Program Advisors

Chinese 

Yao, Yao
Chinese Professor, Chinese Coordinator, Chinese Advisor
Clark Hall 410G
408-924-4613
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

French 

Desalvo, Jean-Luc 
French Program Coordinator, French M.A. Program Graduate Advisor, French Professor 
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620 
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu

van Hooff, Dominique
French Advisor, French Literature Professor
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
dominique.vanhooff@sjsu.edu 

German

Sabalius, Romey
German Professor, German Advisor
Clark Hall 433
408-924-4616
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu

Hebrew 

Katzen, Rina
Hebrew Professor, Hebrew Advisor
Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685

Italian 

Cereghino, Dorina
Italian Lecturer, Italian Advisor
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4022 
d_cereghino@yahoo.com 

Japanese 

Inaba, Seiichiro
Japanese Coordinator, Japanese Advisor, Japanese Professor
Clark Hall 418K
408-924-4593
Seiichiro.Inaba@sjsu.edu

Kodoma Yanai, Yasue
Japanese Professor, Japanese Advisor
Clark Hall 410L
408-924-4063
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Latin American Studies 

Bacich, Damian 
Department Chair, Spanish Professor, Latin American Studies Advisor
Clark Hall 421D 
408-924-4610 
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu

Portuguese 

Adão, Deolinda
Portuguese Lecturer, Portuguese Coordinator, Portuguese Advisor
Clark Hall 412J
408-924-4022
deolinda.adao@sjsu.ed

Spanish 

Matallana, Juan
Spanish Professor, Spanish Major and Minor Advisor, Study Abroad Advisor (Fall only)
Clark Hall 412R
408-924-4612
juan.matallana-abril@sjsu.edu

Marsh, Eleanor
Spanish Professor, Spanish Major and Minor Advisor, International Business Minor Advisor, Spanish Program Coordinator 
Clark Hall 412N
408-924-4614
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu

Sempere, Juan Antonio
Spanish Professor, Spanish Graduate Advisor
Clark Hall 431
408-924-4592
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu

Teaching Credential 

Chan, Helene
FLED Lecturer, FLED Advisor, FLED Program Coordinator
Clark Hall 408K
408-924-4618
helene.chan@sjsu.edu