Major/Minor Advising

 

Chinese

Chunhui Peng
Chunhui Peng
Ph.D., UC San Diego
Assistant Professor, Chinese 
Chinese Coordinator, Chinese Advisor 
Office Hours: MW 3:15 - 4:15 PM
Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu
yao_yao_headshot Yao Yao (Fall Only)
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Office Hours: TR 11:00 - 12:00PM 
Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613 
yao.yao@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

helen_smith_headshot Helen Smith
M.A., University of Notre Dame de Namur
FLED Coordinator
Office Hours: By appointment only
Clark Hall 408K 
408-924-4618 
helen.smith@sjsu.edu 

French

Desalvo Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor, French 
French Coordinator, French Advisor
Office Hours: W 2:00 - 4:00PM
Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu

German

larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Office Hours: MW 11:15 - 12:15PM
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Italian

Avatar
Michele Santamaria 
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer, Italian, Italian Coordinator
Office Hours: M 6:00 - 7:00PM
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604  
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Inaba Keach Inaba 
Ph.D., Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor, Japanese 
Japanese Advisor
Office Hours: MTWR 7:30 - 8:10AM
Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
Yanai Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor, Japanese
Japanese Coordinator and advisor
Office Hours: M 8:00 - 9:00AM &
F 11:00 - 12:00PM
Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Latin American Studies

cheyla_samuelson_headshot  Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours: T 12:00 - 2:00PM
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu 

Portuguese

Adao Duarte Carvahlo Pinheiro
PhD, Fernando Pessoa University
Lecturer, Portuguese 
Portuguese Advisor and Coordinator
Office Hours: MW 2:00 - 3:00PM & by appointment
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Damian Bacich                                            Ph.D, UCLA                                               Associate Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Coordinator
Office Hours: T 3:00 - 5:00PM & by appointment
Clark Hall 421D 
408-924-4608 
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Vanessa
Vanessa Fernández                                    Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: M 2:30 - 3:30PM & 
T 5:00 - 6:00PM
*Please book a time slot at http://fernandezwllsjsu.youcanbook.me
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu
Ruby Ramirez
Ruby Ramírez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Advisor
Office Hours: M 4:30 - 5:30PM & 
TR 12:00 - 1:00PM
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612 
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu 
Samuelson Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish Undergraduate Coordinator, Latin American Studies Advisor
Office Hours: T 12:00 - 2:00PM
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu