CCTC Education Specialist Standards

Students in the Education Specialist Teaching Credential programs are expected to demonstrate competence in each area addressed by the Program Standards, the Specialty Standards and the Teacher Performance Expectations (TPEs) as outlined in the California Commission Education Specialist Teaching and Other Related Services Credential Program Standards, and listed below. In addition, there are three SPED standards.


Preliminary Education Specialist Teaching Credentials Program Standards 9-16:

Program Standard 9: Preparation to Teach Reading/Language Arts

Program Standard 10: Preparation to Teach English Language Learners

Program Standard 11: Typical and Atypical Development

Program Standard 12: Behavioral, Social, and Environmental Supports for Learning

Program Standard 13:  Curriculum and Instruction of Students with Disabilities

Program Standard 14: Creating Healthy Learning Environments

Program Standard 15:  Field Experience in a Broad Range of Service Delivery Options

Program Standard 16: Assessment of Candidate Performance


Mild/Moderate Disabilities (M/M) Specialty Standards 1-6:

M/M Standard 1: Characteristics of Students with Mild/Moderate Disabilities

M/M Standard 2: Assessment and Evaluation of Students with Mild/Moderate Disabilities 

M/M Standard 3:  Planning and Implementing Mild/Moderate Curriculum and Instruction

M/M Standard 4: Positive Behavior Support 

M/M Standard 5: Specific Instructional Strategies for Students with Mild/Moderate Disabilities

M/M Standard 6: Case Management


Moderate/Severe Disabilities (M/S) Specialty Standards 1-8:

M/S Standard 1:  Learning Characteristics of Individuals with Moderate/Severe Disabilities 

M/S Standard 2:  Communication Skills

M/S Standard 3:  Developing Social Interaction Skills and Facilitating Social Context.

M/S Standard 4:  Assessment, Program Planning and Instruction

M/S Standard 5:  Movement, Mobility, Sensory and Specialized Health Care

M/S Standard 6:  Positive Behavioral Support

M/S Standard 7: Transition and Transitional Planning

M/S Standard 8: Augmentative and Alternative Communication


Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) Specialty Standards 1-10:

ECSE Standard 1: Theoretical, Philosophical, and Empirical Foundations

ECSE Standard 2: Typical and Atypical Child Development

ECSE Standard 3: Role of Family in Early Childhood Special Education

ECSE Standard 4:  Assessment and Evaluation of Infants, Toddlers and Preschoolers

ECSE Standard 5: Individualized Family Service Plan, Individualized Education Program and Transition

ECSE Standard 6: Intervention and Instructional Strategies: Birth through Pre-Kindergarten

ECSE Standard 7: Learning Environments

ECSE Standard 8: Collaboration and Teaming

ECSE Standard 9:  Low Incidence Disabilities in Early Childhood Special Education Programs

ECSE Standard 10: Field Experience in Early Childhood Special Education Programs