Faculty and Staff

Fall 2018 office hours will be posted during the first week of instruction.

Assyrian

reinserted headshot

Wilfred Bet-Alkhas
M.S., SJSU
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410H
408-924-4619
wilfred.bet-alkhas@sjsu.edu

Chinese

reinserted headshot San-hui Sabrina Chuang
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 412L 
408-924-4028 
san-hui.chuang@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Chunhui Peng 
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Chinese Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
YaYYaoYao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Yao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

reinserted headshot Anne Jensen 
M.A., UNI - Angers, France
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4628 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 
     

French

 
Françoise Herrmann 
Ph.D., Stanford University
Office Hours:
(TBA)
(TBA)
reinserted headshot Jean-Luc Desalvo
Ph.D., University of Virginia
French Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu
pilot_headshot
Laurence Pilot
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068

laurence.pilot-darier-baziere@sjsu.edu

German

reinserted headshot Romey Sabalius
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 433 
408-924-4616  
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu 
larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
German Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Hebrew   

reinserted headshot Rina Katzen 
Ph.D., U.C. Berkely
Hebrew Advisor

Office Hours:
Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685
world-languages@sjsu.edu 

Italian

reinserted headshot Michele Santamaria
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Italian Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

reinserted headshot Keach Inaba
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Japanese Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Midori Ishida
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 408F 
408-924-4606 
reinserted headshot Manami Iwata
M.A., University of Victoria
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410R 
408-924-4624 
manami.iwata@sjsu.edu
mayu_loffgren_headshot Mayu Loffgren
M.A., San Francisco State University
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 418K
408-924-4594
mayu.loffgren@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Y.M. Shimazu
Ed.D, University of San Francisco
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 410P 
408-924-4625 
y.shimazu@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Japanese Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Portuguese

duarte_headshot Duarte Pinheiro
Ph.D., University Fernando Pesso, Porto
Portuguese Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Bacich Damian Bacich
Ph.D., UCLA
Department Chair
Spanish Graduate Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Alejandra Campos
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410J
408-924-4609
alejandra.campos@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Francisco de la Calle 
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: 
 
Clark Hall 410F 
408-924-4595 
francisco.delacalle@sjsu.edu
aurelio_dias_ferreira_headshot Aurelio Dias-Ferreira
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: Spanish
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022  
aurelio.diasferreira@sjsu.edu 
reinserted headshot
Teresa Estrabao
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 408H 
408-924-4052 
teresa.estrabao@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Vanessa Fernandez
Ph.D., UCLA
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu 
flores_headshot
Laura Flores
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 420G
anna_iacomini-bernardi_headshot
Anna Iacomini-Bernardi
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: FORL 100W, Spanish 
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 412G
408-924-4617
anna.iacomini-bernardi@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Eleanor Marsh (On Leave)
Ph.D., UC Davis
Office Hours: On Leave
Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu
montes_headshot
Natalie Montes
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 410E
reinserted headshot Ruby Ramirez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator 
Spanish Advisor
Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Juan Antonio Sempere (Spring Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Clark Hall 431 
408-924-4592 
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu
Charles Wagner
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours:

Clark Hall 420G
408-924-4626
charles.wagner@sjsu.edu

 

Vietnamese

reinserted headshot Huyen Le 
M.A., SJSU
Vietnamese Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 410M 
408-924-4033 
huyen.le@sjsu.edu

World Languages and Literatures Staff

adams_headshot
Kristine Adams
Office Coordinator
Clark Hall 421B 
408-924-4605 
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu
Bacich Damian Bacich
Department Chair
Office Hours:
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu