Major/Minor Advising

Chinese

Chunhui Peng

                                         

Chunhui Peng                      Ph.D., UC San Diego
Assistant Professor                  Head of Chinese Section              Chinese Advisor 

Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

anne_jensen_headshot Anne Jensen
M.A., UNI - Angers, France 
World Language Subject Area Coordinator and Methods Instructor

Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4618 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 

French

Desalvo Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor, French 
French Coordinator              French Advisor

Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu

German

larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Lecturer, German
German Advisor
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Italian

Avatar
Michele Santamaria 
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer, Italian 
Italian Advisor
 
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604  
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Inaba Keach Inaba 
Ph.D., Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor, Japanese 
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
Yanai Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor, Japanese
Asian Languages Coordinator and Japanese advisor

Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Latin American Studies

cheyla_samuelson_headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Iberian Language Undergraduate Coordinator
Latin American Studies Advisor
 
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu 

Portuguese

Adao Duarte Carvahlo Pinheiro
PhD, Fernando Pessoa University
Lecturer, Portuguese 
Portuguese Advisor
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Ph.D, UCLA
Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Advisor for last names that begin from A - E

Clark Hall 421D 
408-924-4608 
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Vanessa
Vanessa Fernández
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Coordinator & Advisor for last names that begin from F - K
 
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu
Ruby Ramirez
Ruby Ramírez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from A - R
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from L - O
 
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612 
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu 
 
Samuelson
 
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Iberian Language Undergraduate Coordinator
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from S - Z
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from P - Z
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu