda Hendrix, '77, '94
Anthony Jackson, '71, '73
Jim Jimenez, '68, '75
Michael Kaufman, Faculty Member Appointee
Amir Mashkoori, '84, '86
Coleetta McElroy, '97, Alumni Association President
Jenny Ming, '78
Constance B. Moore, '77
Joseph Parisi
Gary D. Radine, '69
Leslie Rohn, COO and Secretary
Gary J. Sbona, '66
Peter Ueberroth '59
Beth Von Till, Faculty Member Appointee
David Weng, '83
Colleen B. Wilcox

Meeting Schedules



General Counsel

Hopkins and Carley