Austen D. Warburton Award of Merit

Frances L. EdwardsFrances L. Edwards

Political Science

Endowed by Austen D. Warburton, this award recognizes a faculty member within the College who has achieved the highest level of scholarship, as demonstrated by an outstanding record of publications and the delivery of scholarly papers before prestigious professional organizations. The person’s achievements should be worthy of international or national recognition, with significant impact upon a field of scholarship in the Social Sciences.

CoSS Meritorious Service Award

Patricia Evridge HillPatricia Evridge Hill


For this award, the Department Chairs of the College select a faculty member who, through distinguished service on Department, College and University elected bodies, has provided leadership in advancing the interests of faculty.

CoSS Teaching Excellence Award

The College of Social Sciences award for teaching excellence honors one tenured/tenure track faculty member and one lecturer who have demonstrated outstanding teaching and mentoring at the graduate and undergraduate levels. These individuals have been nominated by CoSS faculty in consultation with the department chair. A committee of past award recipients select the individuals for the award.

Marco MenikettiMarco MenikettiJennifer Anderson

Professor, Anthropology

Jennifer Anderson

Lecturer, Anthropology

SJSU Outstanding Professor

Kenneth PeterKenneth Peter

Political Science

Read about Kenneth Peter in Washington Square.

SJSU Distinguished Service Award

Maria Luisa AlanizMaría Luisa Alaníz

Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Read about María Luisa Alaníz in Washington Square.