Lin Sao

LinB.A. in Sociology, Sacramento State University
M.A. in Counselor Education, San José State University

 





What's your favorite part of your job?
My favorite part of my job is helping students and guiding them in achieving their college degree. I love connecting with students and hearing all about their hopes, dreams and career goals. It makes me so happy when I see students persist and are proactive about their education.

What advice do you have for SJSU Spartan Undergraduates? 
I highly recommend joining a club or organization on campus, obtaining several internships, and continually pushing yourself outside of your comfort zone. Lastly, study abroad! There are few times in life where you can be gone for four months to a year to live in a different country, so take advantage of this opportunity! Your college experience is what you make of it, so make it an amazing one according to you.

What's the most unusual job you've ever had?
I don't think I've had an unusual job, but I've had an unusual number of jobs. I think I've had about 20 jobs already which range from working as an office assistant in a social work center, teacher's aide for a center working with disabled children, tutor for a homework club, waiter at HomeTown Buffet, cashier at Target and Burlington Coat Factory, bank teller, sales associate at Hollister, customer service rep. in call centers for prescription drug plans, medical billing, and cable boxes, to working in different positions in seven depts. at SJSU to name a few. I have so many interests and can't wait to look back on what I've dabbled in when I'm 90 and drinking watermelon juice on my front porch.

About me (likes and hobbies)
I love traveling and exploring this huge planet, going on adventures and planning my next one, spending quality time with my loved ones, cooking, eating ice cream, wine tasting, hiking, bike riding, writing Yelp reviews, and watching basketball. I love the Golden State Warriors, Oprah Winfrey, and Ellen DeGeneres. My favorite countries I've visited are Thailand and Italy. One of my dreams in life is to go gallivanting all over Europe.