Spring 2019 Awards

The Faculty RSCA Assigned Time Program was launched last semester to expand and enhance research, scholarly, and creative activity at San José State University. In the first stage of a multi-year phase-in, all eligible tenure-track faculty in the third to the sixth year of their probationary period and 15% of all associate and full professors were awarded 3 WTU RSCA assigned time for assigned time for RSCA in the Spring 2019 semester. Assistant professors in the first or second year are receiving 3 WTU assigned time for RSCA in the Spring 2019 per the CBA contract. Awarded tenured faculty will continue to received 3 WTU assigned time for RSCA per semester through Spring 2023, given annual submission of RSCA outputs and a positive third year review of their RSCA agenda. Assistant professors will receive 3 WTU assigned time for RSCA per semester throughout the probationary period (also given annual submission of RSCA outputs), and then will be invited to apply for assigned time as tenured faculty.

In this round, an additional 20% (approximately) of all associate and full professors will be awarded 3 WTU assigned time in AY 2019-2020, followed by 6 WTUs of assigned time in AYs 2020-21 through 2023-2024.

Many thanks to members of the CoSS RSCA Advisory Committee, who worked hard to produce the “CoSS RSCA Productivity Showcase” that forms the basis for determining eligibility to participate in the program. Due to the speed of program deployment last semester we did not have time for additional extensive discussion of the role of the Showcase during the first year of the program, but the process and results of the first year implementation were reviewed and adjustments have been made for this round. For example, categories of RSCA outputs have been increased from three to four with scholarly books as their own category, and longer performances as author/playwright produced by a premier venue are weighted equal to long documentaries.

Please see the Spring 2019 application process [pdf] and the award selection process for more specific information.

Nineteen College of Social Sciences faculty members were selected for awards.