Faculty and Staff

The Occupational Therapy Department faculty are excellent teachers, experienced clinicians, and nationally recognized leaders and scholars in the profession.

All of the faculty members are occupational therapists with advanced degrees, diverse backgrounds, specializations, interests and expertise including : physical and mental health rehabilitation, pediatrics, community mental health, gerontology, independent living skills, measurement and research, international occupational therapy, multicultural issues, the history of occupational therapy, kinesiology, infant and family mental health, psychogeriatrics, family-centered intervention, neurological rehabilitation, the social inclusion of children, job analysis, the uses of therapeutic humor, and health promotion.

OT faculty group photo in 2019

The Occupational Therapy Department is excited to announce two additional faculty members received the prestigious honor of Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Award (FAOTA)!

              photo of two faculty FAOTA awardees
Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association (FAOTA)
ROSTER OF FELLOWS (Est. 1973) recognizes occupational therapists who through their knowledge, expertise, leadership, advocacy, and/or guidance have made a significant contribution over time to the profession with a measured impact on consumers of occupational therapy services and/or members of the Association.
There are currently over 60,000 AOTA members and fewer than 300 have been honored with this award since 2010!
The following SJSU Occupational Therapy faculty have met the rigorous requirements and will be awarded their FAOTA credential:
   Luis de Leon Arabit OTD, MS, OTR/L, BCPR, C/NDT, Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy will be recognized as an “Occupational Therapy Expert Clinician, Leader, and Advocate”
   Megan C. Chang PhD, OTR/L, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy will be recognized for “Supporting the Profession Through Evidence-based Practice”.
Dr. Arabit & Dr. Chang join the current Occupational Therapy faculty who have also been honored with this prestigious award:
Dr. Deborah Bolding, Dr. Heidi Pendleton, Dr. Gigi Smith and Dr. Winifred Schultz-Krohn
Previous Occupational Therapy faculty also awarded this honor include:
Dr. Marti Southam, Dr. Kay Schwartz, Dr. Anne MacRae and Dr. Pamela Richardson




Graduate & Undergraduate


  • Name:  Gigi Smith
  • Location: CCB 207
  • Phone: 408.924.3094


Quick Reference

Name Office Phone Email
Andonian, Lynne CCB 208 408.924.3059 Lynne.Andonian@sjsu.edu
Arabit, Luis CCB 111 408.924.3077 Luis.Arabit@sjsu.edu
Arada, Cesar CCB 220 408.924.3078 Cesar.Arada@sjsu.edu
Bailey, Peter CCB 111 408.924.3851 Peter.Bailey@sjsu.edu
Boitano, Courtney CCB 104 408.924.3150 Courtney.Boitano@sjsu.edu
Bolding, Deborah CCB 113 408.924.3038 Deborah.Bolding@sjsu.edu
Chang, Megan HB 232 408.924.3075 Megan.Chang@sjsu.edu
Chio, Choi CCB 111 408.924.3090 Choi.Chio@sjsu.edu
Fang, Chiao-Ju HB 233 408.924.3085 Chiao-Ju.Fang@sjsu.edu
George, Alison CCB 208 408.924.3095 Alison.George@sjsu.edu
Glogoski, Carolyn CCB 207 408.924.3087 Carolyn.Glogoski@sjsu.edu
Haworth, Christine CCB 104 408.924.2911 Christine.Haworth@sjsu.edu
Kaye, Melisa CCB 113 408.924.3073 Melisa.Kaye@sjsu.edu
Koketsu, Jean CCB 104 408.924.3119 Jean.Koketsu@sjsu.edu
Long, Katrina CCB 111 408.924.3139 Katrina.Long@sjsu.edu
McLaughlin, Rochelle CCB 104 408.924.3089 Rochelle.Mclaughlin@sjsu.edu
Pendleton, Heidi McHugh CCB 112 408.924.3083 Heidi.Pendleton@sjsu.edu
Pickett, Karen CCB 207 408.924.3201 Karen.Pickett@sjsu.edu
Richardson, Pamela MH 431 408.924.2900 Pamela.Richardson@sjsu.edu
Schultz-Krohn, Winifred CCB 206 408.924.3070 Winifred.Schultz-Krohn@sjsu.edu
Smith, Gigi CCB 204 408.924.3081 Gigi.Smith@sjsu.edu
Sullivan, Moira CCB 111 408.924.3188 Moira.Sullivan@sjsu.edu
Teaford, Graham CCB 104 408.924.3335 Graham.Teaford@sjsu.edu
Tipton-Burton, Michelle CCB 112 408.924.3696 Michelle.Tipton-Burton@sjsu.edu


Emeritus/Emerita Faculty      
Burton, Gordon     Gordon.Burton@sjsu.edu
Cara, Elizabeth     Elizabeth.Cara@sjsu.edu
Killingsworth, Amy     Amy.Killingsworth@sjsu.edu
Llorens, Lela A. W.      
MacRae, Anne     Anne.Macrae@sjsu.edu 
Pedretti, Lorraine      
Schwartz, Kathleen Barker     Kathleen.Schwartz@sjsu.edu
Serrett, Karen Diasio      
Southam, Marti     Marti.Southam@sjsu.edu
Fanfa-Sullivan, Catherine CCB 205 408.924.3079 Catherine.FanfaSullivan@sjsu.edu
Sara Villarreal CCB 203 408.924.3071 Sara.Villarreal@sjsu.edu
Ocampo, Vicky CCB 212 408.924.3086 Vicky.Ocampo@sjsu.edu