Major/Minor Advising

Chinese

Chunhui Peng
Chunhui Peng
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Assistant Professor, Chinese 
Chinese Coordinator, Chinese Advisor 
Office Hours: MW 1515 - 1615
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
yao_yao_headshot Yao Yao
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Office Hours: TR 1030 - 1130
Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

anne_jensen_headshot Anne Jensen
M.A., UNI - Angers, France 
FLED Coordinator
Office Hours: T 1200 - 1630
Clark Hall 408K 
408-924-4618 
helen.smith@sjsu.edu 

French

Desalvo Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor, French 
French Coordinator, French Advisor
Office Hours: Online Office Hours via Zoom, and by appt.
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu

German

larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Office Hours: W 1400 - 1500,
R 1100 - 1200
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Italian

Avatar
Michele Santamaria 
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer, Italian, Italian Coordinator
Office Hours: M 1340 - 1440
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604  
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Inaba Keach Inaba 
Ph.D., Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor, Japanese 
Japanese Advisor
Office Hours: MTWR 0730 - 0810
Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
Yanai Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor, Japanese
Japanese Coordinator and advisor
Office Hours: MW 0815 - 0845, M 1230 - 1330
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Latin American Studies

cheyla_samuelson_headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours: T 1200 - 1400
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu 

Portuguese

Adao Duarte Carvahlo Pinheiro
PhD, Fernando Pessoa University
Lecturer, Portuguese 
Portuguese Advisor and Coordinator
Office Hours: MW 1700 - 1800
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Ph.D, UCLA
Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Advisor for last names that begin from A - E
Office Hours: T 1500 - 1700
Clark Hall 421D 
408-924-4608 
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Vanessa
Vanessa Fernández
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Coordinator & Advisor for last names that begin from F - K
Office Hours: W 1330 - 1430, R 1300 - 1430, Sign up through https://fernandez-wllsjsu.youcanbook.me
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu
Ruby Ramirez
Ruby Ramírez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from A - R
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from L - O
Office Hours: T 1230 - 1300 and 1500 - 1530, W 1630 - 1730
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612 
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu 
 
Samuelson
 
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Latin American Studies Advisor
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from S - Z
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from P - Z
Office Hours: T 1400 - 1500
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu