Dr. Daniel Wyman

Daniel Wyman

Office: MUS
Phone: (408) 924-46

Dr. Daniel Wyman teaches film scoring. A native of Los Angeles, he studied composition, music history, and film scoring at the University of Southern California. His principal instructors include Fredrick Lesemann, Ingolf Dahl, and David Raksin. After graduate studies and work with electronic music pioneer, Paul Beaver, Dr. Wyman began composing for movies by joining producer and director John Carpenter to create the music for Assault on Precinct 13, The Fog, and the original Halloween. As a co-founder of the electronic music recording studio, Sound Arts, Dr. Wyman created numerous sound tracks as electronic orchestrator and sound designer. Included in these productions are National Geographic Specials along with credits in Missing, Apocalypse Now, Close But Free, Delusion, Fade to Black, the Broadway musical Baby, and the Darkroom television series (ABC TV). He has created music for the Ice Capades, commercials from Timex to Blue Cross, and electronic programming for numerous hit recordings by Earth Wind and Fire, Donna Summers, Barbra Streisand, The Beach Boys, Diana Ross, Black Sabbath, Little Feat, Devo, Angel, and many more. Dr. Wyman's feature film composition credits include The Return, Hellnight, Without Warning, Metamorphosis, and The Lawnmower Man.

Dr. Wyman has written concert music for various ensembles and electro-acoustic combinations, including chamber concertos for viola and bassoon. He has had commissions from the Stuttgart Days for New Music, Musik der Jahrhundert Festivals, San José Dance Theatre, San José Chamber Orchestra, and the Times Square Music Ensemble. In co-production with saxophonist William Trimble, he has released a CD entitled Duo for Saxophone and Composer, available through X-Dot 25 recordings or Gnorble Music.

Since 1988, Dr. Wyman and his wife, Dr. Marilyn Wyman (professor, Art History, SJSU), have pursued studies and projects focusing on the arts in South Africa. They have worked with the University of Natal, Durban; the University of Durban, Westville; and the Trade Union Research Projects.