Research and Publications

Research Papers Scholarly Books Translations

Home Page


Authored Books:

  • 2020. Monograph book: Cross-Tradition Engagement in Philosophy: A Constructive-Engagement Account (Routledge / peer-reviewed).

  • 2019. Monograph book: Semantic-Truth Approaches in Chinese Philosophy: A Unifying Pluralist Account (Lexington Books / solicited / peer-reviewed).


  • 2009. Monograph book: Substantive Perspectivism: An Essay on Philosophical Concern with Truth (in the "Synthese Library: Studies in Epistemology, Logic, Methodology, and Philosophy of Science" monograph series, vol. 344; Dordrecht, Netherlands: Springer / peer-reviewed). [This is a peer-refereed monograph in the area of philosophy of language and metaphysics, in which I elaborate a distinct theory of truth after giving four case analyses of Tarski's, Quine's, Davidson's and Daoist approaches.]



  • 2009/2010 Reference bookChinese Philosophy A-Z ((Edinburgh, UK: Edinburgh University Press; 2009 / reprint with revisions 2010). [This is a concise alphabetic guide to the main concepts, figures, topics and important movements of thought in the whole history of Chinese philosophy.]


Edited Volumes:


  • 2018. Edited reference book (four-volume set) Chinese Philosophy (in Routledge’s “Critical Concepts in Philosophy” series; London and New York: Routledge).

         Mou_CP reference book_2018


  • 2009. Edited reference book History of Chinese Philosophy (London and New York: Routledge). (This is considered to be the first volume to offer a comprehensive, in-depth, and accessible reference guide to the major topics and movements that have shaped Chinese philosophy over the last three thousand years. Contributing chapters, all of which except of one are unpublished pieces written for the volume, from Antonio S. Cua, Chung-ying Cheng, Edward Slingerland, Chris Fraser,Yiu-ming Fung, Kim-chong Chong, Xiaogan Liu, Vincent Shen, Alan K.L. Chan, Whalen Lai, Shu-hsien Liu, Chung-yi Cheng, Xinyan Jiang, Chenshan Tian, Sor-hoon Tan, and Bo Mou.)



  • 2008. Edited anthology volume Searle's Philosophy and Chinese Philosophy: Constructive Engagement (Leiden, Netherlands: Brill Academic Publishers). (The anthology includes Searle's keynote essay and 15 engaging pairs of essay-reply dialogues, each of which consists of one previously unpublished essay by some expert(s) and Searle's engaging reply, and which are organized into four subjects respectively on mind, language, morality, and meta-philosophical & methodological issues. Contributors are John R. Searle, Chung-ying Cheng, Chris Fraser, Joel W. Krueger, Robert E. Allinson, Soraj Hongladarom, A.P. Martinich, Yiu-ming Fung, Marshall D. Willman, A.T. Nuyen, Kim-chong Chong, Chris Fraser & Kai-yee Wong, Avrum Stroll, B. Jeannie Lum, Yujian Zheng, and Bo Mou.)


  • 2006. Edited anthology volume Davidson's Philosophy and Chinese Philosophy: Constructive Engagement (Leiden, Netherlands: Brill Academic Publishers) (Contributions, all of which are unpublished pieces written for the volume, from Michael Krausz, Koji Tanaka, Stephen Angle, David Wong, Yiu-ming Fung, Samuel Wheeler, Yujian Zheng, A.P. Martinich, Kim-chong Chong, Yang Xiao, Chung-ying Cheng, and Bo Mou.)


  • 2003. Edited anthology volume Comparative Approaches to Chinese Philosophy (Aldershot, UK: Ashgate Publishing Company). (Contributions, most of which are unpublished pieces written for the volume, from A. S. Cua, Chung-yin Cheng, Robert Allinson, Bryan Van Norden, Robin Wang, Rui-ping Fan, You-zheng Li, Robert Neville, Chad Hansen, Qingjie Wang, Bo Mou, Chenyang Li, JeeLoo Liu, Chuang Liu, and Yiu-ming Fung.)




  • 2001. Edited anthology volume Two Roads to Wisdom?: Chinese and Analytic Philosophical Traditions (Chicago, Ill.: Open Court). (Foreword by Donald Davidson; and contributions, all expect of two of which are unpublished pieces written for the volume, from  Nicholas Rescher, Robert Neville, Adam Morton, Lik Kuen Tong, Chung-yin Cheng, Shu-hsien Liu, David Hall, You-zheng Li, Chad Hansen, Kwong-loi Shun, Yiu-ming Fung, Robert Allinson, Ji-yuan Yu & Nicholas Bunnin, Bryan Van Norden, and Bo Mou.)