Associated Students of San Jose State University has been a student-owned and operated non-profit organization for over 100 years. We are committed to providing services and activities that enhance the opportunity to meet, recreate and maximize student life. Opportunities to get involved and obtain leadership skills are among our highest priorities.

The Associated Students (A.S.) Board of Directors represent the student body as their governing council. They are the voice of SJSU students and advocate on their behalf on campus, statewide and national issues affecting them.

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 A.S. Board of Directors!
Their terms starts on June 1, 2019

A.S. President: Branden Parent
A.S. Vice President: Zachary Birrer
A.S. Controller: Jyotsna Kethepalli
A.S. Director of Academic Affairs: Anoop Kaur
A.S. Director of Business Affairs: Flor Sario
A.S. Director of Co-curricular Affairs: Katrina Festejo
A.S. Director of Community and Outreach: Kira Nguyen
A.S. Director of Intercultural Affairs: Mira Mustafa
A.S. Director of Internal Affairs: Kenya Gallo
A.S. Director of Legislative Affairs: Zobeida Delgadillo
A.S. Director of Student Resource Affairs: Jeanne Trang
A.S. Director of Student Rights and Responsibilities: Jose Roque
A.S. Director of Sustainability: Daniella Carrera

Official Results of the 2019-2020 election

Every voter is eligible to win an awesome prize! View the details on the Prize Mechanics here [PDF]. The winners of the prizes are as follows: 

  • Apple $50 gift card: Ali Nour
  • Footlocker $50 gift card: Santos Gonzales
  • Amazon $50 gift card: Aarohi Chopra 
  • Southwest $100 gift card: Minh Anh Thi Mai
  • Starbucks $10 gift card: Siddesh Puttarevaiah 
  • Starbucks $10 gift card: Kevin Jude Pabelonio Basan
  • Starbucks $10 gift card: Chloe Mae Saber
  • Starbucks $10 gift card: Madison Michelle Martin
  • Starbucks $10 gift card: Tyler Amerson
  • Amazon: $50: Heather Joy Salveron 
  • AirPods: Itzel Alejandra Medina 
  • AirPods: Yasmeen Odeh
  • Apple TV: Alexis Fernando Jurado   
  • iPad: Omar H Munoz 


View the 2019 Student Government Election Candidates here!

Download the Voter's Information Guide [PDF]

Student Elections Commission 2018-2019

The Students' Election Commission (SEC) plans and executes A.S. Elections.

Chief Elections Officer: Joseph Sandoval-Rios
Ethics Officer: Leslie Cooper
Events Officer: Isatou Gaye
Marketing Officer: Nia Ricketts
Election Consultants: Benz Phan, Erika Larios


Elections Appeals Board

Sign up here to be a student-at-large on the Elections Appeals Board!

Meeting Dates

January 28, 2019 March 4, 2019 April 15, 2019
February 4, 2019 March 11, 2019 April 22, 2019
February 11, 2019 March 18, 2019 April 29, 2019
February 18, 2019 March 25, 2019 May 6, 2019
February 25, 2019 April 8, 2019  


2019 A.S. Elections


  • 01/31, Thursday: applications available
  • 03/01, Friday, 5pm: application deadline, Student Union Rm 2300
  • 03/08, Friday: Candidate Eligibility Deadline
  • 03/12, Tuesday, 4pm: information due for Candidate Bios/Voter Information Guide (VIG)
  • 03/18, Monday, 8am: online Voter Information Guide (VIG) available
  • 03/15, Friday, 5pm: Accountability Forms/ Campaign Workers Form Due
  • 03/21, Thursday: printed Voter Information Guide (VIG) available
  • 04/10, Wednesday, 5pm:  endorsement deadline
  • 04/15, Monday: endorsements available at as.sjsu.edu/vote
  • 04/15, Monday, 7pm: voting begins
  • 04/18, Thursday, 8am: voting ends



  • 03/18, Monday, 12pm-3pm: Elections Kick Off, Campus Village 2 Multipurpose Room
  • 04/10, Wednesday, 11am-2pm: Meet the Candidates, Smith/Carlos Lawn
  • 04/15, Monday, 5pm-7pm: Candidate Debates*, Student Union Meeting Room 4A/B
  • 04/18, Thursday, 3pm-5pm: Elections Results Party, Student Wellness Center 122A 

*Candidate Debates will be hosted by The Spartan Daily. The live stream link is TBA.


2019 Candidate Information Packet [PDF]
2019 Elections Regulations Manual [PDF]
2019 Bylaws
Accountability Form [PDF]
Campaign Worker Form [PDF]
Endorsement Form [PDF]
Expense Report Form [PDF]



  • General Election Grievances: due Monday, 4/22, 8am (due within 48 business hours of voting closing)
  • Runoff Campaign: begins Friday, 4/19
  • Runoff Voting: Monday, 4/22, 7pm to Thursday, 4/25, 8am
  • Runoff Results: announced Thursday, 4/25, 12pm
  • Runoff Election Grievances: due 04/29, Monday, 8am


Contact Us

A.S. Student Government Office, Diaz Compean Student Union, 2nd Floor, Suite 2300
Telephone: (408) 924-6242

SEC Advisor: Diana Ogbevire, Interim Senior Leadership and Government Coordinator
(408) 924-6045