Faculty and Staff

For spring 2019 finals week office hours, please visit the WLL office in Clark Hall 421 to see the list of hours or you can call the main office at 408-924-4602.

 

Chinese

reinserted headshot San-hui Sabrina Chuang
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Clark Hall 412L 
408-924-4028 
san-hui.chuang@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Chunhui Peng 
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Head of Chinese Section                Chinese Advisor

Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot YaYYaoYao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Yao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

reinserted headshot Anne Jensen 
M.A., UNI - Angers, France
Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4628 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 
     

French

reinserted headshot
Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
French Coordinator and Advisor
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu
herrmann_headshot
 
Françoise Herrmann 
Ph.D., Stanford University

 
Online (ZOOM)
Only through e-mail
pilot_headshot Laurence Pilot
M.A., SJSU

Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068

laurence.pilot-darier-baziere@sjsu.edu

German

reinserted headshot Romey Sabalius
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office Hours: By appointment only. 
Clark Hall 433 
408-924-4616  
romey.sabalius@sjsu.edu 
larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
German Coordinator and Advisor
 
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591
  Antje Morgenstern
M.A., Justus-Liebig-University Giessen
Lecturer, German 
  
Clark Hall 410N                          408-924-4591 antje.morgenstern@sjsu.edu 

Hebrew   

reinserted headshot Rina Katzen 
Ph.D., U.C. Berkely
Hebrew Advisor

 
Clark Hall 420H
408-924-3685
world-languages@sjsu.edu 

Italian

reinserted headshot Michele Santamaria (fall only)
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Italian Coordinator and Advisor

Clark Hall 427 
408-924-4604 
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

  Kaoru Hollin                                        Teaching Associate                          
Clark Hall 410K
408-924-4068
reinserted headshot Keach Inaba (Fall only)
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Midori Ishida
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa

Clark Hall 408F 
408-924-4606 
reinserted headshot Manami Iwata
M.A., University of Victoria

Clark Hall 410R 
408-924-4624 
manami.iwata@sjsu.edu
  Xiaoman Miao
M.A., Stanford

Clark Hall 410H                    408-924 -4619  xiaoman.miao@sjsu.edu 

reinserted headshot
Y.M. Shimazu
Ed.D, University of San Francisco
 
Clark Hall 410P 
408-924-4625 
y.shimazu@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Asian Languages Coordinator & Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Portuguese

duarte_headshot Duarte Pinheiro
Ph.D., University Fernando Pesso, Porto
Portuguese Advisor

Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Bacich
Ph.D., UCLA
Department Chair
Spanish Advisor
 
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Bush_headshot

 

Jason Bush
Teaching Associate

 
 
Clark Hall 10K
408-924-4622
jason.bush@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Alejandra Campos
M.A., SJSU

Clark Hall 410J
408-924-4609
alejandra.campos@sjsu.edu
Cordova_headshot
 
Tania Cordova
Teaching Associate
Office Hours: MW 1700-1800
 
 
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604
tania.cordova@sjsu.edu 
  Lizeth Cruz
Teaching Associate

Clark Hall 418K                    408-924 -4594  lizeth.cruz@sjsu.edu 

reinserted headshot Francisco de la Calle 
M.A., SJSU

 
Clark Hall 410F 
408-924-4595 
francisco.delacalle@sjsu.edu
aurelio_dias_ferreira_headshot Aurelio Dias-Ferreira
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: Spanish & Portuguese

Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022  
aurelio.diasferreira@sjsu.edu 
reinserted headshot Teresa Estrabao
M.A., SJSU

Clark Hall 408H 
408-924-4052 
teresa.estrabao@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Ph.D., UCLA
Spanish Graduate Coordinator & Advisor
Students must sign up for office hours:
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu 
flores_headshot
Laura Flores
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU
 
Clark Hall 420G
anna_iacomini-bernardi_headshot
Anna Iacomini-Bernardi
M.A., SJSU
Lecturer: FORL 100W 

Clark Hall 412G
408-924-4617
anna.iacomini-bernardi@sjsu.edu
 Long_headshot
 
Avizia Long
Ph. D., Indiana University

 
Clark Hall 408K
408-924-4618
reinserted headshot Eleanor Marsh
Ph.D., UC Davis

Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu
 
Miriam Mendoza-Torres
Teaching Associate
 
Clark Hall 420G
408-924-4626
montes_headshot
Natalie Montes
Teaching Associate
M.A., SJSU

Clark Hall 410E
reinserted headshot Ruby Ramirez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Spanish Advisor

Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Iberian Language Program Coordinator
Spanish Advisor & Latin American Studies Advisor

Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu
reinserted headshot Juan Antonio Sempere (Spring Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley                          
Clark Hall 431 
408-924-4592 
juan.sempere-martinez@sjsu.edu

Vietnamese

reinserted headshot Huyen Le 
M.A., SJSU
Vietnamese Advisor

Clark Hall 410M 
408-924-4033 
huyen.le@sjsu.edu

World Languages and Literatures Staff

adams_headshot
Kristine Adams
Office Coordinator
Clark Hall 421B 
408-924-4605 
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu
Bacich Damian Bacich
Department Chair
Office Hours: T 1500 - 1700
Clark Hall 421D
408-924-4608  
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu