Faculty, Leadership, & Research

 

The Lurie College of Education offers comprehensive programs, taught by our talented and dedicated faculty. Our innovative curriculum prepares SJSU Spartans to become transformative educators, counselors, therapists, school and community leaders.

Department Chairs & Program Directors

The Lurie College of Education Department Chairs and Program Directors are faculty members who serve in a leadership capacity to provide guidance and direction to the growth and development of each academic department and the college as a whole. The current department chairs and program directors are:

Dolores Mena

Dolores DeHaro Mena, Ph.D.
Professor, Counselor Education
dolores.mena@sjsu.edu

Peg Hughes

Peg Hughes, Ph.D.
Professor, Special Education
peg.hughes@sjsu.edu

Nidhi Mahendra

Nidhi Mahendra, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
nidhi.mahendra@sjsu.edu
Bradley Porfilio

Bradley Porfilio, Ph.D.
Professor, Ed.D Leadership Program
bradley.porfilio@sjsu.edu

Emily Slusser Emily Slusser, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
emily.slusser@sjsu.edu

Patricia Swanson

Patty Swanson, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
patricia.swanson@sjsu.edu
David Whitenack David Whitenack, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

Faculty Committees

The Lurie College of Education, as a community of scholars and practitioners, believes firmly in the need for broad-based, inclusive college governance. This belief is actualized in the use of the standing committees listed below as well as numerous ad hoc committees that are formed and used throughout an academic year.

Meet the Lurie College Faculty

Katya Aguilar, Ph.D. 
Professor, Teacher Education
katya.aguilar@sjsu.edu

Stefanie Aichele-Chang
Lecturer, Teacher Education
stefanie.aichele@sjsu.edu

Imee Almazan, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
imee.almazan@sjsu.edu

Jolynn Asato
Lecturer, Teacher Education
jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu

Janel Astor
Lecturer, Special Education
janel.astor@sjsu.edu

Marion Beach, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
marion.schinn@sjsu.edu

Donna Bee-Gates, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
donna.bee-gates@sjsu.edu

Louise Bernbaum
Teacher Education
louise.bernbaum@sjsu.edu

Laurene Beto
Lecturer, Special Education
laurene.beto@sjsu.edu

Shaum Bhagat, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
shaum.bhagat@sjsu.edu

Nancy Bilbao
Lecturer, Teacher Education
nancy.bilbao@sjsu.edu

Sylvia Branca
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
sylvia.branca@sjsu.edu

Allison Briceño, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Teacher Education
allison.briceno@sjsu.edu

Rebeca Burciaga, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
rebeca.burciaga@sjsu.edu

Michele Burns
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
Lecturer, Counselor Education
michele.burns@sjsu.edu

Toni Campbell, Ph.D.
Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
toni.campbell@sjsu.edu

Lorri Capizzi, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
lorri.capizzi@sjsu.edu

Paul Cascella, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
paul.cascella@sjsu.edu

Kathleen Castillo
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
kathleen.castillo@sjsu.edu

Gary Cava
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
gary.cava@sjsu.edu

Elaine Chin, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
elaine.y.chin@sjsu.edu

Kyoung Mi Choi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Counselor Education
kyoungmi.choi@sjsu.edu

Jenna Colleen
Lecturer, Special Education
jenna.colleen@sjsu.edu

Krissy Connell
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
krissy.connell@sjsu.edu

Mary Conroy
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
mary.conroy@sjsu.edu

Susan Cooper
Lecturer, Teacher Education
susan.cooper@sjsu.edu

Jimma Cortes-Smith
Lecturer, Counselor Education
jimma.cortes@sjsu.edu

Kristy Cross
Lecturer, Childhood & Adolescent Development
Lecturer, Teacher Education
kristy.cross@sjsu.edu

Arnold Danzig, Ph.D.
Professor, Educational Leadership
arnold.danzig@sjsu.edu

Ashley Defensor, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
ashley.defensor@sjsu.edu

Brandy Dickinson
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
Director, Clinic Education
brandy.dickinson@sjsu.edu

Brent Duckor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Teacher Education
brent.duckor@sjsu.edu

Zoila Esquivel Moreno
Lecturer,Teacher Education
zoila.esquivel@sjsu.edu

Mark Felton, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
Faculty Associate Dean for Research
mark.felton@sjsu.edu

Joy Foster
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
Director, Child Development Lab Preschool
joy.foster@sjsu.edu

Jessica Fraser
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
jessica.fraser@sjsu.edu

Rayna Friendly, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
rayna.friendly@sjsu.edu

Maria Fusaro, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
maria.fusaro@sjsu.edu

Robert Gliner, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
Lecturer, Ed.D Leadership Program
robert.gliner@sjsu.edu

Andrea Golloher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Special Education
andrea.golloher@sjsu.edu

Dawn Greenberg
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
dawn.greenberg@sjsu.edu

Amy Gutierrez
Lecturer, Counselor Education
amy.gutierrez@sjsu.edu

Maryann Haggerty
Lecturer, Teacher Education
maryann.haggerty@sjsu.edu

Carol Hartunian
Lecturer, Teacher Education
carol.hartunian@sjsu.edu

Alicia Henderson
Lecturer, Special Education
alicia.henderson@sjsu.edu

Christina Hewko
Lecturer, Teacher Education
christina.hewko@sjsu.edu

Carrie Holmberg
Lecturer, Teacher Education
carrie.holmberg@sjsu.edu

Xiaolu Hu, Ph.D.
Professor, Counselor Education
xiaolu.hu@sjsu.edu

Suzanne Hughes
Lecturer, Teacher Education
suzanne.hughes@sjsu.edu

Esther Hugo, Ed.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
esther.hugo@sjsu.edu

Floyd Hurndon
Lecturer, Teacher Education
floyd.hurndon@sjsu.edu

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio
Lecturer, Teacher Education
kara.irelanddambrosio@sjsu.edu

Dina Izenstark, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
dina.izenstark@sjsu.edu

John Jabagchourian, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
john.jabagchourian@sjsu.edu

Roshini Joseph
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
roshini.joseph@sjsu.edu

Jan Kaay
Lecturer, Teacher Education
janet.d.kaay@sjsu.edu

Lara Kassab, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor, Teacher Education
lara.kassab@sjsu.edu

Sudha Kaul, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
sudha.kaul@sjsu.edu

Michael Kimbarow, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
michael.kimbarow@sjsu.edu

Janet Kitajima
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
janet.kitajima@sjsu.edu

Jewel Knofler
Lecturer, Teacher Education
jewel.knofler@sjsu.edu

Meredith Kondo
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
meredith.kondo@sjsu.edu

Sudha Krishnan
Lecturer, Special Education
sudha.v.krishnan@sjsu.edu

Kelly Kruger
Lecturer, Counselor Education
kelly.kruger@sjsu.edu

Saili Kulkarni, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Special Education
saili.kulkarni@sjsu.edu

Jason Laker, Ph.D.
Professor, Counselor Education
jason.laker@sjsu.edu

Jennifer Lambinicio
Lecturer, Special Education
jennifer.lambinicio@sjsu.edu

Heather Lattimer, Ed.D.
Dean and Professor, Lurie College of Education
heather.lattimer@sjsu.edu

Matthew Love, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Special Education
matthew.love@sjsu.edu

Robin Love
Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
robin.love@sjsu.edu

Mei-Yan Lu, Ph.D.
Professor, Educational Leadership
mei-yan.lu@sjsu.edu

Lyle Lustigman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
lyle.lustigman@sjsu.edu

Jennifer Madigan
Lecturer, Teacher Education
jennifer.madigan@sjsu.edu

Cara Maffini, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
cara.maffini@sjsu.edu

Michael Mann-stock
Lecturer, Counselor Education
michael.man-stock@sjsu.edu

Roxana Marachi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Teacher Education
roxana.marachi@sjsu.edu

Robert Marx, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
robert.marx@sjsu.edu

Ravisha Mathur, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
ravisha.mathur@sjsu.edu

Marcella McCollum
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
marcella.mccollum@sjsu.edu

June McCullough, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
june.mccullough@sjsu.edu

Ralph McKay
Lecturer, Teacher Education
ralph.mckay@sjsu.edu

Mary McVey, Ph.D.
Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
mary.mcvey@sjsu.edu

Danielle Mead, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
danielle.mead@sjsu.edu

Marianne Mehuys
Lecturer, Teacher Education
marianne.mehuys@sjsu.edu

Evelyn Merritt
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
evelyn.merritt@sjsu.edu

Rebecca Messina
Lecturer, Teacher Education
rebecca.messina@sjsu.edu

Ellen Middaugh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
ellen.middaugh@sjsu.edu

Daniel Miranda
Lecturer, Teacher Education
daniel.miranda@sjsu.edu

Dale Mitchell
Lecturer, Teacher Education
dale.mitchell@sjsu.edu

Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
eduardo.munoz-munoz@sjsu.edu

Deb Nemecek
Lecturer, Teacher Education
deborah.nemecek@sjsu.edu

Adam Nilsen
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
adam.nilsen@sjsu.edu

Jean Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
jean.novak@sjsu.edu

Teresa O'Donnell-Johnson
Lecturer, Child and Adolescent Development
teresa.o'donnell-johnson@sjsu.edu

Paula Oakes
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
Lecturer, Teacher Education
paula.oakes@sjsu.edu

Shirley Ortiz
Lecturer, Special Education
shirley.ortiz@sjsu.edu

Hyun-Sook Park, Ph.D.
Professor, Special Education
hyunsook.park@sjsu.edu

Jennifer Pearlman
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
jennifer.pearlman@sjsu.edu

Alison Pentand
Lecturer,Communicative Disorders & Sciences
alison.pentand@sjsu.edu

Vickey Perkins
Lecturer, Special Education
vperkins@hopeservices.org

Brent Peterson, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Special Education
brent.peterson@sjsu.edu

Kristin Phillips-Matson
Lecturer, Counselor Education
kristin.phillips-matson@sjsu.edu

Laura Pirazzi
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
laura.pirazzi@sjsu.edu

Marcos Pizarro, Ph.D.
Associate Dean and Professor, Lurie College of Education
marcos.pizarro@sjsu.edu

Luis Poza, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Teacher Education
luis.poza@sjsu.edu

Wendy Quach, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
wendy.quach@sjsu.edu

Rosalinda Quintanar-Sarellana, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
rosalinda.quintanar@sjsu.edu

Colette Rabin, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
colette.rabin@sjsu.edu

Ana Ramirez
Lecturer, Teacher Education
ana.ramirez@sjsu.edu

Lupe Ramirez-Steele
Lecturer,Communicative Disorders & Sciences
lupe.ramirez-steele@sjsu.edu

Nicky Ramos-Beban
Lecturer, Teacher Education
nicky.ramosbeban@sjsu.edu

Michelle Randle
Lecturer, Counselor Education
michelle.randle@sjsu.edu

Devon Reckmeyer-Hibbert, Psy.D.
Lecturer, Teacher Education
devon.hibbert@sjsu.edu

Latisha Roberts, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Counselor Education
latisha.roberts@sjsu.edu

Berrnadette Rodriguez-Young
Lecturer, Teacher Education
berrnadette.rodriguez@sjsu.edu

Pat Rogers
Lecturer, Teacher Education
patricia.rogers@sjsu.edu

Anita Schaack
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
anita.schaack@sjsu.edu

Murry Schekman
Lecturer, Counselor Education
murry.scheckman@sjsu.edu

Heather Schlaman
Lecturer, Teacher Education
heather.schlaman@sjsu.edu

Pam Schultz
Lecturer,Teacher Education
pamela.schultz@sjsu.edu

Erin Scullion-Jones
Lecturer, Teacher Education
erin.scullion@sjsu.edu

Dena Sexton
Lecturer, Teacher Education
dena.sexton@sjsu.edu

Amita Shah
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
amita.shah@sjsu.edu

Lisa Simpson, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Special Education
lisa.simpson@sjsu.edu

Linda Sizelove-Secola
Lecturer, Teacher Education
linda.sizelove@sjsu.edu

Everett Smith
Lecturer, Special Education
everett.smith@sjsu.edu

Grinell Smith, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
grinell.smith@sjsu.edu

Helen Smith
Lecturer, Teacher Education
helen.smith@sjsu.edu

Maureen Smith, Ph.D.
Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
maureen.smith@sjsu.edu

Nancy Smith
Lecturer, Special Education
nancy.smith@sjsu.edu

Nadia Sorkhabi, Ph.D.
Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
nadia.sorkhabi@sjsu.edu

Shannon Stovall
Lecturer, Counselor Education
shannon.stovall@sjsu.edu

Patty Swanson, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
patricia.swanson@sjsu.edu

Evelyn Thorne
Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development
evelyn.thorne@sjsu.edu

Jay Totter
Lecturer, Special Education
joseph.totter@sjsu.edu

Kim Tsai, Ph.D
Assistant Professor, Child & Adolescent Development
kim.tsai@sjsu.edu

Pei-Tzu Tsai, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
peitzu.tsai@sjsu.edu

Aubrey Uresti, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
aubrey.uresti@sjsu.edu

Shawn Vecillio, Ph.D.
Lecturer,Teacher Education
shawn.vecillio@sjsu.edu

Tammie Visintainer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Teacher Education
tammie.visintainer@sjsu.edu

David Whitenack, Ph.D.
Professor, Teacher Education
david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

Krystle Wright
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
krystle.wright@sjsu.edu

Carol Zepecki
Lecturer, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
carol.zepecki@sjsu.edu

Erika Zepeda
Lecturer, Counselor Education
erika.zepeda@sjsu.edu

Go back to the top of this page