Awards, Scholarships & Grants

Through the College of Applied Sciences and Arts the following Awards, Scholarships and Grants are available:

Alumni Association Dean's Scholarships

Since 1975, the San José State University Alumni Association has awarded scholarships to students who excel in their academic studies and actively participate in the betterment of their communities through volunteer work. These awards are funded through the generous contributions of alumni and friends of SJSU and represent one of the strongest individual scholarship programs offered by any alumni association in the California State University system. Two outstanding undergraduate or graduate students from each of SJSU's seven colleges are chosen by their deans to receive a $4,000 annual scholarship. Apply Now!


Dean's International Scholarship for Faculty Led Programs

The Faculty-Led Program is a unique way to introduce student to the idea of the world as an educational resource while giving students who may have never considered it a possibility, the opportunity to study abroad. The College of Applied Sciences and Arts is committed to helping a broad range of SJSU students overcome the financial barriers to study abroad by offering the Dean's International Scholarship to qualified students in the College of Applied Sciences and Arts. 24 scholarships will be awarded to qualified students enrolled in an official SUMMER 2016 SJSU CASA Faculty-Led Program (FLP) in the amount of $500 each. Applicants must complete the application electronically on the Spartan Scholarship website by Tuesday, March 1, 2016.

Visit for more information and for PDF of the application.


Committee to Enhance Equity and Diversity (CEED) Awards

Each year, the Dean recognizes CASA students/faculty/student organizations that have demonstrated excellence in promoting and fostering a deeper understanding of equity and diversity as they relate to issues of age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion, and/or sexual orientation on the SJSU campus and the community. Each CASA department/school is permitted three student nominations, one faculty nomination, and one student organization nomination.

Visit for more information and for a link to this year's nomination form.

2015 CEED Award Call for Nominations flier (PDF)

Past CEED recipients

2014 CEED Award winners included Debbie Reese, a student in the School of Information, and Ashwini Wagle, a professor in Nutrition, Food Science and Packaging.

According to her nomination form, Reese was the recipient of the 2013 Virginia Matthews Scholarship Award for her “sustained involvement in the American Indian community and her sustained commitment to American Indian concerns and initiatives.”

Her award-winning blog, American Indians in Children’s Literature, shined the spotlight on the Arizona law that led to the recent shutdown of the Mexican American Studies Program in the Tucson Unified School District. According to the American Indian Library Association, Reese not only worked with the Nambe community and “she strives to inform the dominant culture about issues facing Indian people today.” After graduation, Reese planned to return to Nambe Pueblo to establish a library and archive for the community.

Wagle, who has been a faculty member since 2003, has an interest in how culture can affect food habits. She developed the “South Asian Carbohydrate Counting Tool for South Asians” with some of her graduate students and made the tool available at no charge through her faculty website. According to the colleague who nominated Wagle, the tool is being used in hospitals and diabetic clinics throughout the Bay Area to educate South Asians. In addition she also created “SEED: Success and Enhancement through Education and Development” on to provide 30 microloans to minority women.

Former recipients of the CEED Award include Health Science students Aldo Chazaro and Nicole Adel. The Outstanding Student Organization award went to Nutrition, Food Science, and Packaging’s The Most Holy Trinity Church Student Group. The Faculty Awards went to Justice Studies’ Alessandro De Giorgi and Social Work’s Soma Sen.

Other resources for faculty

Resources for faculty are available through the Office of Faculty Affairs and the Office of Graduate Studies and Research