Honors and Awards


Economics Departmental Honors

Undergraduate students who meet the requirements for Economics Department Honors are recognized by the University with an indication of “Honors” on both the student’s transcript and diploma.

Around Spring Commencement, we host the Economics Department Awards Ceremony where honorees are presented with a certificate and an honors graduation cord. In the Winter, honorees are given an honors graduation cord to wear at Commencement and are invited back to participate in the springtime awards ceremony.

Undergraduate students who meet the department standards are also eligible to join the International Economics Honors Society, Omicron Delta Epsilon. Membership information can be found here: www.omicrondeltaepsilon.org


To Apply

Please download the Economics Departmental Honors Application (pdf), save, and fill out. Send the completed pdf to to the Econ Department Office. After you have emailed your completed application to the office, please complete this form to help us track submissions.

Fall 2019 Honorees List (pdf)

Spring 2018 Honorees List (pdf)


President's and Dean's Scholars

SJSU offers a number of honors designations, honors such as “cum laude” are automatically awarded to all SJSU students who graduate with a particular GPA (3.5, 3.7, or 3.85). Students may find themselves automatically enrolled on the List of Dean’s or President’s Scholars if they maintain a high GPA for a certain number of semesters.

Learn more about President's and Dean's Scholars.



The Department has three perpetual plaques to recognize outstanding students and alumni. Faculty members nominate and select the award recipients.

James F. Willis Award for Excellence in Economics

James Willis was the Chair of the Department of Economics for over 25 years. His stewardship led the department through turbulent times in the 1970s and laid the groundwork for the current strong program. The award goes to the Outstanding Graduate and Undergraduate Student. Recipients receive an engraved paperweight.

Rodolfo Gonzalez Award for Outstanding Alumni

The inscription on this perpetual plaque is a quote from F. Hayek: “Economics reveals ‘that order generated without design can far outstrip plans men consciously contrive.’” The plaque recognizes the personal sacrifice and “order” that Professor Gonzalez brought to the Department in his three years of service as Department Chair. The award goes to the alum who has contributed most to promote the understanding of economics. Recipient receives an engraved paperweight.

David S. Saurman Most Valuable Player Award

This is a memorial plaque to recognize and to foster the contributions made to the Department by David S. Saurman The award is made in two categories: Faculty/Staff and Student. The M.V.P. in each category is selected based on ability to promote a collegial environment that maximizes utility. Recipients receive an engraved glass beer stein.