Student Affairs Committee

Student affairs committee members participated in the Alzheimer's Walk 2019

The Student Affairs Committee (SAC) has existed since 1986. The primary function of the committee is to advise the Dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences of any student problems or needs, to recommend policy or suggest courses of action, and to suggest improvements to the College. The students that participate in the Student Affairs Committee are the liaisons between the department/school, the students, and the Dean's Office. The Committee discusses issues of concern brought to the committee by the students-at-large or by committee members themselves.

Be informed and be involved

If you would like answers to your questions, please contact the representative of your department or school. If you want to be more involved with the College of Health and Human Sciences, please contact the chair or director of your department or school.

Meetings

The Student Affairs Committee meets once a month on a Tuesday, from 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., in MacQuarrie Hall, Room 438A.

Choosing committee members

During Spring term, Student Affairs Committee members are chosen by the respective departments or schools and current student representatives. After the representatives are chosen, the committee begins meeting in August.

The committee is composed of one representative from each academic unit offering a major. These academic units include:

  • Publich Health and Recreation
  • Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management
  • Kinesiology
  • Nursing
  • Nutrition, Food Science, and Packaging
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Social Work

In addition to these representatives, one faculty advisor is chosen on a rotating basis, along with one staff person, who also sits on the committee.

2020 – 2021 Academic Year

Jaewan Son, Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management
jaewanson99@gmail.com

Gabi Trakhter, Kinesiology, President
gtrakhter@gmail.com

John Humady, Nursing
john.humady@sjsu.edu

Raquel Martinez-Herrera, Nutrition, Food Science and Packaging
rmartinez2259@gmail.com

Elaine Rimban, Occupational Therapy
elaine.rimban@sjsu.edu 

Khaterah Sayed, Public Health and Recreation, Vice President & Secretary
khaterahsayed@gmail.com

Cristina Soresca, Social Work, Masters
mariacristina.soresca@sjsu.edu

CHHS Faculty and Staff

Audrey M. Shillington
Dean's Office
408-924-2900
audrey.shillington@sjsu.edu 

Matthew Masucci
Dean's Office
408-924-2900
matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu

Shirley Reekie
Faulty Advisor
shirley.reekie@sjsu.edu

Liliana Gomez
Dean's Office Support Staff
408-924-2907
liliana.gomez@sjsu.edu