Workshop Schedule

Spring 2015 Workshop Schedule

To register for any of the following workshops, please complete our registration form. Fill out multiple forms if you'd like to attend multiple workshops. If you have to cancel your workshop registration, call the Writing Center at (408) 924-2308. 

If you would like to attend a workshop that is already full, you are welcome to come on the workshop date to see if any seats are available.  

Click on each title to read a brief description of that workshop. 

Optimizing Your LinkedIn Summary and Profile
REGISTRATION CLOSED--WORKSHOP FULL
Date: Tuesday, March 3
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Debra Caires
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Muscle Verbs for Good Writing
Date: Wednesday, March 4
Time: 10:30-11:30
Instructor: Michelle Hager
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Common Grammar and Punctuation Errors
REGISTRATION CLOSED--WORKSHOP FULL
Date: Tuesday, March 10
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Michelle Hager
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Basic APA Style
Date: Wednesday, March 11
Time: 3:00-4:00
Instructor: John Linford
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Creating Your Educational and Professional Portfolio
REGISTRATION CLOSED--WORKSHOP FULL
Date: Wednesday, March 18
Time: 3:00-4:00
Instructor: Debra Caires
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Body Paragraphs
Date: Monday, April 6
Time: 12:00-1:00
Instructor: Ben Aldridge
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Designing a Focused Cover Letter and Resume
REGISTRATION CLOSED--WORKSHOP FULL
Date: Tuesday, April 7
Time: 3:00-4:00
Instructor: Debra Caires
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Organizing Your Ideas with Transitions
Date: Wednesday, April 8
Time: 10:30-11:30
Instructor: Michelle Hager
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Common Grammar and Punctuation Errors
Date: Monday, April 13
Time: 12:00-1:00
Instructor: Andrew Tucker
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Analyzing Writing Prompts
Date: Wednesday, April 15
Time: 10:30-11:30
Instructor: Gloria Collins
Location: Clark Hall 100H

The Art of the Long Sentence
Date: Thursday, April 16
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Cindy Baer
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Trimming the Fat: Writing Concisely and Avoiding Wordiness
Date: Monday, April 20
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Hannah Wiltbank
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Professional Letters: Writing the Job Shadow Request, Cover Letter, and Thank-You Letter
Date: Tuesday, April 21
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Debra Caires
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Writing under Pressure
Date: Wednesday, April 22
Time: 10:30-11:30
Instructor: Gloria Collins
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Composing Effective Sentences
Date: Thursday, April 23
Time: 3:00-4:00
Instructor: Cindy Baer
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Reading for a Purpose
Date: Monday, April 27
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Cindy Baer
Location: Clark Hall 100H

Writing with a Purpose
Date: Monday, May 4
Time: 1:30-2:30
Instructor: Cindy Baer
Location: Clark Hall 100H