Don Edwards Lecture Series

James Brent, Professor
Edwards Lecture Series Director

The Don Edwards Lecture series was launched in 1995 by friends and admirers of Congressman Edwards with the goal of enabling students to meet and hear the stories of prominent men and women who have shaped our history. Previous speakers include Hon. Don Edwards, Hon. Norman Mineta, Hon. Leon Panetta, Senator Barbara Boxer, Representative Zoe Lofgren, Mervin Field, Kevin Starr, Erin Brockovich-Ellis, Gloria Steinem and Dolores Huerta, to name a few.

Don Edwards Lectures Speakers 

2019     Senator Jim Beall 
2019     Maya Esparza San Jose City Council, Joseph        Kopser Veteran and Joseph Mantz Veteran
2017     California Supreme Court Chief Justice Tani        Cantil- Sakauye 
2016     Judge Thelton Henderson 
2015     Fomer Congressman George Miller 
2014     Professor Larry Gerston
2013     Former California Governer Gray Davis and        U.S. District Judge Vaughn R. Walker
2012     Former San Jose Mayors Hon. Ron                    Gonzales, Hon. Susan Hammer, Hon. Janet        Gray - Hayes, Hon. Chuck Reed
2011     Former Assembly Speaker Fabian Nunez
2010     Michele Norris of National Public Radio


The lecture series is funded by sponsorships and an endowment. Click "Give Now" to support this program.

                                    Give Now to the Department of Political Science

                                             Donation Instructions:

- Enter Amount
- Skip Area Buttons
- Click "Other Purpose" 
- Type "Poli Sci Dept"
- Type Preferred Fund