JS and Wilkins StockholmGrapes Of WrathMHCSS DoorJS with President JohnsonMHCSS DisplayJS and ElaineJS with Elia Kazan

The only university research archive in the world dedicated solely to John Steinbeck's life and work. The Center promotes Steinbeck's goals of empathy and understanding by supporting education, inquiry, and the literary arts. 


 News and Events 

STEINBECK RENAISSANCE OF 2015 DECLARED ON 113TH ANNIVERSARY OF AMERICAN NOBEL LAUREATE’S BIRTH

February 27, 2015 - Interest in Steinbeck is surging. Steven Spielberg is reportedly preparing a remake of The Grapes of Wrath. Jennifer Lawrence has signed on to play the lead in East of Eden. Last week the actor James Franco, who starred on Broadway last year as George in Of Mice and Men, announced that next month he will start filming an adaptation of Steinbeck’s little-known 1936 novel In Dubious Battle.

Today marks the 113th anniversary of Steinbeck’s birth. To celebrate the occasion, the International Society of Steinbeck Scholars and the Center for Steinbeck Studies at San José State University have proclaimed a Steinbeck Renaissance. Read more.


 

Settlers of Unassigned LandsWednesday, March 4, 7:00pm

Former Steinbeck Fellow Charles McLeod reads from his new collection of short stories, Settlers of Unassigned Lands.

Free event, held in MLK 590. Reception and booksigning to follow.

 

 

 


 

Cara BaylesYalitza FerrerasReese Okyong KwonWednesday, April 15, 7:00pm

Please join us in the Center (MLK Library Room 590) for a reading by the 2014-2015 Steinbeck Fellows: Cara Bayles, Yalitza Ferreras, and Reese Okyong Kwon


 

SnowblindMonday, May 4, 6:00pm

SJSU MFA alumnus Daniel Arnold reads from Snowblind, a new collection of mountaineering adventure tales in the tradition of Jack London and Robert Louis Stevenson.

"A fierce book for those who know the game—and for the rest of us, who can vicariously push through our fears of the wild." - Kirkus (starred review)

Free event, held in MLK 590. Reception and booksigning to follow.

 

 


Khaled Hosseini

Author Khaled Hosseini received the 2014 Steinbeck Award on Weds, September 10, in the New Student Union. "I suspect there are a lot of Ma Joads in Afghanistan right now, trying to keep their families together,” Hosseini said. Read more.


 

 

 


John Steinbeck

Steinbeck Now:The new Steinbeck blog is a not-for-profit, non-commercial educational portal developed to benefit the public. SteinbeckNow.com accepts original articles and art with a fresh, transformative perspective on Steinbeck's life, thought, and persona.


For older news and events, click here.


 
Author Thomas Steinbeck, son of John Steinbeck, on writing 


See more clips on the Thomas Steinbeck YouTube channel.