Committee to Enhance Equity and Diversity (CEED) Awards

CEED Mission Statement

To enhance the mission of CASA by promoting a deeper understanding of equity and diversity by recognizing and being responsive to issues on age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion, and sexual orientation.

CEED Awards nominations are now closed.

The purpose of the CEED Awards is to recognize those individuals and groups that have demonstrated excellence in promoting and fostering a deeper understanding of equity and diversity as they relate to issues of age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion and/or sexual orientation.Committee to Enhance Diversity and Equity


To qualify for these awards, the nominees must satisfy one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement on the San José State University campus;

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement in the community;

  • Outstanding activities and projects that contribute to a better understanding of equity and diversity issues.


CEED Award Categories:

  • Undergraduate Student Service
  • Graduate Student Service
  • Faculty Service
  • Staff Service
  • Student Organization Service


2016 CEED Award Winners

The CEED Awards reception was held on Tuesday, April 28, to honor six recipients whose combined effort and activities have made an important contribution to enhance equity and diversity at San José State University and/or in the community.

The recipients for the CEED Student Service Awards are:

Undergraduate Student Service Award - Navpreet Kaur

Graduate Student Service Award - Essraa Nawar and Cotton Stevenson

Faculty Service Award - Dr. William Armaline

Staff Service Award - Silvia La Rosa

Student Organization Service Award - Alpha Phi Sigma Iota Chapter

2016 CEED Awardees

From left to right: Essraa Nawar, Silvia La Rosa, William Armaline, Navpreet Kaur, Josh Felipe and Maricela Flores (Alpha Phi Sigma Iota Chapter), Cotton Stevenson

Click here to read more about the awardees and their work on campus and/or in the community.

CEED 2016/17 Representatives:

Department/School Representative Email
Aerospace Michael Pecher
Health Science & Recreation Suzy Ross
Hospitality Management Faranak Memarzadeh
Journalism & Mass Communications Phylis West-Johnson
Justice Studies Wilson Yuan
Kinesiology Seung Ho Chang
Library & Information Science Tonia San Nicolas-Rocca
Nursing Ruth Rosenblum
Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging Adrianne Widaman
Occupational Therapy Deb Bolding
Social Work Peter Lee
College Rep Pam Richardson