Committee to Enhance Equity and Diversity (CEED) Awards

CEED Mission Statement

To enhance the mission of CASA by promoting a deeper understanding of equity and diversity by recognizing and being responsive to issues on age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion, and sexual orientation.


The purpose of the CEED Awards is to recognize those individuals and groups that have demonstrated excellence in promoting and fostering a deeper understanding of equity and diversity as they relate to issues of age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion and/or sexual orientation.Committee to Enhance Diversity and Equity

 

To qualify for these awards, the nominees must satisfy one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement on the San José State University campus;

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement in the community;

  • Outstanding activities and projects that contribute to a better understanding of equity and diversity issues.

 

CEED Award Categories:

  • Undergraduate Student Service
  • Graduate Student Service
  • Faculty Service
  • Staff Service
  • Student Organization Service

 

2015-16 CEED Award Winners

The CEED Awards reception was held on Tuesday, April 28, to honor six recipients whose combined effort and activities have made an important contribution to enhance equity and diversity at San José State University and/or in the community.

The recipients for the CEED Student Service Awards are:

Undergraduate Student Service Award - Navpreet Kaur

Graduate Student Service Award - Essraa Nawar and Cotton Stevenson

Faculty Service Award - Dr. William Armaline

Staff Service Award - Silvia La Rosa

Student Organization Service Award - Alpha Phi Sigma Iota Chapter

2016 CEED Awardees

From left to right: Essraa Nawar, Silvia La Rosa, William Armaline, Navpreet Kaur, Josh Felipe and Maricela Flores (Alpha Phi Sigma Iota Chapter), Cotton Stevenson

Click here to read more about the awardees and their work on campus and/or in the community.

CEED 2015/16 Representatives:

Department/School Representative Email
Aerospace Michael Pecher michael.pecher@sjsu.edu
Health Science & Recreation Joshua Baur joshua.baur@sjsu.edu
Hospitality Management Faranak Memarzadeh faranak.memarzadeh@sjsu.edu
Journalism & Mass Communications Dona Nichols dona.nichols@sjsu.edu
Justice Studies Edith Kinney edith.kinney@sjsu.edu
Kinesiology KyungMo Han kyungmo.han@sjsu.edu
Library & Information Science Tonia San Nicolas-Rocca tonia.sannicolas-rocca@sjsu.edu
Nursing Lou Ellen Barnes-Willis louellen.barnes-willis@sjsu.edu
Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging Giselle Pignotti giselle.pignotti@sjsu.edu
Occupational Therapy Gigi Smith gigi.smith@sjsu.edu
Social Work Nicole Dubus nicole.dubus@sjsu.edu
College Rep Pam Richardson pamela.richardson@sjsu.edu