Faculty and Staff

Chinese

reinserted headshot San-hui Sabrina Chuang
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office Hours: T 1140-1200 (BBC 120) & 1340-1420 (CL 412L) 
Clark Hall 412L 
408-924-4028 
san-hui.chuang@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Chunhui Peng 
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Head of Chinese Section                Chinese Advisor
Office Hours: MW 1015-1115
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot YaYYaoYao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Yao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

reinserted headshot Anne Jensen 
M.A., UNI - Angers, France
Office Hours: R 1300-1600
Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4628 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 
     

French

reinserted headshot
Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
French Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours: Online hours via Zoom 
W 1400-1600
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu
herrmann_headshot
 
Françoise Herrmann 
Ph.D., Stanford University
Office Hours: M-F 1200 - 1300 via Zoom only
 
Online (ZOOM)
Only through e-mail
pilot_headshot
Laurence Pilot
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: W 1535-1645
Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068

laurence.pilot-darier-baziere@sjsu.edu

German

reinserted headshot Romey Sabalius
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office Hours: By appointment only. 
Clark Hall 433 
408-924-4616  
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu 
larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
German Coordinator and Advisor
Office Hours:  T & R 1030-1130 &          W 1400-1500
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591
  Antje Morgenstern
M.A., Justus-Liebig-University Giessen
Lecturer, German 
Office Hours: W 1650-1750   
Clark Hall 410N                          408-924-4591 antje.morgenstern@sjsu.edu 

Hebrew   

reinserted headshot Rina Katzen 
Ph.D., U.C. Berkely
Hebrew Advisor

Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685
world-languages@sjsu.edu 

Italian

reinserted headshot Michele Santamaria (fall only)
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Italian Coordinator and Advisor

Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

  Kaoru Hollin                                        Teaching Associate                          Office Hours: M 1200-1300
Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068
reinserted headshot Keach Inaba (Fall only)
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Midori Ishida
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Office Hours: MW 1030-1115
Clark Hall 408F 
408-924-4606 
reinserted headshot Manami Iwata
M.A., University of Victoria
Office Hours: MWF 1230-1300
Clark Hall 410R 
408-924-4624 
manami.iwata@sjsu.edu
  Xiaoman Miao
M.A., Stanford
Office Hours: MW 1315-1400

Clark Hall 410H                    408-924 -4619  xiaoman.miao@sjsu.edu 

reinserted headshot
Y.M. Shimazu
Ed.D, University of San Francisco
Office Hours: TWR 1030-1145 and
by appt.
Clark Hall 410P 
408-924-4625 
y.shimazu@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Asian Languages Coordinator & Japanese Advisor
Office Hours: TR 1200-1300
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Portuguese

duarte_headshot Duarte Pinheiro
Ph.D., University Fernando Pesso, Porto
Portuguese Advisor
Office Hours: TR 1530-1630
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Bacich
Ph.D., UCLA
Department Chair
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: T 1500 - 1700
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Bush_headshot

 

Jason Bush
Teaching Associate
Office Hours: W 1500-1700
 
 
Clark Hall 10K
408-924-4622
jason.bush@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Alejandra Campos
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours:  
Clark Hall 410J
408-924-4609
alejandra.campos@sjsu.edu
Cordova_headshot
 
Tania Cordova
Teaching Associate
Office Hours: MW 1700-1800
 
 
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604
tania.cordova@sjsu.edu 
 
Lizeth Cruz
Teaching Associate
Office Hours: TR 1030-1200

Clark Hall 418K                    408-924 -4594  lizeth.cruz@sjsu.edu 

reinserted headshot Francisco de la Calle 
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: MW 1000-1100
 
Clark Hall 410F 
408-924-4595 
francisco.delacalle@sjsu.edu
aurelio_dias_ferreira_headshot Aurelio Dias-Ferreira
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: Spanish & Portuguese
Office Hours: MW 1945-2030
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022  
aurelio.diasferreira@sjsu.edu 
reinserted headshot
Teresa Estrabao
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: T 1200-1330; R 1300-1400
Clark Hall 408H 
408-924-4052 
teresa.estrabao@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Ph.D., UCLA
Spanish Graduate Coordinator & Advisor
Office Hours: W & R 1330-1430 Students must sign up for office hours:
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu 
flores_headshot
Laura Flores
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: TR 1400-1500
Clark Hall 420G
anna_iacomini-bernardi_headshot
Anna Iacomini-Bernardi
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: FORL 100W 
Office Hours: M 1615-1715
Clark Hall 412G
408-924-4617
anna.iacomini-bernardi@sjsu.edu
 Long_headshot
 
Avizia Long
Ph. D., Indiana University
Office Hours: W 1530-1730
 
Clark Hall 408K
408-924-4618
reinserted headshot
Eleanor Marsh
Ph.D., UC Davis
Office Hours: 
Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu
 
Miriam Mendoza-Torres
Teaching Associate
Office Hours: MW 1700-1800 
Clark Hall 420G
408-924-4626
montes_headshot
Natalie Montes
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU
Office Hours: R 1400-1500
Clark Hall 410E
reinserted headshot
Ruby Ramirez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: TR 1100-1130 & 1500-1600 
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Iberian Language Program Coordinator
Spanish Advisor & Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours: TR 1300-1400
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Juan Antonio Sempere (Spring Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley                          Office Hours: MW 1700-1800
Clark Hall 431 
408-924-4592 
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu

Vietnamese

reinserted headshot Huyen Le 
M.A., SJSU
Vietnamese Advisor
Office Hours: T 1400 - 1500
Clark Hall 410M 
408-924-4033 
huyen.le@sjsu.edu

World Languages and Literatures Staff

adams_headshot
Kristine Adams
Office Coordinator
Clark Hall 421B 
408-924-4605 
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu
Bacich Damian Bacich
Department Chair
Office Hours: T 1500 - 1700
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu