Table of Reflection Deadlines to Clear Your Prerequisite to English 1A and 1AF

Do It Today!

The sooner you finish, the sooner you register.

Processing your RCW prerequisite requires you to work with our team to meet the scheduled reporting targets: 

  1. Friday: Meet the Friday 12:00pm noon deadline for completing the work.
  2. Saturday & Sunday: Check back over the weekend to make sure you scored all 10 points. 
  3. Monday: Fix any errors in your submissions by Monday 12:00 noon. 

Then, we can report your prerequisites as clear for you to register for your first-year writing class. Please complete RCW by the first orientation, as highlighted in blue.

Table of Processing Deadlines for Summer

Reflection on College Writing

Complete all the RCW modules by 12 pm on We verify your completion by 12:00 pm on We report your prerequisite as satisfied by 3:00 pm on  You can register for your writing class on
Friday, December 9 Monday, December 12 Tuesday, December 13 Wednesday, December 14
Friday, December 16 Monday, December 19 Tuesday, December 20 Wednesday, December 21
Monday, January 9 Tuesday, January 10 Tuesday, January 10 Wednesday, January 11
Monday, January 16 Tuesday, January 17 Tuesday, January 17 Wednesday, January 18
Advanced Registration ends Sunday January 22, 2023
Registration closes on January 23-24, 2023
First Day of Instruction starts on January 25th, 2023

Remember: You must complete RCW before you can register for your first-year composition course. If you are entering SJSU with college-level writing credit, you will need to have it finished no later than the end of the Spring 2023 semester.