Faculty and Staff Directory

Full Time Faculty

 Travis Boyce Portrait

Travis D. Boyce, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor

Email: travis.boyce@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5872
Office: WSQ 216 C
Office Hours: Tue/Thur 10 - 11 AM or by appt.
Zoom Meeting Link 

 Jalylah Burrell Photo

Jalylah Burrell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: jalylah.burrell@sjsu.edu 
Phone: TBD
Office: WSQ G
Office Hours: Email for a zoom appointment.

Portrait of Associate Professor Akilah Carter Francique

Akilah R. Carter-Francique, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: akilah.carter-francique@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5853
Office: WSQ 216 F
Office Hours: Thurs. 9-11 AM or by appt.

 Michael Fisher Photo

Michael R. Fisher Jr., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: michael.fisher@sjsu.edu 
Phone: TBD
Office: WSQ 216
Office Hours: On Sabattical Fall 20/Spring 21

Wendy Thompson Taiwo Portrait

Wendy Thompson Taiwo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: wendy.thompsontaiwo@sjsu.edu 
Phone: (408) 924-5878
Office: WSQ 216 B
Office Hours: 

Part-Time Faculty

Portrait of Dr. Gaines

Leah T. Gaines, Ph.D.
Lecturer & Outreach Coordinator

Email: leah.gaines@sjsu.edu 
Office: (works remotely)
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM (email for zoom link)

Portrait of Frank Ortega

Frank Ortega, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Email: frank.ortega@sjsu.edu 
Phone: (408) 924-5862
Office: WSQ 216 G
Office Hours: Contact via Canvas for zoom appointment and link.

 Photo of Lecturer Leslye Tinson

Leslye M. Tinson, M.S., LMFT
Lecturer

Email:leslye.tinson@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-6415
Office: DMH 232
OfficeHours: Mon 3-4 pm and Tue 1:15-2:15 pm
Meeting Link: https://leslyetinson.youcanbook.me/

Portrait of Michelle Tran Michelle Tran, M.A.
Lecturer

Email: michelle.tran02@sjsu.edu
Office: (works remotely)
Office Hours: (email for appointment and link)

Bobby "Fela" Seals photo Bobby "Fela" Seals, MA, ABD
Lecturer

Email:bobby.m.seals@sjsu.edu
Office: WSQ 216
Office Hours: By appointment only. Contact through canvas preferred.
Emmanuel J. Watkins, M.A. Emmanuel J. Watkins, M.A.
Lecturer

Email:emmanuel.watkins@sjsu.edu
Office: (works remotely)
Office Hours: By appointment only. Contact through Canvas preferred.

 

Office Staff

Norah Shimokawa Portrait

Norah Shimokawa

Interim Administrative Coordinator

Email: norah.shimokawa@sjsu.edu or afam-studies@sjsu.edu
Office: WSQ 216 A
Office Hours: Mon - Thurs 10 AM - 1 PM
Zoom Meeting Link (Message me to schedule a time)

 


Emeritus Faculty

Steven M. Millner, Ph.D. Steven M. Millner, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Email: steven.millner@sjsu.edu
Photograph of Professor Ruth Wilson

Ruth P. Wilson, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Email: ruth.wilson@sjsu.edu