Major/Minor Advising

 

Chinese

Chunhui Peng
Chunhui Peng
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Assistant Professor, Chinese 
Chinese Coordinator, Chinese Advisor 
Office Hours: MW 10:50 - 11:50 AM
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
yao_yao_headshot Yao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Office Hours: Returning Fall 2018
Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

anne_jensen_headshot Anne Jensen
M.A., UNI - Angers, France 
FLED Coordinator
Office Hours: R 1:00 - 4:00PM
Clark Hall 408K 
408-924-4618 
helen.smith@sjsu.edu 

French

Desalvo Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor, French 
French Coordinator, French Advisor
Office Hours: Zoom Teleconferencing in Canvas W 2:00 - 4:00PM (email to schedule) & by appointment
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu

German

larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Office Hours: MW 10:15 - 12:30PM
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Italian

Avatar
Michele Santamaria 
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer, Italian, Italian Coordinator
Office Hours: Returning Fall 2018
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604  
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Inaba Keach Inaba 
Ph.D., Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor, Japanese 
Japanese Advisor
Office Hours: MTWR 7:30 - 8:10AM
Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
Yanai Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor, Japanese
Japanese Coordinator and advisor
Office Hours: T 9:10 - 10:10AM &
R 12:00 - 1:00PM
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Latin American Studies

cheyla_samuelson_headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours: W 1:30 - 2:30PM & R 3:30 - 4:30PM
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu 

Portuguese

Adao Duarte Carvahlo Pinheiro
PhD, Fernando Pessoa University
Lecturer, Portuguese 
Portuguese Advisor and Coordinator
Office Hours: MW 5:00 - 6:00PM
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Ph.D, UCLA
Associate Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Coordinator for last names that begin from A - E
Office Hours: T 3:00 - 5:00PM
Clark Hall 421D 
408-924-4608 
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Vanessa
Vanessa Fernández
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Advisor for last names that begin from F - K
Office Hours: T&W 1:30 - 2:30PM
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu
Ruby Ramirez
Ruby Ramírez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from A - R
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from L - O
Office Hours: T 4:00 - 5:00PM & R 1:30 - 2:30PM
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612 
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu 
 
Samuelson
 
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Latin American Studies Advisor
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from S - Z
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from P - Z
Office Hours: W 1:30 - 2:30PM & R 3:30 - 4:30PM
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu