Department Scholarships

Information about 2021 applications for department scholarships will be posted in early spring 2021. 

American Council of Engineering Companies Scholarships -- applications due 1/13/21 

COE Scholarships Page

Check the College of Engineering scholarship website for details about internal and external scholarships that are available. Internal scholarships mostly have due dates in the spring. Extenral scholarshops have a variety of deadlines.

Undergrads: Nordson BUILDS Scholarship Program Applications Open!

Students seeking bachelor’s degrees must have at least 3.0 cumulative GPA. The scholarships range from $2,000 to $10,000 and scholarship recipients get exclusive access to internship and employment opportunities after graduation. Learn more about the program and apply at their website. The application deadline is May 15 of each year. 


2020 Scholarship Recipients

Click here for the list of 2020 Scholarship Recipients. 


Former Scholarship Recipients

Click here for a list of former Scholarship Recipients.  


Scholarship Founders

Philip M. Blair

Philip Blair served as a San José State University faculty member from 1957 to 1978. The Philip M. Blair Memorial Education Award was established by the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 1981.

S. Brooks Walton

S. Brooks Walton was San José State University's very first engineering faculty member, hired in 1946. He was responsible for developing the Engineering Department's first courses in mechanical engineering, and was instrumental in establishing the Mechanical Engineering Department, which he chaired from 1958 to 1961.

The S. Brooks Walton Scholarship Award for ME graduate of the year was established in 1981 to recognize the outstanding graduate-of-the-year in the Mechanical Engineering program. $500 is awarded to an outstanding Mechanical Engineering graduate, as nominated and selected by ME faculty.

The S. Brooks Walton Scholarship Awards were established in 1981 to recognize two deserving and promising students in Mechanical Engineering.

David A. Brown

David Brown is an alumnus of San José State University and among his distinctions is the founding of Quantum Corporation, a disk drive manufacturing company.

The David Brown Fellowship in Mechatronics was established in 1996 to promote the professional development of the recipient in the area of Mechatronics, and to advance the development of the Mechatronics program at San José State University. The recipient of the $2000 award is expected to contribute to mechatronics laboratory development and laboratory instruction during the fellowship year.

Francis Huang

Francis Huang was a professor of Mechanical Engineering at San José State University from 1958 to1991, and served as department chair from 1973 to 1981. He is also an alumnus of SJSU, having earned his BS in Production Engineering from SJSU in 1951 followed by earning an MSME in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University in 1952 and a Professional Mechanical Engineering degree from Columbia University in 1964. Prof. Huang worked as a Design and Production Engineer for the M. W. Kellogg Company from 1952 to 1958 before joining the faculty at SJSU.

The Francis Huang Memorial Scholarship in Engineering was established by his family in 2004, to provide a $500 scholarship for undergraduate or graduate students majoring in Mechanical Engineering or Aerospace Engineering.

Donald Myronuk

Donald Myronuk was a faculty member at San José State University from 1969 to 1992.   He earned his BS and MA degrees from Queens University and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Illinois. Among his unique areas of expertise were forensics engineering and accident reconstruction.

The Donald Myronuk Memorial Scholarship Award was established by his family and friends in 2004 to provide $500 in educational support to a deserving and promising student who a junior, senior, or graduate student who is majoring in Mechanical Engineering and is a member of Pi Tau Sigma.


Andrew Lau-Seim