Board of General Studies

The Board of General Studies (BOGS) is a committee that reports to Curriculum & Research Committee and to the Provost.

The Board of General Studies:

  • solicits courses and curricular proposals designed to satisfy General Education requirements from all colleges and departments of the University;
  • reviews, approves, and authorizes courses and curricular proposals for purposes of General Education; and
  • evaluates the courses and curricula it has approved.
  • in consultation with deans and chairs, provides for and approves "challenge" mechanisms for Basic Skills requirements.
  • the Board considers petitions from programs for relief from the fifty-one semester hour General Education requirement.

The Board of General Studies consist of eleven members:

  • seven teaching faculty (representing seven colleges),
  • two students,
  • the Director of Assessment,
  • the Associate Vice President for Graduate and Undergraduate Programs,
  • and the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies (Curriculum).
  • Policy on BOGS Membership(pdf)
  • List of current BOGS Members (click link)
 

Committee Meeting Dates:

Meeting Dates for Academic Year 2018-2019

Simon Rodan, Chair

  • Fall 2018Location: ADM 144; Time: 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    Thursday, August 23, 2018                  Thursday, October 18, 2018
    Thursday, September 6, 2018              Thursday, November 1, 2018
    Thursday, September 20, 2018            Thursday, November 15, 2018
    Thursday, October 4, 2018                  Thursday, November 29, 2018

  • Spring 2019 - Location: ADM 144; Time: 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    Thursday, January 31, 2019                     Thursday, March 28, 2019 
    Thursday, February 14, 2019                   Thursday, April 11, 2019
    Thursday, February 28, 2019                   Thursday, April 25, 2019
    Thursday, March 14, 2019                       Thursday, May 9, 2019

Meeting Dates for Academic Year 2017-2018

Simon Rodan, Chair

  • Spring 2018- Location: ADM 144; Time: 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    Thursday, February 8, 2018                     Thursday, April 5, 2018
    Thursday, February 22, 2018                   Thursday, April 19, 2018
    Thursday, March 8, 2018                         Thursday, May 3, 2018
    Thursday, March 22, 2018                       Thursday, May 17, 2018

Location and time are subject to change, please contact the Office of Graduate and Undergraduate Programs for current location and times.

BOGS Meeting Minutes