Faculty and Staff

Fall 2017 office hours will be posted during the first week of instruction.
 

Assyrian

reinserted headshot

Wilfred Bet-Alkhas
M.S., SJSU
Office Hours: By appointment only
Clark Hall 410H
408-924-4619
wilfred.bet-alkhas@sjsu.edu

Chinese

reinserted headshot San-hui Sabrina Chuang
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office Hours: MW 2:30 - 3:00 PM
Clark Hall 412L 
408-924-4028 
san-hui.chuang@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Chunhui Peng 
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Chinese Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours: MW 3:15 - 4:15 PM
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
YaYYaoYao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Yao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Office Hours: TR 11:00 - 12:00PM 
Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

reinserted headshot Anne Jensen (Fall only)
M.A., UNI - Angers, France
Office Hours: T 2:00 - 5:00PM
Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4628 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 
reinserted headshot Helen Smith
M.A., University of Notre Dame de Namur
FLED Coordinator
Office Hours: By appointment only
Clark Hall 408K 
408-924-4618 
helen.smith@sjsu.edu 

French

reinserted headshot Jean-Luc Desalvo
Ph.D., University of Virginia
French Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours: W 2:00 - 4:00PM
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Anna Demarchi
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TW 4:00 - 5:00PM
Clark Hall 420G 
408-924-4626   anna.demarchi@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Christine Zaky
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TR 2:00 - 3:00PM
Clark Hall 412G 
408-924-4617   
christine.zaky@sjsu.edu

German

reinserted headshot Romey Sabalius
Ph.D., University of Southern California
German Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours: MW 10:00 - 10:30AM &
5:30 - 6:00PM
Clark Hall 433 
408-924-4616  
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu 
larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Office Hours: MW 11:15 - 12:15PM
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Hebrew   

reinserted headshot Rina Katzen 
Ph.D., U.C. Berkely
Hebrew Advisor

Office Hours: TR 4:30 - 5:30PM

Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685
world-languages@sjsu.edu 

Italian

reinserted headshot
Anna Iacomini-Bernardi
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: FORL 100W, Spanish & Italian
Office Hours: MW 2:00 - 3:00PM
Clark Hall 412G
408-924-4617
anna.iacomini-bernardi@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Michele Santamaria
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Italian Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours: M 6:00 - 7:00PM
Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

reinserted headshot Keach Inaba
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Japanese Advisor
Office Hours: MTWR 7:30 - 8:10AM
Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Midori Ishida
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Office Hours: MF 12:15 - 1:00PM
Clark Hall 408F 
408-924-4606 
reinserted headshot Manami Iwata
M.A., University of Victoria
Office Hours: M 1:20 - 1:50PM &
F 9:30 - 10:00AM
Clark Hall 410R 
408-924-4624 
manami.iwata@sjsu.edu
mayu_loffgren_headshot Mayu Loffgren
M.A., San Francisco State University
Office Hours: TW 10:15 - 10:45AM
Clark Hall 418K
408-924-4594
mayu.loffgren@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Y.M. Shimazu
Ed.D, University of San Francisco
Office Hours: TWR 10:30 - 11:45AM &
by appointment
Clark Hall 410P 
408-924-4625 
y.shimazu@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Japanese Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours: M 8:00 - 9:00AM & 
F 11:00 - 12:00PM
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Portuguese

Avatar Duarte Pinheiro
Ph.D., University Fernando Pesso, Porto
Portuguese Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours: MW 2:00 - 3:00PM & by appointment
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Aurelio Dias-Ferreira
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: Portuguese & Spanish
Office Hours: W 6:15 - 6:45PM &
8:00 - 8:30PM
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022  
aurelio.diasferreira@sjsu.edu

Spanish

karla_andrade_galvan_headshot
Karla Andrade Galvan
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: MW 1:30 - 2:30PM
Clark Hall 410E
408-924-4622
karla.andradegalvan@sjsu.edu
Bacich Damian Bacich
Ph.D., UCLA
Department Chair
Spanish Graduate Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours: T 3:00 - 5:00PM &
by appointment
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Alejandra Campos
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TR 10:30 - 11:00AM &
2:15 - 2:45PM
Clark Hall 410J
408-924-4609
alejandra.campos@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Francisco de la Calle 
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: MW 12:00 - 1:00PM &
by appointment
 
Clark Hall 410F 
408-924-4595 
francisco.delacalle@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Teresa Estrabao
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: T 10:30 - 11:00AM &
2:45 - 3:10PM
Clark Hall 408H 
408-924-4052 
teresa.estrabao@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Vanessa Fernandez
Ph.D., UCLA
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: M 2:30 - 3:30PM &
T 5:00 - 6:00PM
*Please book a time slot at http://fernandezwllsjsu.youcanbook.me
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu 
Heriberta Kamimura
Heriberta Kamimura
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: W 10:30 - 11:30AM

Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
heriberta.kamimura@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Eleanor Marsh
Ph.D., UC Davis
Office Hours: On Leave
Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu
nancy_pachon_headshot
Nancy-Pachón Velásquez
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TR 10:30 - 11:00AM &
by appointment

 

Clark Hall 410H
408-924-4619
nancy.pachonvelasquez@sjsu.edu

 

reinserted headshot Janeth Quebrado
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TR 8:30 - 9:30AM

Clark Hall 410E 
408-924-4622 
janeth.quebrado@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Ruby Ramirez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: M 4:30 - 5:30PM &
TR 12:00 - 1:00PM
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator 
Spanish Advisor
Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours: T 12:00 - 2:00PM

Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Juan Antonio Sempere (Spring Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Clark Hall 431 
408-924-4592 
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Blanca Smith
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TR 12:00 - 1:30PM &
by appointment
Clark Hall 410K 
408-924-4068 
blanca.smith@sjsu.edu
Charles Wagner
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: MW 1:30 - 2:30PM 

Clark Hall 420G
408-924-4626
charles.wagner@sjsu.edu

 

Vietnamese

reinserted headshot Huyen Le 
M.A., SJSU
Vietnamese Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours: T 2:00 - 5:00PM
Clark Hall 410M 
408-924-4033 
huyen.le@sjsu.edu

World Languages and Literatures Staff

reinserted headshot
Kristine Adams
Office Coordinator
Clark Hall 421B 
408-924-4605 
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu
Bacich Damian Bacich
Department Chair
Office Hours: T 3:00 - 5:00PM & by appointment
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu