Faculty and Staff

WLL Faculty and Staff Contacts

Damian Bacich, Department Chair

Chinese

Avatar San-hui Sabrina Chuang
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Lecturer, Chinese 
Clark Hall 412L 
408-924-4028 
san-hui.chuang@sjsu.edu
Peng Chunhui Peng
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Lecturer, Chinese 
Clark Hall 410D 
408-924-4611  
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
Yao

Yao, Yao 
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Assistant Professor, Chinese
Chinese Coordinator, Chinese Advisor 

Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

Anne Jensen Anne Jensen
M.A. UNI - Angers, France
Lecturer, FLED (Fall only)
Clark Hall 408K 
408-924-4618 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 
Smith Helen Smith
FLED Coordinator
Lecturer, FLED
Clark Hall 408K 
408-924-4618 
helen.smith@sjsu.edu 

French

Desalvo Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor, French 
French Coordinator, Graduate Coordinator 
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu
Trudeau Danielle Trudeau
Doctorat de linguistique, Université de Paris 7
Professor, French
French Advisor
Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4594   
danielle.trudeau@sjsu.edu
Dominique Dominique van Hooff
Ph.D., Brigham Young University
Professor, French
French Advisor
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
dominique.vanhooff@sjsu.edu 
 

German

Chiriaeva Larissa Chiriaeva 
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Lecturer, German
 
Clark Hall 410N 
408-924-4591  
larissa.chiriaeva@sjsu.edu
Sabalius Romey Sabalius
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Professor, German
German Coordinator, German Advisor  
 
Clark Hall 433 
408-924-4616  
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu 

Greek and Latin

 Avatar Marianina Olcott  
Ph.D., Stanford University
Professor, Greek and Latin
 
Clark Hall 439 
408-924-4455 
marianina.olcott@sjsu.edu

Hebrew   

Katzen Rina Katzen 
Lecturer, Hebrew
Hebrew Advisor
 

Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685
worldlanguagesandlit@sjsu.edu

 

Italian

Avatar Michele Santamaria
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer, Italian
Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Inaba Keach Inaba 
Ph.D., Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor, Japanese
Japanese Coordinator, Japanese Advisor
Clark Hall 418K 
408-924-4593 
Seiichiro.Inaba@sjsu.edu
Shimazu Y.M. Shimazu 
EdD, University of San Francisco
Lecturer, Japanese
Clark Hall 410P 
408-924-4625 
y.shimazu@sjsu.edu
Yanai Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor, Japanese
Japanese Advisor
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Persian

Nikkhah Naciem Nikkhah
M.A., SOAS University of London
Lecturer, Persian 
CLark Hall 410H 
408-924-4619 
naciem.nikkhah@sjsu.edu

Portuguese

Adao Deolinda Adão
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Lecturer, Portuguese
Portuguese Advisor and Coordinator
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
deolinda.adao@sjsu.edu
Avatar Aurelio Dias-Ferreira
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer, Portuguese
Clark Hall 410K 
408-924-4068  
aurelio.diasferreira@sjsu.edu

Spanish

de la Calle Francisco de la Calle 
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer, Spanish
Clark Hall 410F 
408-924-4595 
francisco.delacalle@sjsu.edu
Estrabao Teresa Estrabao
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer, Spanish
Clark Hall 410D 
408-924-4611 
teresa.estrabao@sjsu.edu
Fountain Anne Fountain (Fall only)
Ph.D., Columbia University
Professor, Spanish
Spanish Advisor, Latin American Studies Advisor
Clark Hall 420G 
408-924-4626 
anne.fountain@sjsu.edu
Marsh Eleanor Marsh 
Ph.D., UC Davis
Associate Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Spanish Advisor
Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu
Samuelson Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Advisor, Latin American Studies Advisor
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu
Sempere Juan Antonio Sempere (Sabbatical fall 2014)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Graduate Coordinator, Spanish Advisor 
 
Clark Hall 431 
408-924-4592 
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu
Sigler Carmen Sigler (Fall only)
Ph.D., U. of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Professor, Spanish
Clark Hall 412G 
408-924-4617 
carmen.sigler@sjsu.edu
Avatar Blanca Smith
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer, Spanish
Clark Hall 410K 
408-924-4068 
blanca.smith@sjsu.edu
Bacich Damian Bacich 
Ph.D., UCLA
Associate Professor, Spanish
Department Chair
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Avatar Oscar Mauriola 
Teaching Associate, Spanish 
Clark Hall 410J 
408-924-4609  
oscar.mauriola@sjsu.edu 
Avatar Paola Villalvazo
Teaching Associate, Spanish
Clark Hall 410E 
408-924-4622 
paula.villalvazo@sjsu.edu 

Vietnamese

Le Huyen Le 
M.A. Bilingual Education, SJSU
Lecturer, Vietnamese
Vietnamese Coordinator, Vietnamese Advisor
Clark Hall 410M 
408-924-4033 
huyen.le@sjsu.edu

World Languages and Literature Staff

Adams Kristine Adams

Office Coordinator

Clark Hall 421B 
408-924-4605 
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu
Daniels Ashley Daniels

Administrative Support Assistant

Clark Hall 421 
408-924-4603 
ashley.daniels@sjsu.edu