Campus Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (CCDEI)

We are pleased to announce the members of the Campus Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (CCDEI). This committee will identify equity gaps and make recommendations to address systemic historical inequities, prioritizing equity for historically marginalized groups and issues related to improving campus climate through campus engagement, review of relevant data, reports and research. Committee members also will share recommendations for presidential review. 

The following individuals serve as committee representatives:


Angee Ortega McGhee, Staff
Associate Resource Analyst, Lucas College and Graduate School of Business

Monica Allen, Faculty (Service Begins Spring Semester 2022)
Associate Professor, Public Health and Recreation

Kathleen Wong(Lau), Chief Diversity Officer
Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


To Be Determined, Non-STEM Student Representative

Azariah Cole-Shephard, STEM Student Representative
Undergraduate Student, Electrical Engineering

Alani Fluker, Student Athlete Representative
Undergraduate Student, Public Health

Kevin Gaytan, Graduate Student Representative
Graduate Student, Social Work

Anoop Kaur, Associated Students Representative
Undergraduate Student, Biological Sciences, Concentration in Systems Physiology

Vinson Vũ, Student Success Centers Representative
Undergraduate Student, Business Administration, Management Information Systems

Unique Williams, Greek Organization Representative
Undergraduate Student, African American Studies


Joe Fessehaye, Staff-at-Large Representative
Early Alert Coordinator, Peer Connections

Jose Macias, Athletics Representative
Athletic Academic Advisor, Student Athlete Success Services

Sharon Singh, Solidarity Network Representative
Program Coordinator, MOSAIC Cross Cultural Center

Bonnie Sugiyama, Solidarity Network Representative
Director, PRIDE Center and Gender Equity Center

Claudia Tercero, Classified Staff/Staff Counsel Representative
Administrative Assistant to the Associate Vice President, Development 

Alma Verduzco, Maintenance and Operations Representative
Facilities Worker II, Maintenance and Operations

MPP Representatives

Valerie Gonzales
Associate Director for Digital Engagement, Alumni and Community Engagement

Julie Paisant
Senior Director,Employee Relations, Retention and Equal Opportunity, University Personnel


TBD, Faculty-at-Large Representative

Tanya Bakhru, Faculty Diversity Committee Representative
Professor, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies/SISS

Marion Campisi, Faculty-at-Large Representative
Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Statistics

Michael Dao, Tenure-Track Faculty Representative
Assistant Professor, Kinesiology

Sharmin Khan, Lecturer Faculty Representative
Lecturer, Linguistics and Language Development

To Be Determined, Tenured Faculty Representative


Alerie Flandez, Alumn of 10 or More Years
Academic Advisor, Davidson College of Engineering Student Success Center

Danny D. McLane, Alumn of 2 - 10 Years
Founder and CEO, Jamii Technology

Standing Committee Members:

Magdalena Barrera, Vice Provost for Faculty Success
Office of the Provost

Alison McKee, Academic Senate Chair
Professor, Film and Theater

Walt Jacobs, Special Assistant to the Provost on Racial Justice Initiatives
Dean, College of Social Sciences

Patience D. Bryant, Director of Black/African American Equity
Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Fernanda Perdomo-Arciniegas, Interim Director of Chicanx/Latinx Equity
Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Jahmal Williams, Director of Advocacy for Racial Justice
Community and Government Relations

TBD Director of Co-Curricular Learning, Educational Equity, and Assessment, Divison of Student Affairs


1 See Alumni vs Alumnus