Full Time Faculty

The Health Science and Recreation full-time faculty members are the stewards of the department. Faculty members have degrees in public health, community health education, recreation, epidemiology, health policy and management, recreation and recreation therapy, health promotion and disease prevention, health and social behavior, organizations and leadership, biology, communications, political science, psychology, sociology, and veterinary medicine. Our research and teaching interests include social ecological approaches to health, health disparities and health equity, policy and systems approaches, community-based programs, evaluation, health services utilization, holistic health, aging and society, qualitative methods, immigration, global citizenship, and multicultural health. 

Continuing the long tradition of our department, we hold leadership positions in the university, the region, and national professional organizations. We are committed to our department and the university, our professional fields, our students, and each other.  For a list of recent scholarly works by our full-time faculty, click here.

 
     

Demers, Anne L., EdD, MPH

anne.demers@sjsu.edu

SPX 202 | View Profile

     

Mamary, Edward, DrPH

edward.mamary@sjsu.edu

View Profile

     

Roe, Kathleen, DrPH, MPH

kathleen.roe@sjsu.edu

| View Profile

     

Park, Van Ta, PhD, MPH

van.ta@sjsu.edu

SPX 208 | View Profile

     

Worthen, Miranda, PhD

miranda.worthen@sjsu.edu

SPX 209 | View Profile

     

Baur, Joshua, PhD

joshua.baur@sjsu.edu

SPX 203 | View Profile

     

Allen, Monica, PhD

monica.allen@sjsu.edu

SPX 207 | View Profile

     

Ross, Susan, PhD

susan.ross@sjsu.edu

SPX 205| View Profile

     

Hartle, Jennifer, PhD

jennifer.hartle@sjsu.edu

SPX 211 | View Profile