Faculty and Staff

The Occupational Therapy Department faculty are excellent teachers, experienced clinicians, and nationally recognized leaders and scholars in the profession.

All of the faculty members are occupational therapists with advanced degrees, diverse backgrounds, specializations, interests and expertise including : physical and mental health rehabilitation, pediatrics, community mental health, gerontology, independent living skills, measurement and research, international occupational therapy, multicultural issues, the history of occupational therapy, kinesiology, infant and family mental health, psychogeriatrics, family-centered intervention, neurological rehabilitation, the social inclusion of children, job analysis, the uses of therapeutic humor, and health promotion.

OT faculty group photo in 2019


In Memoriam - Dr. Anne MacRae

A message from our current Chair, Dr. Gigi Smith 

photo of Anne MacRae_in memoriam_2
It is with deep sadness that I share with you the loss of our beloved colleague, mentor, teacher, and friend, Dr. Anne Macrae, who passed away peacefully on Sunday, May 23rd. She was in her home, surrounded by her family who held her close with their love. 

Dr. Macrae was a member of the SJSU faculty for over 30 years. She was the director of the post-professional master’s program and supervisor of the psychosocial occupational therapy clinic for more than 20 years. Anne was a gifted and well-respected instructor and a mentor to many who went on to work in the area of mental health. In 1997, she received the prestigious Fulbright Scholarship and as a Fulbright Fellow she taught and provided curriculum consultation at the University of Malta. Anne developed a deep love for Malta and would return there many times over the years to work with the occupational therapists at the University and through the Malta Mental Health Service.  

Dr. Macrae has many publications to her credit and co-edited 4 editions of the internationally recognized textbook, Psychosocial Occupational Therapy: An Evolving Practice. She was in the process of completing the 5th edition at the time of her passing.

Dr. Macrae received many recognitions and honors during her long career as an occupational therapist and scholar. Most recently she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Occupational Therapy Association of California for her service and dedication to the profession.

Anne will be deeply missed by the many people whose lives she has touched. 
(Below is a video of Dr. MacRae's video montage made for her 2015 retirement celebration.)


Faculty Awards and Honors

The Occupational Therapy Department is excited to announce the awards and honor garnered by our faculty members at the recent Occupational Therapy Association of California (OTAC) Conference (October 8 - 11, 2020)!

  • Department Chair and the Vice President of OTAC, Dr. Gigi Smith, was awarded the 2020 OTAC Outstanding Service Award

    photo of Gigi Smith

    The OTAC Outstanding Service Award recognizes practitioners who have sustained service in elected or appointed positional locally, statewide and nationally and have participated in special projects/tasks locally and statewide or nationally.

  • Our former Department Chair, Dr. Winifred Schultz-Krohn, was awarded the 2020 OTAC Lifetime Achievement Award
    photo of Wynn Schultz-Krohn

    The OTAC Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes practitioners who have a minimum of 20 years of OT practice with the last 5 in CA; has had significant contributions to OT advancement in education, OTAC activities,practice, community involvement, legislation or research; and publications and/or oral presentations.

  • Dr. Luis Arabit is the 2020 California Foundation of Occupational Therapy (CFOT) Honored Lecturer and spoke on "Advocacy, Diversity and Inclusion in Occupational Therapy: An Evolutionary Process".
    photo of Luis Arabit

    The CFOT Honored Lecturer Award recognizes California occupational therapy practitioners who have demonstrated leadership and promoted ideas and visions in occupational therapy for the profession, and a presentation gives them an opportunity to share their insights and knowledge with the OT community at the CFOT Awards Luncheon and Symposium. 

Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association (FAOTA)
ROSTER OF FELLOWS (Est. 1973) recognizes occupational therapists who through their knowledge, expertise, leadership, advocacy, and/or guidance have made a significant contribution over time to the profession with a measured impact on consumers of occupational therapy services and/or members of the Association.
There are currently over 60,000 AOTA members and fewer than 300 have been honored with this award since 2010!
The following SJSU Occupational Therapy faculty have met the rigorous requirements and has been awarded their FAOTA credential in April 2020:
   Luis de Leon Arabit OTD, MS, OTR/L, BCPR, C/NDT, Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy will be recognized as an “Occupational Therapy Expert Clinician, Leader, and Advocate”
   Megan C. Chang PhD, OTR/L, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy will be recognized for “Supporting the Profession Through Evidence-based Practice”.

Dr. Arabit & Dr. Chang join the current Occupational Therapy faculty who have also been honored with this prestigious award:

Dr. Deborah Bolding Dr. Gigi Smith
Dr. Heidi Pendleton Dr. Winifred Schultz-Krohn


Previous Occupational Therapy faculty also awarded this honor include:

Dr. Marti Southam      Dr. Anne MacRae
Dr. Kay Schwartz   Dr. Pamela Richardson
Dr. Lela Llorens   Dr. Karen Diasio-Serrett

 

 

Department

Chair                                     

  • Name:  Gigi Smith
  • Location: CCB 204
  • Phone: 408.924.3070

Graduate & Undergraduate

Coordinator 

  • Name:  Gigi Smith
  • Location: CCB 204
  • Phone: 408.924.3094

 

Quick Reference

Name Office Phone Email
Andonian, Lynne CCB 208 408.924.3059 Lynne.Andonian@sjsu.edu
Arabit, Luis CCB 111 408.924.3077 Luis.Arabit@sjsu.edu
Arada, Cesar CCB 207 408.924.3078 Cesar.Arada@sjsu.edu
Bailey, Peter CCB 220 408.924.3851 Peter.Bailey@sjsu.edu
Boitano, Courtney CCB 111 408.924.3150 Courtney.Boitano@sjsu.edu
Bolding, Deborah CCB 113 408.924.3038 Deborah.Bolding@sjsu.edu
Chang, Megan HB 232 408.924.3075 Megan.Chang@sjsu.edu
Chio, Choi CCB 111 408.924.3090 Choi.Chio@sjsu.edu
Fang, Chiao-Ju HB 233 408.924.3085 Chiao-Ju.Fang@sjsu.edu
George, Alison CCB 208 408.924.3095 Alison.George@sjsu.edu
Golembeski, Yvonne CCB 220 408.924.3087 Yvonne.Golembeski@sjsu.edu
Haworth, Christine CCB 220 408.924.2911 Christine.Haworth@sjsu.edu
Kaye, Melisa CCB 113 408.924.3073 Melisa.Kaye@sjsu.edu
Koketsu, Jean CCB 220 408.924.3119 Jean.Koketsu@sjsu.edu
Long, Katrina CCB 111 408.924.3139 Katrina.Long@sjsu.edu
McLaughlin, Rochelle CCB 104 408.924.3089 Rochelle.Mclaughlin@sjsu.edu
Pendleton, Heidi McHugh CCB 112 408.924.3083 Heidi.Pendleton@sjsu.edu
Pickett, Karen CCB 220 408.924.3201 Karen.Pickett@sjsu.edu
Richardson, Pamela MH 431 408.924.2900 Pamela.Richardson@sjsu.edu
Schultz-Krohn, Winifred CCB 206 408.924.3081 Winifred.Schultz-Krohn@sjsu.edu
Smith, Gigi CCB 204 408.924.3072 Gigi.Smith@sjsu.edu
Teaford, Graham CCB 104 408.924.3335 Graham.Teaford@sjsu.edu
Tipton-Burton, Michelle CCB 220 408.924.3696 Michelle.Tipton-Burton@sjsu.edu
     

 

Emeritus/Emerita Faculty      
Burton, Gordon     Gordon.Burton@sjsu.edu
Cara, Elizabeth     Elizabeth.Cara@sjsu.edu
Glogoski, Carolyn     Carolyn.Glogoski@sjsu.edu
Killingsworth, Amy     Amy.Killingsworth@sjsu.edu
Llorens, Lela A. W.      
MacRae, Anne      
Pedretti, Lorraine      
Schwartz, Kathleen Barker     Kathleen.Schwartz@sjsu.edu
Serrett, Karen Diasio      
Southam, Marti     Marti.Southam@sjsu.edu
       
Staff      
Fanfa-Sullivan, Catherine CCB 205 408.924.3079 Catherine.FanfaSullivan@sjsu.edu
Sara Villarreal CCB 203 408.924.3071 Sara.Villarreal@sjsu.edu
Ocampo, Vicky CCB 212 408.924.3086 Vicky.Ocampo@sjsu.edu