Students @ SJSUSpartan SquadStudents artwork

Program Philosophy

The forensics program exists to foster life-long learning skills for competitors. This activity should be an enjoyable learning experience. If you win along the way, that's great, but our goal is learning. We don't compete to win, we compete to learn.

Earning Units

Intramural Tournament Spring 2016

If you're a COMM 20 (Public Speaking) student, use your informative and/or persuasive speeches to compete in Platform Speaking for our end of the semester tournament.

Want to test your debating skills? If you are a COMM 40 student, we invite you to compete in Parliamentary Debate.

We've also added a new event for COMM 21 students -- an Oral Interpretation competition.

Intercollegiate Competition

We also field a traveling team that competes intercollegiately. This involves weekend travel to tournaments throughout California, the United States, and occasionally the world - (China, Portugal, Canada, Czech Republic, Argentina, Hungary, Italy and Belgium so far!) Sign up for 191A, 191B, or 191C and earn a unit for every tournament that you attend. For more information, stop by one of our practice sessions (Tues. or Thurs. 3:00-5:30 in HGH 219 or drop by our office HGH 214).


Too busy to travel? Make a difference, be a judge. We offer:

  • COMM 91J Online Judge Training
    • 1 unit credit/no credit
    • Learn to judge competitive speaking events.
  • COMM 191J Judging
    • 1 unit credit/no credit (up to 3 units)
    • Online refresher and judge at the Intramural Tournament

Forensics Updates

Fall Intramural Tournament Winners

Informative Speaking

34 competitors

1st place - Jamila Ekukpe

2nd place - Haregua Belay

3rd place - Folasade Ogunbanwo

Finalists - Linda Nguyen, Eric Haynes, Raymond Lenh

Persuasive Speaking

33 competitors

1st place - Shail Parikj

2nd place - Junia Ikeh

3rd place - Patricia Feregrino

Finalists - Aris Koumis, John Trieu, Folasade Ogunbanwo

Oral Interpretation Performances

10 competitors

1st place - Jenay Jauregui

2nd place - Phillip Mosher

3rd place - Folasade Ogunbanwo

Parliamentary Debate

110 competitors

1st place teams - Shaelene Sager & John McCurry Schmidt, Vanessa Elgohary & Cara Robinson, Emily Valine & Raymond Gevorkian, Andrew Lee & Khoa Bui, Brianna Fischer & Nick Asfaw

2nd place teams - Anthony Paratore & Andy Linhares, Boronsin Jabraeili & Nate Scovill, Tyler Moore & Peter Reyes, Danielle Ogier & Simon Ankirsky, Audrey Marshall & Amy Komatsu

1st place speaker - Raymond Gevorkian

2nd place speaker - Shaelene Sager

3rd place speaker - John McCurry Schmidt

4th place speaker - Christopher Lee

5th place speaker - Carlee Johnson