Committee to Enhance Equity and Diversity (CEED) Awards

CEED Mission Statement

To enhance the mission of CASA by promoting a deeper understanding of equity and diversity by recognizing and being responsive to issues on age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion, and sexual orientation.


CEED Awards nominations are now closed.

The purpose of the CEED Awards is to recognize those individuals and groups that have demonstrated excellence in promoting and fostering a deeper understanding of equity and diversity as they relate to issues of age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion and/or sexual orientation.Committee to Enhance Diversity and Equity

 

To qualify for these awards, the nominees must satisfy one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement on the San José State University campus;

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement in the community;

  • Outstanding activities and projects that contribute to a better understanding of equity and diversity issues.

 

CEED Award Categories:

  • Undergraduate Student Service
  • Graduate Student Service
  • Faculty Service
  • Staff Service
  • Student Organization Service

 

2016-17 CEED Award Winners

The CEED Awards reception was held on Tuesday, January 24, to honor six recipients whose combined effort and activities have made an important contribution to enhance equity and diversity at San José State University and/or in the community.

The recipients for the CEED Student Service Awards are:

Undergraduate Student Service Award - Frankie Garcia and Joey Montoya

Graduate Student Service Award - Natsuko Tsuji

Student Organization Service Award - Social Work Graduate Student Association

Faculty Service Award - Dr. Edith Kinney

Staff Service Award - Cassie Barmore

 2016-17 CEED Awards

From left to right: Frankie Garcia, Natsuko Tsuji, Joey Montoya, Social Work Graduate Student Association (Meg Glenn, Alisia Murphy, Miriam Pokharel-Wood), Dr. Edith Kinney and Cassie Barmore.

Click here to read more about the awardees and their work on campus and/or in the community.

CEED 2016/17 Representatives:

Department/School Representative Email
Aerospace Michael Pecher michael.pecher@sjsu.edu
Health Science & Recreation Suzy Ross susan.ross@sjsu.edu
Hospitality Management Faranak Memarzadeh faranak.memarzadeh@sjsu.edu
Journalism & Mass Communications Phylis West-Johnson phylis.west@sjsu.edu
Justice Studies Wilson Yuan wilson.yuan@sjsu.edu
Kinesiology Seung Ho Chang seungho.chang@sjsu.edu
Library & Information Science Tonia San Nicolas-Rocca tonia.sannicolas-rocca@sjsu.edu
Nursing Ruth Rosenblum ruth.rosenblum@sjsu.edu
Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging Adrianne Widaman adrianne.widaman@sjsu.edu
Occupational Therapy Deb Bolding deborah.bolding@sjsu.edu
Social Work Ed Cohen edward.cohen@sjsu.edu
College Rep Pam Richardson pamela.richardson@sjsu.edu