CEED Memorandum

The purpose of the CEED Awards is to recognize those individuals and groups that have demonstrated excellence in promoting and fostering a deeper understanding of equity and diversity as they relate to issues of age, class, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion and/or sexual orientation.

To qualify for these awards, the nominees must satisfy one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement on the San José State University campus;

  • Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement in the community;

  • Outstanding activities and projects that contribute to a better understanding of equity and diversity issues.

The CEED Committee will review the nominations and forward recommendations to the Dean for final review and approval. The Dean will recognize the 2016 CEED Distinguished Service Honorees at a reception tentatively set for late April. Honorees will receive an award commemorating their contribution to equity and diversity.

Please contact Eddie Jimenez, at 408-924-2900 or via email to eddie.jimenez@sjsu.edu with any questions.

Dept/School CEED 2015/16 Representatives:

Department/School Representative Email
Aerospace Michael Pecher michael.pecher@sjsu.edu
Health Science & Recreation Joshua Baur joshua.baur@sjsu.edu
Hospitality Management Faranak Memarzadeh faranak.memarzadeh@sjsu.edu
Journalism & Mass Communications Dona Nichols dona.nichols@sjsu.edu
Justice Studies Edith Kinney edith.kinney@sjsu.edu
Kinesiology Mo Han kyungMo.han@sjsu.edu
Library & Information Science Tonia San Nicolas-Rocca tonia.sannicolas-rocca@sjsu.edu
Nursing Lou Ellen Barnes-Willis louellen.barnes-willis@sjsu.edu
Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging Giselle Pignotti giselle.pignotti@sjsu.edu
Occupational Therapy Megan Chang megan.chang@sjsu.edu
Social Work Nicole Dubus nicole.dubus@sjsu.edu
College Rep Pam Richardson pamela.richardson@sjsu.edu