Faculty and Staff

To view an updated list of office hours or identify your advisor, click here.  

Chinese

reinserted headshot
San-hui Sabrina Chuang
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Lecturer
Clark Hall 412L 
408-924-4028 
san-hui.chuang@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Chunhui Peng 
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Assistant Professor
Head of Chinese Section        Chinese Advisor
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
Minnange Qin Headshot
Minnange Qin 
M.A., Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey
Lecturer
Clark Hall 420G
(408) 929-4626
minnange.qin@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

reinserted headshot
Anne Jensen 
M.A., UNI - Angers, France
Lecturer
Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4628 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 

French

reinserted headshot
Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor
French Coordinator and Advisor
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu
Loubna Hafid photo
Loubna Hafid 
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer

Clark Hall 410J 
408-924-4609
loubna.hafid@sjsu.edu

herrmann_headshot
Françoise Herrmann 
Ph.D., Stanford University
Lecturer
Online (ZOOM)
Only through email
pilot_headshot
Laurence Pilot
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer
Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068

laurence.pilot-darier-baziere@sjsu.edu

German

reinserted headshot Romey Sabalius
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Professor

Office hours by appointment only. 
Clark Hall 433 
408-924-4616  
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu 
larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Lecturer
German Coordinator and Advisor
 
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591
Antje Morgenstern Antje Morgenstern
M.A., Justus-Liebig-University Giessen
Lecturer 
  
Clark Hall 410N                          408-924-4591 antje.morgenstern@sjsu.edu 

Hebrew   

reinserted headshot Rina Katzen 
Ph.D., U.C. Berkeley
Lecturer
Hebrew Advisor

 
Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685
world-languages@sjsu.edu 

Italian

reinserted headshot
Michele Santamaria
(returning spring 2020)
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer
Italian Advisor
Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Kaoru Hollin Kaoru Hollin                      Teaching Associate                          
Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068
reinserted headshot Keach Inaba (Fall only)
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Midori Ishida
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Lecturer

Clark Hall 408F 
408-924-4606 
reinserted headshot Manami Iwata
M.A., University of Victoria
Lecturer

Clark Hall 410R 
408-924-4624 
manami.iwata@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Y.M. Shimazu
Ed.D, University of San Francisco
Lecturer
 
Clark Hall 410P 
408-924-4625 
y.shimazu@sjsu.edu
Uryu August 2019 headshot
Michiko Uryu
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Assistant Professor
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613
michiko.uryu@sjsu.edu

reinserted headshot

 

Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor
Asian Languages Coordinator 
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Portuguese

duarte_headshot Duarte Pinheiro
Ph.D., University Fernando Pesso, Porto
Lecturer
Portuguese Advisor

Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Bacich
Ph.D., UCLA
Professor
Department Chair
Spanish Advisor
 
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Alejandra Campos
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer

Clark Hall 410J
408-924-4609
alejandra.campos@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Francisco de la Calle 
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer

 
Clark Hall 410F 
408-924-4595 
francisco.delacalle@sjsu.edu
aurelio_dias_ferreira_headshot Aurelio Dias-Ferreira
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer

Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022  
aurelio.diasferreira@sjsu.edu 
reinserted headshot Teresa Estrabao
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer

Clark Hall 408H 
408-924-4052 
teresa.estrabao@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
(returning spring 2020)
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor
 
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu 
anna_iacomini-bernardi_headshot
Anna Iacomini-Bernardi
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer

Clark Hall 412G
408-924-4617
anna.iacomini-bernardi@sjsu.edu
 Long_headshot
 
Ph.D., Indiana University
Assistant Professor
Spanish Advisor
 
Clark Hall 408K
408-924-4618
reinserted headshot Eleanor Marsh
Ph.D., UC Davis
Associate Professor
Spanish Advisor
Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu
Miriam Mendoza-Torres
Miriam Mendoza-Torres
Teaching Associate
 
Clark Hall 420G
408-924-4626
Gerson Morales Headshot
Gerson Morales
Teaching Associate
Clark Hall 410E
408-924-4622
ramirez

Ruby Ramirez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Assistant Professor           
Iberian Language Program Coordinator  Spanish Advisor

Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu 
Raquel Rodriguez
Raquel Rodriguez 
M.A., Fresno State University
Lecturer        
 

Clark Hall 410H
408-924-4619
raquel.rodriguez@sjsu.edu

reinserted headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor        
Spanish Advisor & Latin American Studies Advisor
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Juan Antonio Sempere (Spring Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Professor                          
Clark Hall 431 
408-924-4592 
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu
Estefany Sosa Estefany Sosa
Teaching Associate
                       

Clark Hall 410E 
408-924-4622 
estefany.chiquillososa@sjsu.edu

Vietnamese

reinserted headshot Huyen Le 
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer
Vietnamese Advisor
Clark Hall 410M 
408-924-4033 
huyen.le@sjsu.edu

Tagalog/Filipino

Edith Borbon
Edith Rollan Borbon
M.S., University of Pennsylvania
Lecturer
Clark Hall 418K
408-924-4594
 

 

World Languages and Literatures Staff

 

adams_headshot
Kristine Adams
Office Coordinator
Clark Hall 421B 
408-924-4605 
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu
Julia Dunn Updated Headshot July 2019
Julia Dunn
Newsletter Coordinator
Social Media Manager

 julia.dunn@sjsu.edu

Rianna Garcia Headshot
Rianna Garcia
Student Assistant
 
Miguel Magana
Miguel Magaña
Student Assistant
(Media Center)
 
Katrina Meneses Headshot
Katrina Meneses
Student Assistant
 
Bacich Damian Bacich
Department Chair
Office Hours: Tuesday 1300-1430
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu