The Weir/Galm Award Program

The Sybil Weir/John Galm Award is designed to assist junior faculty in establishing and developing their careers at San José State University.  The award is intended to support research, travel to present at conferences, and/or acquisition of materials related to teaching or scholarship. A longtime professor and Chair of the English Department, Dr. John Galm, established the Weir/Galm Endowment in 1995 in memory of his wife, Dr. Sybil Weir.  Dr. Weir also had a long career at San José State University.  She was Professor of English and Associate Dean of the College of Humanities and the Arts; she also served as Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs.  The Weir/Galm Endowment Award is intended to enhance the careers of new faculty members according to the wishes of Dr. Weir and Dr. Galm


Pre-tenure faculty members are eligible for this award.  All disciplines are welcome. In keeping with the wishes of the donors, preference will be given to proposals that address issues of diversity (broadly defined).


It is expected that one (1) award of a maximum of $2,500 will be made.  Awards are subject to IRS tax.  Funds will be made available to awardees by December 2, 2020, and MUST be expended by March 16, 2021. (In years past, awards periods extended through the Spring and Summer, but because of recent changes in the reporting requirements, all funds must be EXPENDED by the March 15th deadline. Please consider this as you develop your proposal.)

Application Deadline

Proposals are due by November 6, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. Please fill out this form.

Past Awardees:

Year Name Department College
1995 M. Hase Social Sciences Social Sciences
1996 Susan Debari Geology Science
1996 Mary McVey Child & Adolescent Develop. Education
1997 Alice Hines Social Work Social Work
1998 Udeme Ndon Civil & Enviro. Engineering Engineering
1999 Joseph Merighi Social Work Social Work
2000 Marcos Pizarro Mexican American Studies Social Sciences
2001 Rona Halualani Communication Studies Social Sciences
2002 Kathleen Evans Secondary Education Education
2004 Jennifer Madigan Special Education Education
2005 Ellen Hartinger-O'Connor History Social Sciences
2006 Persis Karim English Humanities & Arts
2007 Anne Roesler Health Sciences Applied Sciences & Arts
2008 Susan Lambrecht Biological Sciences Science
2009 Carlos Sanchez Philosophy Humanities & Arts
2015 Silke Higgins University Library Library
2015 Sarika Pruthi Global Innovation & Leadership Business
2015 Aaron Romanowsky Physics & Astronomy  Science
2017 Hyojin Lee Marketing & Decision Sciences Business
2018 Ningkun Wang Chemistry Science
2019 Robert Marx Child & Adolescent Dev. Education