Faculty and Staff Directory

Meet the Department of Communication Studies Faculty and Staff! Below is a full directory of all faculty and administrative staff within the COMM Department, alphabetized by last name.

If you are looking for graduate faculty and their research areas, please navigate to the Graduate Faculty Directory page.

If you are looking for advising hours, please view the Advising Hours section on the Advising page.

Tip: If you're looking for a specific individual, you can search within your browser by pressing Control+F on Windows and Command+F on Mac, then typing in the desired name or keyword to jump to that location in the directory.

❗️ NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 health advisory and current SJSU policies, all office hours will be held ONLINE via Zoom until further notice. Please consult the hours below, and/or contact your professor to schedule an online appointment.

Need help with Zoom? Check out this resource page with tutorials, videos, and how-to guides.
   

Contact Info & Office Hours

 

Vivian Antonellis

Lecturer

HGH 259

vivian.antonellis@sjsu.edu

408-924-6293

Office hours: Tues 7 AM - 7:30 AM; 10:15 AM - 10:45 AM & by appt
 

Philip Bair

Lecturer

HGH 240

philip.bair@sjsu.edu 

408-924-5870

Office hours:
Mon 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
 

Laura Bell

Teaching Associate

HGH 240

laura.bell@sjsu.edu

408-924-5870

Office hours: Thurs 4 PM - 5 PM
 

Joe Biagini

Lecturer

HGH 250

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon 3 PM - 4 PM
 

Bettina Brockmann

Lecturer

Online

bettina.brockmann@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Online via Zoom
 

Courtney Burks

Teaching Associate

HGH 240

courtney.burks@sjsu.edu

408-924-5644

Office hours: Mon/Wed 10:15 AM - 11:15 AM & by appointment 

Arjun Buxi

Lecturer

HGH 257

arjun.buxi@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon, Wed
3 PM - 3:30 PM & by appointment
 

Marquita Byrd

Associate Professor

HGH 206

marquita.byrd@sjsu.edu

Angelica Camino

Administrative Support Coordinator

HGH 108

angelica.camino@sjsu.edu

408-924-5375

James Capurso

Lecturer

HGH 259

james.capurso@sjsu.edu

408-924-5870

Office hours: Tues, Thurs 2:15 PM - 2:45 PM

Roxanne Cnudde

Lecturer

COMM Center Director

HGH 237

roxanne.cnudde@sjsu.edu

408-924-5701

Office hours: Thurs 9 AM - 10 AM in-person & by appointment via Zoom

Kristen Cole

Assistant Professor

HGH 210

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

408-924-5387

Office hours: Mon 4 PM - 5 PM; Wed 11 AM - 12 PM & by appt

Stephanie Coopman

Professor

HGH 211

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

831-477-7780

Office hours: By appointment via Zoom

Ted Coopman

Lecturer

HGH 211

ted.coopman@sjsu.edu

206-214-8625

Office hours: By appointment via Zoom

Patricia Daley-Harms

Lecturer

HGH 257

patricia.daley-harms@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Thurs 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM & by appointment

Isaiah DeMarco

Teaching Associate

HGH 238

isaiah.demarco@sjsu.edu

408-924-5384

Office hours: Mon 5 PM - 6 PM & by appointment

Stephen Eckstone

Lecturer

DBH 127

stephen.eckstone@sjsu.edu

408-971-1136

Office hours: Mon 8:30 AM - 9 AM, 11:30 AM - 12 PM, & by appointment

Gina Firenzi

Lecturer

Online

gina.firenzi@sjsu.edu

Office hours: 8 AM - 10 AM

David Galan

Lecturer

HGH 257

david.galan@sjsu.edu

Office hours: By appointment only

Ge Gao

Professor

HGH 211

ge.gao@sjsu.edu

408-924-5383

Currently on leave

Tyler Gidney

Lecturer

HGH 259

tyler.gidney@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Thurs 11 AM - 12 PM on Zoom; & by appointment via Zoom

Felipe Gómez

Associate Professor

HGH 207

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

On sabbatical

Rona Halualani

Professor

HGH 203

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

408-924-5380

Office hours: By appointment via zoom, phone, chat, or email

Elizabeth Harris

Lecturer

HGH 209

elizabeth.harris@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon, Wed 7 AM - 7:25 AM; 10:30 - 11:50 AM & by appointment

Tabitha Hart

Associate Professor

GTA Program Director (interim)

HGH 216 Online via Zoom

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

408-924-5510

Office hours: Mon 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM, click here to drop in (no appointment needed).

Zaki Hasan

Lecturer

HGH 257

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu

408-924-5510

Office hours: Mon, Wed 7 AM - 7:30 AM

Lucas Hatton

Lecturer

HGH 237

lucas.hatton@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon 11 AM - 11:45 AM; Wed 1:30 PM - 2:45 PM

Oona Hatton

Assistant Professor & Graduate Coordinator

HGH 204 Online

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Email for appointment

Marie Haverfield

Assistant Professor

HGH 204

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Thurs 3 PM - 5 PM & by appointment

Stephen Hinerman

Lecturer

Online

stephen.hinerman@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon, Wed online 2 PM - 4 PM

Minna Holopainen

Lecturer

HGH 257

minna.holopainen@sjsu.edu

408-924-6178

Office hours: By appointment

Anya Iyengar

Lecturer

HGH 259

anya.iyengar@sjsu.edu

408-924-5388

Office hours: Wed 6:30 AM - 7:30 AM in BBC 223 & by appointment

Kyle Johnson

Lecturer

HGH 257

kyle.johnson@sjsu.edu

408-924-6380

Office hours:
Tues 11:45 AM - 12:45 PM;
Thurs 1:00 PM - 1:30 PM

Agatha Kuczera

Teaching Associate

HGH 240

agatha.kuczera@sjsu.edu

408-924-6058

Office hours:
Wed 4:30 PM - 5:30 PM & by appt

Jean-Pierre Lacrampe

Lecturer

HGH 201

jean-pierre.lacrampe@sjsu.edu

408-924-5262

Office hours:
Tues 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
& by appointment

Scott Laczko

Lecturer

Forensics

HGH 214

scott.laczko@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Tues, Thurs 2 PM - 3 PM
& by appointment

Brohne Lawhorne

Lecturer

HGH 209

brohne.lawhorne@sjsu.edu

831-227-4305

Office hours:
Thurs 3 PM - 4 PM & by appt

Edwin Lee

Lecturer

HGH 257

edwin.lee@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Tues 3 PM - 4 PM

Tina Lim

Lecturer

Director of Forensics

HGH 214

tina.lim@sjsu.edu

408-924-5381

Office hours:
Tues, Thurs 11 AM - 12 PM

Patricia Loredo

Administrative Support Assistant

HGH 108

patricia.loredo@sjsu.edu

408-924-5360

Tiffany Martinez

Teaching Associate

HGH 238

tiffany.martinez@sjsu.edu

408-924-5784

Office Hours: Tues 3:15 PM - 4:15 PM

Amarissa Matthews

Lecturer

HGH 239

amarissa.matthews@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Mon 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM or by appointment (email 48 hours in advance)

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

HGH 207

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

408-924-5374

Office hours:
Posted weekly on Canvas & by appointment

Sarah McGaffey

Lecturer

COMM Center Staff

HGH 239

sarah.mcgaffey@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Tues, Thurs 10:45 AM - 11:15 AM & by appointment

Morgan McKnight

Lecturer

HGH 250

morgan.mcknight@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon, Wed 2:30 PM - 3 PM; Friday 8:20 AM - 9:20 AM & by appointment 

Beth McMurray

Lecturer

HGH 259

elizabeth.mcmurray@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Tues, Thurs 6 PM - 6:30 PM

Cristina Mejia-Salinas

Lecturer

HGH 259

diana.mejiasalinas@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Tues, Thurs 1 PM - 1:30 PM by appointment

Jennifer Morrison

Lecturer

CFA Representative

Internship Program Director

HGH 201

jennifer.morrison@sjsu.edu

408-924-5415

Office hours:
Tues, Thurs 1:45 PM - 2:30 PM, by appointment on Zoom

Karina Momary

Lecturer

HGH 250

karina.momary@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Wed 8:45 AM - 9:45 AM; 5 PM - 6 PM; & by appointment

Rahmon Pashtunyar

Lecturer

HGH 257

rahmon.pashtunyar@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Wed 10:45 AM - 11:55 AM; by appointment

Nico Peck

Lecturer

COMM Center Staff

HGH 239

monica.peck@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Mon, Wed 12 PM - 1 PM (Office in Gender Equity Center in Student Union)

Brandi Pena-Garcia

Lecturer

HGH 257

brandi.penagarcia@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Online via Zoom 12 PM - 1 PM by appointment 

Carol Lynn Perez

Lecturer

carol-lynn.perez@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Tues 9:30 AM-11:30 AM via Skype at commclass@gmail.com & by appointment in-person, phone, & Skype

Dana Pozzi

Lecturer

Online

dana.morella@sjsu.edu

Office hours: By appointment online

Alexis Pulos

Visiting Associate Professor

HGH 205

alexis.pulos@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon 1 PM - 3 PM & by appointment

Kathleen Raiff

Lecturer

HGH 259

kathleen.raiff@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Tues, Thurs 12 PM - 1 PM

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

HGH 205

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Wed 11 AM - 1 PM; by appointment

David Ramos

Teaching Associate

HGH 238

david.a.ramos@sjsu.edu

408-924-5670

Office hours: Wed 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM; by appointment

Vicky Rodriguez

Administrative Analyst/Specialist

HGH 108

victoria.rodriguez@sjsu.edu

408-924-5360

Leif Rogers

Lecturer

HGH 209

leif.rogers@sjsu.edu

408-924-5564

Office hours:
Tues, Thurs 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM & by appointment

Matthew Spangler

Professor

HGH 206

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

408-924-1373

Office hours: Wed 4 PM - 5 PM

Shawn Spano

Professor

HGH 211

shawn.spano@sjsu.edu

408-924-5379

Office hours: Wed 5:45 PM - 6:45 PM & by appointment

Mary Anne Sunseri

Lecturer

Forensics

HGH 208 Online via Zoom

mary.sunseri@sjsu.edu

408-924-5379

Office hours: Tues, Thurs
12 PM - 1 PM via Zoom
Click here to schedule an appointment.

Ching Ching Tan

Lecturer

HGH 209

chingching.tan@sjsu.edu

408-924-5237

Office hours: Mon 10 AM - 10:30 AM

Anne Marie Todd

Professor

Department Chair

HGH 106

annemarie.todd@sjsu.edu

408-924-5391

Office hours: By appointment

Federico Varona

Professor

HGH 203

federico.varona@sjsu.edu

408-924-5392

Office hours:
Mon, Wed 1:15 PM - 2 PM & by appointment

Lindsay Walsh

Teaching Associate

HGH 238

lindsay.walsh@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Mon 12:15 PM - 1:15 PM, 2 PM - 3 PM

Shannon Waltrip-Sequeira

Lecturer

HGH 259

shannon.waltrip-sequeira@sjsu.edu

408-924-6509

Office hours:
Tues 6:30 AM - 7:30AM

Lucas Wang

Teaching Associate

HGH 240

lucas.wang@sjsu.edu

408-924-5436 (during office hours)

Office hours: Mon 4:30 PM - 5:30 PM & by appointment

Kendall Ward

Lecturer

HGH 259

kendall.ward@sjsu.edu

408-924-6340

Office hours:
Mon/Wed 10 AM - 10:30 AM & by appointment in-person, Skype, & Google Hangouts

Kathy Werking

Lecturer

Online

kathywerking@msn.com

859-265-0445

Office hours: By appointment via phone, online, or in-person

Karen Williams

Lecturer

HGH 208

karen.williams@sjsu.edu

Office hours:
Mon 7:15 AM - 9:15 AM in HGH 219, 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM & by appointment 

Andrew Wood

Professor

HGH 210

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Online via Canvas

Nikki Yeboah

Assistant Professor

HGH 216

nikki.yeboah@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Mon 1 PM - 2:30 PM & by appointment

Kim Yee

Lecturer

HGH 214

kim.yee@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Tues, Thurs
10:15 AM - 11:15 AM
& by appointment