Peer Mentors

Meet your peer mentors

celina cesena
Celina Cesena
Lead Peer Mentor
celina.cesena@sjsu.edu

Major: 
M.A. Counselor Ed
Hometown:
Fremont,CA
Favorite Food:
Dim Sum

kyle russo
Kyle Russo
Lead Peer Mentor
kyle.russo@sjsu.edu

Major: 
M.A. Couselor Ed
Hometown:
Monterey,CA
Favorite Food:
Pasta & Meatballs


ryan bloch

Ryan Ploch
Peer Mentor
Ryan.Ploch-Branscum@sjsu.edu

Major: 
Counselor Ed
Hometown:
San Jose,CA
Favorite Food:
Pizza

 
tia brown
Tia Brown
Peer Mentor
Tia.Brown@sjsu.edu

Major: 
Psychology
Minor:
Sociology
Hometown:
Los Angeles,CA
Favorite Food:
Baked Potatoes

gloria salazar
Gloria Salazar
Peer Mentor
Gloria.Salazar@sjsu.edu

Major: 
Counselor Ed
Hometown:
Los Angeles,CA
Favorite Food:
Ethiopian & Thai



mary cab

Mary Cabanayan
Peer Mentor
Mary.Cabanayan@sjsu.edu

Major:
Sociology with
concentration in
Race & Ethnic Studies
Hometown:
San Jose,CA
Favorite Food:
Sushi

 

liliana alonso
Liliana Alonso
Peer Mentor
Liliana.Alonso@sjsu.edu

Major: 
Counselor Ed
Hometown:
East Los Angeles,CA
Favorite Food:
Mole with Rice & Beans




Erika O

Erika Onyeise
Peer Mentor
Erika.Onyeise@sjsu.edu

Major: 
Psychology
Minor:
Public Health
Hometown:
San Diego,CA
Favorite Food:
Seafood Boil 
 

mikaela limosnero
Mikaela Limosnero
Peer Mentor
Mikaela.Limosnero@sjsu.edu

Major: 
Psychology
Hometown:
Gilroy,CA
Favorite Food:
French Fries

Frequently Asked Questions :

  • Where do I check in for my weekly peer mentor meeting?

Students can check in on the laptop at the front desk in ACCESS which is located in Clark Hall, Room 240.

  • I cannot meet with my peer mentor this week, what should I do?

Email your peer mentor as soon as possible with the following:

1. Why you cannot make the meeting

2. Whether the peer mentor is available to reschedule their meeting with you

Note: Rescheduled meetings are only available to students with extenuating circumstances that prevent them from coming to their meeting.

  • How do I turn in my SSCI 90/Probation assignments?

For SSCI 90 students: Submit your assignments to your respective SSCI 90 Canvas page.

For non-SSCI 90 students: Submit your assignments to the ACCESS Success Program Canvas page.

  • How many appointments can I miss?

Students are strongly encouraged to attend all of their weekly peer mentor meetings. However, students are allowed to miss up to 3 peer mentor meetings over the course of the semester. If a student misses more than 3 meetings, their course registration for the next semester will be delayed.

Note: After your third missed meeting, you must see a probation advisor to discuss the missed meetings.

  • What is the grace period if I am late to my appointment?

Students are allowed a 5 minute grace period when attending meetings. Please plan accordingly.

  • Which advisors do I meet with for my probation meetings?

Joe Fessehaye and Rose Hunter

  • Can Joe and Rose also help me with GE questions?

Yes!

  • How do I set up a meeting with Joe Fessehaye or Rose Hunter?

You can set up a meeting with either advisor via Spartan Connect. Click on the link “Create Advising Appointment” on the front page of the ACCESS site.

  • What are the check-in dates to meet with either Joe or Rose for my probation meetings? (Spring 2019)

First Meeting: between February 4th - March 15th

Second Meeting: between March 25th - May 10th