Major/Minor Advising

To view an updated list of office hours or identify your advisor, click here.  

Chinese

Chunhui Peng

                                         

Chunhui Peng                      Ph.D., UC San Diego
Assistant Professor                  Head of Chinese Section              Chinese Advisor 

Clark Hall 418M 
408-924-4615 
chunhui.peng@sjsu.edu

Foreign Language Education

anne_jensen_headshot Anne Jensen
M.A., UNI - Angers, France 
World Language Subject Area Coordinator and Methods Instructor

Clark Hall 408P 
408-924-4618 
anne.jensen@sjsu.edu 

French

Desalvo Jean-Luc Desalvo 
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Professor, French 
French Coordinator              French Advisor

Clark Hall 435 
408-924-4620  
jean-luc.desalvo@sjsu.edu

German

larissa_chiriaeva_headshot Larissa Chiriaeva
Ph.D., Heidelberg University
Lecturer, German
German Advisor
Clark Hall 410N
408-924-4591

Italian

Avatar
Michele Santamaria 
Ph.D., University of Macerata
Lecturer, Italian 
Italian Advisor
Returning Spring 2020
 
Clark Hall 427
408-924-4604  
michele.santamaria@sjsu.edu

Japanese

Inaba Keach Inaba 
Ph.D., Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa
Professor, Japanese 
Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 429 
408-924-4593 
seiichiro.inaba@sjsu.edu
uryu Michiko Uryu
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Assistant Professor            Japanese Advisor
Clark Hall 410G 
408-924-4613
michiko.uryu@sjsu.edu  
Yanai Yasue Yanai
Ph.D., Georgetown University
Associate Professor, Japanese
Asian Languages Coordinator and Japanese Advisor

Clark Hall 410L 
408-924-4063 
yasue.yanai@sjsu.edu

Latin American Studies

cheyla_samuelson_headshot
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Latin American Studies Advisor
 
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu 

Portuguese

Pinheiro Duarte Carvahlo Pinheiro
Ph.D., Fernando Pessoa University
Lecturer, Portuguese 
Portuguese Advisor
Clark Hall 412J 
408-924-4022 
duarte.pinheiro@sjsu.edu

Spanish

Ph.D., UCLA
Professor, Spanish
Spanish M.A. Advisor for last names that begin from A - K

Clark Hall 421D 
408-924-4608 
damian.bacich@sjsu.edu
Vanessa
Vanessa Fernández
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Returning Spring 2020
 
Clark Hall 408M 
408-924-4610 
vanessa.fernandez@sjsu.edu
 A LONG
 
Avizia Long
Ph.D., Indiana University
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from N - S
 
Clark Hall 408K
408-924-4618
 
 Eleanor
Eleanor Marsh
Ph.D., UC Davis
Associate Professor, Spanish
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from F - M
Clark Hall 412N 
408-924-4614 
eleanor.marsh@sjsu.edu 
Ruby Ramirez
 
Ruby Ramírez
Ph.D., UC Riverside
Assistant Professor, Spanish
Iberian Language Undergraduate Coordinator
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from T - Z
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from L - O
 
Clark Hall 412R 
408-924-4612 
ruby.ramirez@sjsu.edu 
 
Samuelson
 
Cheyla Samuelson 
Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Assistant Professor, Spanish 
Spanish BA Advisor for last names that begin from A - E
Spanish MA Advisor for last names that begin from P - Z
Clark Hall 410D
408-924-4611
cheyla.samuelson@sjsu.edu