Faculty and Staff

For students seeking major advising, please visit our Academic Advising page to connect with your assigned major advisor.

 


You can search for a specific faculty member within your browser by using the following keyboard shortcuts:

  • Windows: Control + F 
  • Mac: Command + F

then type in keywords or the faculty name to jump to that location on the page.

 


 

Department of Justice Studies

Office Hours


 

MacQuarrie Hall

Department of Justice Studies
MacQuarrie Hall 524
Main: 408-924-2931 
Fax:   408-924-2953
Zip:   0050
justice-studies@sjsu.edu

 

 

 


 

Department Chair

Office Hours


 

Paul Knepper

Paul Knepper, Ph.D.
MH 524A
408-924-1350
paul.knepper@sjsu.edu

In person advising M/W 10:00-12:00. Zoom office hours TBA.

 


 

Staff

 

 

Laura Plunkett

Laura Plunkett
Resource Analyst
MH 524B
408-924-2951
laura.plunkett@sjsu.edu



Carol Santos

Carol Santos
Administrative Support Coordinator
MH 524
408-924-2180 (Please contact via email.)
carol.santos@sjsu.edu

 
Spartan

Charisse Armstrong
Office Assistant
MH 524
408-924-2931
charisse.armstrong@sjsu.edu

 
 

JS Student Assistant-TBA
Office Assistant
MH 524
408-924-2931


 

 

Faculty

Office Hours


 

Roni Abusaad

Roni Abusaad, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5337
roni.abusaad@sjsu.edu

 

T 5:00pm-6:00pm Zoom

Ericka Adams

Ericka Adams, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator
MH 527
408-476-7626
ericka.adams@sjsu.edu

 

JS223 Students: T 1:00-3:00

Graduate Advising: M 1:00-3:00, Th 4:00-6:00 by appointment only.                                Zoom

 

Tom Arnold, CISSP, ISSMP, CFS, CISA, GCFE-GOLD, GBFA                            Lecturer

M/W 12:30-1:30, upstairs in Student Union or T by appointment.

Yoko Baba

Yoko Baba, Ph.D.
Professor
MH 528
408-924-5334
yoko.baba@sjsu.edu

 

Th 4:00-5:00 Zoom

Mark Barash

Mark Barash, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Forensic Science Coordinator
HB 216
408-924-5513
mark.barash@sjsu.edu

 

M 11:00-12:00, W 4:00-6:00, Th 3:00-6:00     Zoom

Natalie Birthelmer

Natalie Birthelmer, M.A.
Lecturer
HB 125
408-924-2753
natalie.birthelmer@sjsu.edu

 

T 9:30-11:30. Email for Zoom invite.

Shawna Bolton

Shawna Bolton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Forensic Science Coordinator
HB 210A
408-924-8974
shawna.bolton@sjsu.edu

 

M/W 12:00-1:00 or by appointment.  Zoom

Alessandro De Giorgi

Alessandro De Giorgi, Ph.D.
Professor
Undergraduate Coordinator
MH 508B
408-924-2967
alessandro.degiorgi@sjsu.edu

 

T/TH 2:00-4:00 (online only), F 4:00-5:00 (by appointment only)  ZOOM

 

Joseph Di Salvo

Joseph Di Salvo, M.A.
Lecturer
HB 125
408-924-2745
joseph.disalvo@sjsu.edu

 

T 1:45-2:15, Th 3:30-4:00 all office hours in person.

 

Jeremiah Garrido

Jeremiah Garrido, B.S.
Lecturer
HB 207
408-924-7285
jeremiah.garrido@sjsu.edu

 

Professor Garrido will not be teaching for the Fall 2021 semester.

Sambuddha Ghatak

Sambuddha Ghatak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Human Rights Coordinator
MH 525B
408-924-1836
sambuddha.ghatak@sjsu.edu

 

M/T 3:00-4:00 Zoom

John Halushka

John Halushka, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Internship Coordinator
International Experience Coordinator
MH 511
408-924-1311
john.halushka@sjsu.edu

 

M,T & W 1:00-3:00 or by appointment. Zoom

 

Professor Mark Hartunian

Mark L. Hartunian, J.D.
Lecturer
mark.hartunian@sjsu.edu



Thursdays-in person, one hour before class and one hour after class.

Chris Hebert

Chris Hebert, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
408-924-1363
chris.hebert@sjsu.edu


Dr. Hebert will not be advising for Fall 2021.

Grace Howard

Grace Howard, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
MH 513
408-924-6820
grace.howard@sjsu.edu

 

T 11:00-1:30  Zoom

Professor Mary Juno

 

Mary Juno, MSc.
Senior Lecturer
Forensic Studies Minor Coordinator
HB 127
408-924-2956
mary.juno@sjsu.edu

(Mary Juno holding a model of a modern forensic skull.)

W 10:00-12:00 Zoom

Dina Kameda

Dina Kameda, M.S., M.A.
Senior Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2750
dina.kameda@sjsu.edu

 

T/Th 11:15-12:15 (drop-in with a virtual waiting room) or by appointment as needed. Zoom

 

Halima Kazem

Halima Kazem, B.S., M.A
Lecturer
DBH 215
408-924-3288
halima.kazem@sjsu.edu

 

Professor Kazem will not be teaching for the Fall 2021 semester.

 

Sang Hea Kil

Sang Hea Kil, Ph.D.
Professor
MH 512
408-924-2943
sang.kil@sjsu.edu

 

Dr. Kil will not be advising for the Fall 2021 semester.

 

Edith Kinney

Edith Kinney, J.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Legal Studies Coordinator
MH 525A
408-924-2946
edith.kinney@sjsu.edu

 

M 1:00-3:00

Link to calendar

Zoom

Spartan

Eric Kwong, M.S.
Lecturer
408-924-2947
eric.kwong@sjsu.edu


See after class or by appointment.

 

Steven Lee

Steven Lee, Ph.D.
Professor
Online
408-924-2948
steven.lee@sjsu.edu

 

F 8:00am-9:00am Zoom

Maureen Lowell

Maureen Lowell, M.A.
Senior Lecturer
Online
408-924-3209
maureen.lowell@sjsu.edu

 

TH 9:00-10:30 or by appointment. Zoom

 

Kevin Lynch

Kevin Lynch, M.A.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-3268
kevin.lynch@sjsu.edu

 

T 10:00-12:00 Zoom

 

Allison Martin

Allison Martin, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Online
allison.martin@sjsu.edu

 

T 9:00-10:00 or by appointment.Zoom


 

Sheree Martinek

Sheree Martinek, M.S.
Lecturer
HB 123
408-924-8976
sheree.martinek@sjsu.edu

 

W 12:00-1:30 Zoom

 

Virginia Montelongo

Virginia Montelongo, M.S.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2194
virginia.montelongo@sjsu.edu

 

T 8:00-9:00 Zoom

 

Stephen Morewitz

Stephen Morewitz, Ph.D.
Lecturer
BT 237A
409-924-5365
stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu

 

M 11:00-12:00 Zoom

Spartan Head

Laurence Pedroni, M.S.
Lecturer
Online
laurence.pedroni@sjsu.edu

 

Fall 2021
TBA

Harold Peterson

Harold Peterson, J.D.
Senior Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2754
harold.peterson@sjsu.edu

 

T/Th 1:00-2:00Zoom

 

Judith Randall

Judith Randle, J.D., Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-8126
judith.randle@sjsu.edu

 

T/Th 10:00-11:00 via Zoom

 

Susie Rivera

Susie Rivera, M.S., J.D.
Senior Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2755
susie.rivera@sjsu.edu

 

Fall 2021
TBA

 

Jackson Sargent

Jackson Sargent, M.P.A.
Lecturer
Online
jackson.sargent@sjsu.edu

 

 

F 1:00-2:00 or by appointment. Zoom

 

Spartan

Megan Schlegel, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Online
megan.schlegel@sjsu.edu

 

F 12:00-2:00 or by appointment. Office hours will be conducted via Google hangouts using your sjsu.edu address.

 

Margaret "Peggy" Stevenson

Margaret "Peggy" Stevenson, J.D.
Record Clearance Project Director
MH 521
408-924-2758
margaret.stevenson@sjsu.edu

 

T/Th 1:00-2:00 in the RCP Office located in Student Services Center/10th Street Parking Garage. Or you may contact for appointment.

 

Elizabeth Pacheco Tejada

Elizabeth Tejada, J.D.
Lecturer
HB 125
408-924-5409
elizabeth.pacheco@sjsu.edu

 

Fall 2021
TBA

Spartan

Janella Tolbert, M.S.
Lecturer
408-924-2328
janella.tolbert@sjsu.edu

 

Professor Tolbert will not be teaching for the Fall 2021 semester.

Michael Vallerga

Michael Vallerga, M.A.
Senior Lecturer
MH 528
408-924-2958
michael.vallerga@sjsu.edu

 

T/Th 9:15-10:15 Zoom

 

undefined

Rosa Vega, M.S.
Lecturer




Fall 2021
TBA

 

Claudio Vera Sanchez

Claudio Vera Sanchez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Programs Coordinator
claudio.verasanchez@sjsu.edu

 

Mondays 3:00-5:00, Tuesdays 3:00-5:00, Thursdays 2:00-4:00

Zoom

 

 

Jodie Warren

Jodie Warren, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
HB 214
408-924-8451
jodie.warren@sjsu.edu

 

Tuesdays from 1:00-2:00 & 3:45-4:45 or by appointment.  Zoom

 

Bryce Westlake

Bryce Westlake, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
HB 210B
408-924-2743
bryce.westlake@sjsu.edu

 

M 7:00pm-9:00pm, W 2:00pm-4:00pm & Sat 4:00pm-6:00pm  

Zoom     

Link to make appointment.

 

Greg Woods

Greg Woods, J.D.
Senior Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-1840
greg.woods@sjsu.edu

 

Th 11:30-1:30 via Zoom. W in person by appoint only. Please email for appointment.

 

Yue "Wilson" Yuan

Yue "Wilson" Yuan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
MH 529
408-924-2968
wilson.yuan@sjsu.edu

 

Th/F 3:00-4:00  Zoom

 

Gil Zamora

Gil Zamora, M.A.
Lecturer
Online
gil.zamora@sjsu.edu

M 9:00-10:30.  Click here for details and zoom links by class.