Austen D. Warburton Award of Merit

Hien Duc DoHien Duc Do

Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Endowed by Austen D. Warburton, this award recognizes a faculty member within the College who has achieved the highest level of scholarship, as demonstrated by an outstanding record of publications and the delivery of scholarly papers before prestigious professional organizations. The person’s achievements should be worthy of international or national recognition, with significant impact upon a field of scholarship in the Social Sciences.

CoSS Meritorious Service Award

Beth Von TillBeth Von Till

Communication Studies

For this award, the Department Chairs of the College select a faculty member who, through distinguished service on Department, College and University elected bodies, has provided leadership in advancing the interests of faculty.

Beth Von Till has been a lecturer in the Communication Studies Department since 1987. Selected as the Outstanding Lecturer in 2007, her many duties have included Director of the Comm Studies Lab, WASC assessment coordinator, WASC Steering Committee, Chair of the Senate Curriculum and Research Policy Committee and Chair of the Academic Senate. Beth was a founding member and chair of the Communication Centers Section of the National Communication Association and president of the National Association of Communication Centers. She was named a Salzburg Fellow in 2007, 2010, and 2011. Currently serving on the University Library Board, she was recently elected to the Tower Foundation Board and the Athletics Board. Research interests include intercultural communication and organizational communication.

CoSS Teaching Excellence Award

Anne Marie ToddAnne Marie Todd

Communication Studies

The College of Social Sciences award for Teaching Excellence honors one faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding teaching and mentoring at the graduate and undergraduate levels. This individual has been nominated by CoSS faculty in consultation with the department chair. The department chairs then elect the individual for the award.

Anne Marie Todd is Professor of Communication Studies. Her most recent book, Communicating Environmental Patriotism: A Rhetorical History of the American Environmental Movement (Routledge, 2013) responds to American apathy toward global environmental crises and suggests patriotism as a persuasive framework for sustainability. Get Green! (Heinemann Raintree, 2008) promotes sustainability literacy and teaches conservation skills to young audiences (9–11 years). Her research has been published in journals including Public Understanding of Science, Environmental Communication, Ethics & the Environment, and Critical Studies in Media Communication. Dr. Todd is a founding member of the International Environmental Communication Association and serves on the advisory board for the Green Ninja Project.