Global Spartan Welcome

Global Spartan Welcome

Welcome to our #GlobalSpartan community!

In addition to the campus orientation program (Sparta Camp for first years, Spartan Experience for Transfers, or Graduate Student Welcome Conference), all new international students must attend a special Global Spartan Welcome program with International Student & Scholar Services (ISSS). The Global Spartan Welcome is designed just for international students, and covers immigration and cultural topics to help prepare you for your transition to university life in the U.S. 

There is no fee to attend Global Spartan Welcome.

What will you do at Global Spartan Welcome (GSW)?

  • Learn important information about your visa status
  • Meet your International Student Advisors and staff who are here to support you
  • Discover ways to engage with our Global Spartan Community virtually

Spring 2021 GSW Program Dates

All Spring 2021 GSW programs will be held remotely via Zoom webinar. Please register in order to receive access to the session.

Undergraduate Program

Register for this program if you are an F-1 undergraduate student who will be physically present in the United States for spring 2021.

Thursday, January 21, 2021 | 10:00-11:30 AM (PST) 

This session will be immediately followed by an optional small group question and answer session with an international student advisor. Global Leaders will also be on hand to answer questions about student life. Link will be provided at the end of your GSW program.

Graduate Student Program (for Masters level students)

Register for this program if you are an F-1 graduate student who will be physically present in the United States for spring 2021.

Friday, January 22, 2021 | 10:00-11:30 AM (PST)

This session will be immediately followed by an optional small group question and answer session with an international student advisor. Global Leaders will also be on hand to answer questions about student life. Link will be provided at the end of your GSW program.

Special Sessions for Students Abroad

Are you starting your program from your home country? If so, register for one of the following sessions and note the different time zones:

Session 1: Wednesday, January 20, 2021 | 7:00-8:00 AM (PST)
                Wednesday, January 20, 2021 | 8:30-9:30 PM (India)

                Wednesday, January 20, 2021 | 11:00 PM-Midnight (China)

Session 2: Thursday, January 21, 2021 | 7:00-8:00 PM (PST)
                Friday, January 22, 2021 | 8:30-9:30 AM (India)

                Friday, January 22, 2021 | 11:00 AM-12:00 Noon (China)

 

Questions regarding Global Spartan Welcome? Contact isss-programs@sjsu.edu.