Faculty and Staff

For students seeking major advising, please visit our Academic Advising page to connect with your assigned major advisor.

 


You can search for a specific faculty member within your browser by using the following keyboard shortcuts:

  • Windows: Control + F 
  • Mac: Command + F

then type in keywords or the faculty name to jump to that location on the page.

 


 

Department of Justice Studies

Office Hours


 

MacQuarrie Hall

Department of Justice Studies
MacQuarrie Hall 524
Main: 408-924-2931 
Fax:   408-924-2953
Zip:   0050
justice-studies@sjsu.edu

Online (ZOOM info)
Monday - Friday:
10:00 am - 12:00 pm

 

 


 

Department Chair

Office Hours


 

Paul Knepper

Paul Knepper, Ph.D.
MH 524A
408-924-1350
paul.knepper@sjsu.edu

Spring 2021
Tuesdays 1:00-2:00 via ZOOM.

Thursdays 11:00-12:00 via ZOOM.

 


 

Staff

 

 

Laura Plunkett

Laura Plunkett
Resource Analyst
MH 524B
408-924-2951
laura.plunkett@sjsu.edu



Carol Santos

Carol Santos
Administrative Support Coordinator
MH 524
408-924-2180 (Please contact via email.)
carol.santos@sjsu.edu

 
Spartan

Remy Bogdanovich
Office Assistant
MH 524
408-924-2931
remy.bogdanovich@sjsu.edu

 
Vasquez Irvin

Irvin Vasquez
Office Assistant
MH 524
408-924-2931
irvin.vasquez@sjsu.edu

 

 

Faculty

Office Hours


 

Roni Abusaad

Roni Abusaad, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5337
roni.abusaad@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesdays and Wednesdays
5-6pm and by appointment

ZOOM Link
Password: 283014

Ericka Adams

Ericka Adams, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Graduate Coordinator
MH 527
408-476-7626
ericka.adams@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Dr. Adams' Students: Mondays 12:30-2:30 via ZOOM.

Graduate Advising: Wednesdays 12:30-2:30 via ZOOM and Thursdays 12:30-2:30 by appointment. Please email for Thursday appointment.

Yoko Baba

Yoko Baba, Ph.D.
Professor
MH 528
408-924-5334
yoko.baba@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Thursdays 3:00-4:00 via ZOOM (Password 386673)

Mark Barash

Mark Barash, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Forensic Science Coordinator
HB 216
408-924-5513
mark.barash@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday 11:00-12:00, Tuesday 10:00-11:00, Thursday 3:00-5:00 via ZOOM 

Natalie Birthelmer

Natalie Birthelmer, M.A.
Lecturer
HB 125
408-924-2753
natalie.birthelmer@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesdays 9:30-11:30 via ZOOM

Shawna Bolton

Shawna Bolton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Forensic Science Coordinator
HB 210A
408-924-8974
shawna.bolton@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Wednesday 11:00-12:00 & 4:00-5:00, Tuesday 9:30-11:30 via ZOOM

 

Alessandro De Giorgi

Alessandro De Giorgi, Ph.D.
Professor,
Undergraduate Coordinator
MH 508B
408-924-2967
alessandro.degiorgi@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday/Thursday 9:00-11:00 via ZOOM and Fridays 4:00-6:00 by appointment.

Joseph Di Salvo

Joseph Di Salvo, M.A.
Lecturer
HB 125
408-924-2745
joseph.disalvo@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday/Thursday before or after class or by appointment.

 

Jeremiah Garrido

Jeremiah Garrido, B.S.
Lecturer
HB 207
408-924-7285
jeremiah.garrido@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Tuesday 8:00pm-9:00pm via ZOOM

Sambuddha Ghatak

Sambuddha Ghatak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Human Rights Coordinator
MH 525B
408-924-1836
sambuddha.ghatak@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Wednesday 3:00-4:00 via ZOOM or by appointment.

John Halushka

John Halushka, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Internship Coordinator,
International Experience Coordinator
MH 511
408-924-1311
john.halushka@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Tuesday 2:00-4:00 via ZOOM

 

Professor Mark Hartunian

Mark L. Hartunian, J.D.
Lecturer
mark.hartunian@sjsu.edu



Spring 2021
Thursdays after class on class zoom session. Or see syllabus for phone number.

Chris Hebert

Chris Hebert, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
408-924-1363
chris.hebert@sjsu.edu


Spring 2021
Monday/Tuesday 12:00-1:00 viz ZOOM.

Grace Howard

Grace Howard, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
MH 513
408-924-6820
grace.howard@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday/Thursday 1:30-2:30, Wednesday 2:00-3:00 via ZOOM 

Mary Juno

Mary Juno, M.S.
Lecturer,
Forensic Studies Minor Coordinator
HB 127
408-924-2956
mary.juno@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Wednesdays 10:00-12:00 via ZOOM

Dina Kameda

Dina Kameda, M.S., M.A.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2750
dina.kameda@sjsu.edu

 



Spring 2021
Monday/Wednesday 1:00-2:00 via ZOOM 


Halima Kazem

Halima Kazem, B.S., M.A
Lecturer
DBH 215
408-924-3288
halima.kazem@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
TBA

 

Sang Hea Kil

Sang Hea Kil, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
MH 512
408-924-2943
sang.kil@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Thursday 12:00-2:00 by appointment.

 

Edith Kinney

Edith Kinney, J.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Legal Studies Coordinator
MH 525A
408-924-946
edith.kinney@sjsu.edu

 

Dr. Kinney will be on sabbatical for the Spring 2021 semester.

Spartan

Eric Kwong, M.S.
Lecturer
408-924-2947
eric.kwong@sjsu.edu


Spring 2021
By appointment only.

 

Steven Lee

Steven Lee, Ph.D.
Professor
Online
408-924-2948
steven.lee@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Fridays 8:00-9:00 via ZOOM. Please email for appointment.

Maureen Lowell

Maureen Lowell, M.A.
Lecturer
Online
408-924-3209
maureen.lowell@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Thursdays 10:00-11:00 via ZOOM (Password: Hope4Peace) or by appointment.

 

Kevin Lynch

Kevin Lynch, M.A.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-3268
kevin.lynch@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday/Thursday 1:30-2:30 via ZOOM

 

Allison Martin

Allison Martin, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Online
allison.martin@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesdays 9:00-10:00 via ZOOM or email for an appointment.


 

Sheree Martinek

Sheree Martinek, M.S.
Lecturer
HB 123
408-924-8976
sheree.martinek@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Wednesdays 12:00-2:45 via ZOOM

 

Virginia Montelongo

Virginia Montelongo, M.S.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2194
virginia.montelongo@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday 9:00-10:00 via ZOOM

 

Stephen Morewitz

Stephen Morewitz, Ph.D.
Lecturer
BT 237A
409-924-5365
stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesdays 5:45-7:15 via ZOOM.

Spartan Head

Laurence Pedroni, M.S.
Lecturer
Online
laurence.pedroni@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Mondays 11:00-12:30 via ZOOM

Harold Peterson

Harold Peterson, J.D.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2754
harold.peterson@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday/Thursday 12:00-1:00 via ZOOM

 

Judith Randall

Judith Randle, J.D., Ph.D.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-8126
judith.randle@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Wednesday 11:00-12:00 via ZOOM

 

Susie Rivera

Susie Rivera, M.S., J.D.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-2755
susie.rivera@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Wednesday 7:30pm-8:30pm via ZOOM and by appointment.

 

Jackson Sargent

Jackson Sargent, M.P.A.
Lecturer
Online
jackson.sargent@sjsu.edu

 

 

Spring 2021
Fridays 9:00-11:00 via ZOOM. Please email for appointment.

 

Spartan

Megan Schlegel, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Online
megan.schlegel@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Friday 12:00-2:00. Contact via email for info on ZOOM and Google Hangout appointments.

 

Margaret "Peggy" Stevenson

Margaret "Peggy" Stevenson, J.D.
Lecturer,
Record Clearance Project Director
MH 521
408-924-2758
margaret.stevenson@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Tuesday/Thursday 10:30-11:30 via ZOOM or by appointment.

 

Elizabeth Pacheco Tejada

Elizabeth Tejada, J.D.
Lecturer
HB 125
408-924-5409
elizabeth.pacheco@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
TBA 

Spartan

Janella Tolbert, M.S.
Lecturer
408-924-2328
janella.tolbert@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Thursday 1:30-3:30 via ZOOM

Michael Vallerga

Michael Vallerga, M.A.
Lecturer
MH 528
408-924-2958
michael.vallerga@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Mondays 2:00-3:00 and Fridays 12:00-1:00 via ZOOM

 

undefined

Rosa Vega, M.S.
Lecturer




Spring 2021
Thursdays 5:00-6:00 via ZOOM

 

Claudio Vera Sanchez

Claudio Vera Sanchez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Programs Coordinator
claudio.verasanchez@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday  12:30-2:30 via ZOOM

Jodie Warren

Jodie Warren, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
HB 214
408-924-8451
jodie.warren@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Mondays 11:00-1:00 via ZOOM or by appointment.

 

Bryce Westlake

Bryce Westlake, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
HB 210B
408-924-2743
bryce.westlake@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Mondays 3:00-5:00 via ZOOM

Greg Woods

Greg Woods, J.D.
Lecturer
MH 508
408-924-1840
greg.woods@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Wednesday 8:00-10:00, 1:30-2:30 via ZOOM or email for appointment.

 

Yue "Wilson" Yuan

Yue "Wilson" Yuan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
MH 529
408-924-2968
wilson.yuan@sjsu.edu

 

Spring 2021
Monday/Tuesday 9:00-10:00 via ZOOM (Password 071760)

 

Gil Zamora

Gil Zamora, M.A.
Lecturer
Online
gil.zamora@sjsu.edu

Spring 2021
Mondays 9:00-10:30 via ZOOM
(Password for Zoom: 162439)