Student Affairs Committee

SAC Group

The Student Affairs Committee (SAC) has existed since 1986. The primary function of the committee is to advise the Dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences of any student problems or needs, to recommend policy or suggest courses of action, and to suggest improvements to the College. The students that participate in the Student Affairs Committee are the liaisons between the department/school, the students, and the Dean's Office. The Committee discusses issues of concern brought to the committee by the students-at-large or by committee members themselves.

Be informed and be involved:

If you would like answers to your questions, please contact the representative of your department or school. If you want to be more involved with the College of Health and Human Sciences, please contact the chair or director of your department or school.


The Student Affairs Committee meets on the third Tuesday of the month, from 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., in MacQuarrie Hall, Room 438A.

Choosing committee members:

During Spring term, Student Affairs Committee members are chosen by the respective departments or schools and current student representatives. After the representatives are chosen, the committee begins meeting in August.

The committee is composed of one representative from each academic unit offering a major. These academic units include:

1. Health Science   2. Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management
3. Journalism and Mass Communications    4. Justice Studies
5. Kinesiology  6. School of Information
7. Nursing  8. Nutrition, Food Science, and Packaging
9. Occupational Therapy  10. Social Work


In addition to these representatives, one faculty advisor is chosen on a rotating basis, along with one staff person, who also sits on the committee.

Fall 2018 – 2019 Academic Year

SAC Representatives

        Shirley Canela   
Nalani Kekuawela
Shirley Canela
Millie Book
HSchool of Information   DGFSDFGDSFGFGSDFGSDFGSDFGKinesiology   Health Science & Recreation Occupational Therapy
        Mie Elliessy Headshot  Trevin Smith 
Priya Bhela
Debora Garcia


Mie Elliessy
Trevin Smith
Nursing   Nursing   Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging Journalism & Mass Communication
Cecilia DeHaro
Juan Damion Perez
Kylee Kiesow 
Ivan Medina
Social Work   Social Work   Hospitality Management Justice Studies 


CHaHS Faculty and Staff

Department                      Name              Phone     Email
Dean's Office Mary Schutten, Dean 408-924-2900
Journalism & Mass Communications Tina Korani 408-924-3285
Dean's Office Support Staff Erika Vazques 408-924-2932