Faculty

Ed.D. Faculty Collage

The Ed.D. Leadership Program faculty are composed of scholars and researchers from across SJSU who are committed to preparing collaborative, transformative leaders capable of building school systems free from oppression, injustice, and inequality as well as to closing the opportunity gap resulting in educational disparities and social inequalities.

 

Program Director

Ferdie Rivera, Ph.D. (Interim)

ferdinand.rivera@sjsu.edu
Sweeney Hall 402

 

Ferdie Rivera

Core Faculty

Rebeca Burciaga, Ph.D. | Professor, Educational Leadership & Chicana and Chicano Studies, Program Founder and Coordinator, Emancipatory Leadership MA Program

Kyoung Mi Choi, Ph.D. | Associate Professor, Counselor Education

Arnold Danzig, Ph.D. | Professor, Educational Leadership

Brent Duckor, Ph.D. | Professor, Teacher Education

María Ledesma, Ph.D. | Department Chair & Professor, Educational Leadership

Roxana Marachi, Ph.D. | Professor, Teacher Education

Kathleen McConnell, Ph.D. | Associate Chair & Professor, Communication Studies 

Dolores Mena, Ph.D. | Professor & Graduate Program Coordinator, Counselor Education

Nikos Mourtos, Ph.D. | Department Chair & Professor, Aerospace Engineering

Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor, Teacher Education

Luis Poza, Ph.D. | Associate Professor, Teacher Education

Emily Slusser, Ph.D. | Department Chair & Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development

Megan Thiele, Ph.D. | Associate Professor, Sociology & Interdiscriplinary Social Sciences

David Whitenack, Ph.D. | Department Chair & Professor, Teacher Education

Affiliated Faculty

Pamela Cheng, Ed.D. | Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program & Director of Instructional Services at Campbell Union School District 

Michael Gallagher, Ed.D. | Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program & Superintendent at Sunnyvale School District 

Bob Gliner, Ph.D. | Lecturer,  Ed.D. Leadership Program & Emeritus Professor, Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Veneice Guillory-Lacy, Ph.D | Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership

Bobbie Plough, Ed.D. | Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program

Rosalinda Quintanar-Sarellana, Ph.D. | Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program & Emerita Professor, Teacher Education 

Noni Reis, Ph.D. | Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program & Emerita Professor, Educational Leadership


Core Faculty Directory, Bios, and Highlights

 

Rebeca Burciaga, Ph.D.Rebeca Burciaga
Professor, Educational Leadership
& Chicana and Chicano Studies, Program founder and Coordinator, Emancipatory Leadership MA Program
rebeca.burciaga@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-3644
Twitter: @qvo 

 

 

Kyoung Mi Choi, Ph.D.Kyoung Mi Choi
Associate Professor, Counselor Education
kyoungmi.choi@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

  Arnold DanzigArnold Danzig, Ph.D.
Professor, Educational Leadership
arnold.danzig@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-3722

 

 

Brent DuckorBrent Duckor, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
brent.duckor@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-3342

 

 

María Ledesma, Ph.D.Maria Ledesma
Department Chair & Professor, Educational Leadership
maria.ledesma@sjsu.edu 

 

 

Roxana MarachiRoxana Marachi, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
roxana.marachi@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-3729
Twitter: @ConnectEdProf 

 

 

Kathleen McConnell, Ph.D.Kathleen McConnell 
Associate Chair & Professor, Communication Studies
kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

 

 

Dolores Mena, Ph.D.Dolores Mena  
Professor & Graduate Program Coordinator,
Counselor Education
dolores.mena@sjsu.edu

 

 

Nikos MourtosNikos Mourtos, Ph.D.
Chair & Professor, Aerospace Engineering
nikos.mourtos@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-3867

 

 

Eduardo Munoz-MunozEduardo Muñoz-Muñoz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Teacher Education
eduardo.munoz-munoz@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-3771

 

Luis Poza, Ph.D.Luis Poza
Associate Professor, Teacher Education
luis.poza@sjsu.edu 

 

 

 

Emily Slusser, Ph.D.Emily Slussor
Department Chair & Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
emily.slusser@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-3752

 

Megan Thiele, Ph.D. Megan Thiele
Associate Professor, Sociology & Interdiscriplinary Social Sciences
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu

 

 

David Whitenack, Ph.D.David Whitenack
Department Chair & Professor, Teacher Education
david.whitenack@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-3736

 


Affiliated Faculty Directory, Bios, and Highlights

 

Pamela Cheng, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program
& Director of Instructional Services
at Campbell Union School District 
pamela.cheng@sjsu.edu

Pamela Cheng

 

 

 

Michael Gallagher, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program
& Superintendent at Sunnyvale School District 
michael.gallagher@sjsu.edu 

Michael Gallagher

 

 

Bob Gliner, Ph.D. Bob Gliner
Lecturer,  Ed.D. Leadership Program & Emeritus Professor, Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences
robert.gliner@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-1796

 

 

Veneice Guillory-Lacy, Ph.D.Veneice Guillory-Lacy
Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership

 

 

 

Bobbie PloughDr. Bobbie Plough, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program
barbara.plough@sjsu.edu 

 

 

 

 

Rosalinda Quintanar-Sarellana, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program
& Emerita Professor, Teacher Education 
rosalinda.quintanar@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-3747
Rosalinda Quintanar-Sarellana

 

 

Noni Reis, Ph.D.Noni Reis
Lecturer, Ed.D. Leadership Program
& Emerita Professor, Educational Leadership
noni.mendozareis@sjsu.edu 

Current Faculty Resources