Faculty and Staff

OT faculty group photo in 2022

The Occupational Therapy Department faculty are excellent teachers, experienced clinicians,and nationally recognized leaders and scholars in the profession.

All of the faculty members are occupational therapists with advanced degrees, diverse backgrounds, specializations, interests and expertise including : physical and mental health rehabilitation, pediatrics, community mental health, gerontology, independent living skills, measurement and research, international occupational therapy, multicultural issues, the history of occupational therapy, kinesiology, infant and family mental health, psychogeriatrics, family-centered intervention, neurological rehabilitation, the social inclusion of children, job analysis, the uses of therapeutic humor, and health promotion.

Follow the links below for faculty and staff directory: 

Department Chair

Faculty

Emeritus/Emerita Faculty

Staff

Faculty Awards and Honors

The Occupational Therapy Department is excited to announce the awards and honor garnered by our faculty members.

2022 University Grants Academy success

photo of Dr. Megan ChangDr. Megan Chang, participated in the University Grants Academy this last year and just received an intervention research grant award from the American Occupational Therapy Foundation. Her topic is the Use of a Telehealth Approach to Build Resilience in Parents of Children with Autism through Mindfulness Practice. According to Dr. Chang, “this is a grant to support the diverse community of parents of children with autism ages 5-12 in the Bay Area. The goal is to examine the effects of online MBSR through self-reported outcomes as well as psychophysiological measures. The psychophysiological measures, namely electrodermal activity and electrocardiogram, will allow us to test changes in autonomic nervous system responses to stress that these parents chronically experience. OT Lecturer Rochelle McLaughlin, our very own MBSR guru, is the soul and interventionist of this pilot study. She will be delivering the UMASS MBSR program to these parents following the fidelity to treatment protocol. ” 

2020 OTAC Outstanding Service Award

Department Chair and the Vice President of OTAC, Dr. Gigi Smith, is awarded the OTAC Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2021 OTAC Conference [pdf]. This award recognizes practitioners who have a minimum of 20 years of OT practice with the last 5 in CA; has had significant contributions to OT advancement in education, OTAC activities,practice, community involvement, legislation or research; and publications and/or oral presentations.
photo of G. Smith on OTAC conference web banner

2021 CFOT Bonita Kraft Research Grant  Award

photo of Dr. Chiao-Ju FangAssistant Professor Dr. Chiao-Ju Fang was awarded the Bonita Kraft Research Grant Award combined with General Research Grant Award by the California Foundation of Occupational Therapy (CFOT) during the CFOT luncheon at the recently held 2021 OTAC conference. This grant supports the research of practicing OTs, academicians, and post-entry level students engaged in independent advance practice, doctoral level, or post-doctoral level research.

Outstanding Alumni Award

photo of Dr. Megan Chang

In September, Dr. Megan Chang was awarded the Outstanding Alumni Award of the Department of Occupational Therapy and the Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award of the College of Medicine at National Cheng Kung University in Taiwan. The award honors an alumnus of the university who has demonstrated significant achievements and outstanding contributions both professionally and in the community. In addition, Dr. Chang is also collaborating with Dr. Areum Jensen from the Department of Kinesiology on an ongoing multidisciplinary research project to understand the effects of exercise on physiological, physical, psychological and behavioral improvements in children with autism spectrum disorders.

Junior Faculty Mentor

photo of Dr. Melisa Kaye

Dr. Melisa Kaye was chosen to be a junior faculty mentor in the Affinity Mentoring for Academic Success throughout 2021-2022 academic year. This program engages students by providing mentoring support for graduate students and for those historically underserved students, especially BIPOC students or members of minority populations (LGBTQIA+ students, female engineers, etc.).

2021 AOTF and MJFF Intervention Research Grant

photo of Dr. Katrina Long

Dr. Katrina Long was awarded the 2021 American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF) and The Michael J. Fox Foundation (MJFF) Intervention Research Grant for her study on Pre-Active Parkinson’s Disease: A Randomized Control Trial Pilot Study to improve Self- Management of PA routines in Adults with Early- Stage Parkinson’s Disease.


Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association (FAOTA)

ROSTER OF FELLOWS (Est. 1973) recognizes occupational therapists who through their knowledge, expertise, leadership, advocacy, and/or guidance have made a significant contribution over time to the profession with a measured impact on consumers of occupational therapy services and/or members of the Association.
There are currently over 60,000 AOTA members and fewer than 300 have been honored with this award since 2010!

The following SJSU Occupational Therapy faculty have met the rigorous requirements and has been awarded their FAOTA credential in April 2020:

  • Luis de Leon Arabit [pdf] OTD, MS, OTR/L, BCPR, C/NDT, Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy will be recognized as an “Occupational Therapy Expert Clinician, Leader, and Advocate”
  • Megan C. Chang [pdf] PhD, OTR/L, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy will be recognized for “Supporting the Profession Through Evidence-based Practice”.

Dr. Arabit & Dr. Chang join the current Occupational Therapy faculty who have also been honored with this prestigious award:

  • Dr. Deborah Bolding
  • Dr. Gigi Smith
  • Dr. Winifred Schultz-Krohn

Previous Occupational Therapy faculty also awarded this honor include:

  • Dr. Heidi Pendleton
  • Dr. Marti Southam
  • Dr. Anne MacRae
  • Dr. Kay Schwartz
  • Dr. Pamela Richardson
  • Dr. Lela Llorens
  • Dr. Karen Diasio-Serrett 

In Memoriam - Dr. Anne MacRae

A message from our current Chair, Dr. Gigi Smith

 Dr. Anne MacRae

It is with deep sadness that I share with you the loss of our beloved colleague, mentor, teacher, and friend, Dr. Anne Macrae, who passed away peacefully on Sunday, May 23rd. She was in her home, surrounded by her family who held her close with their love. 

Dr. Macrae was a member of the SJSU faculty for over 30 years. She was the director of the post-professional master’s program and supervisor of the psychosocial occupational therapy clinic for more than 20 years. Anne was a gifted and well-respected instructor and a mentor to many who went on to work in the area of mental health. In 1997, she received the prestigious Fulbright Scholarship and as a Fulbright Fellow she taught and provided curriculum consultation at the University of Malta. Anne developed a deep love for Malta and would return there many times over the years to work with the occupational therapists at the University and through the Malta Mental Health Service.  

Dr. Macrae has many publications to her credit and co-edited 4 editions of the internationally recognized textbook, Psychosocial Occupational Therapy: An Evolving Practice. She was in the process of completing the 5th edition at the time of her passing.

Dr. Macrae received many recognitions and honors during her long career as an occupational therapist and scholar. Most recently she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Occupational Therapy Association of California for her service and dedication to the profession.

Anne will be deeply missed by the many people whose lives she has touched. Below is a video of Dr. MacRae's video montage made for her 2015 retirement celebration.

Department Chair

Name: Gigi Smith
Location: CCB 204
Phone: 408.924.3070

Graduate (MSOT) & Undergraduate (Pre-OT) Coordinator

Name: Gigi Smith
Location: CCB 204
Phone: 408.924.3094

Faculty

Read Faculty Bios

Andonian, Lynne
CCB 208
408.924.3059
Lynne.Andonian@sjsu.edu

Arabit, Luis
CCB 111
408.924.3077
Luis.Arabit@sjsu.edu

Arada, Cesar
CCB 207
408.924.3078
Cesar.Arada@sjsu.edu

Bailey, Peter
CCB 220
408.924.3851
Peter.Bailey@sjsu.edu

Boitano, Courtney
CCB 111
408.924.3150
Courtney.Boitano@sjsu.edu

Bolding, Deborah
CCB 113
408.924.3038
Deborah.Bolding@sjsu.edu

Chang, Megan
CCB 112
408.924.3075
Megan.Chang@sjsu.edu

Chio, Choi
CCB 111
408.924.3090
Choi.Chio@sjsu.edu

Fang, Chiao-Ju
HB 233
408.924.3085
Chiao-Ju.Fang@sjsu.edu

George, Alison
CCB 208
408.924.3095
Alison.George@sjsu.edu

Golembeski, Yvonne
CCB 220
408.924.3087
Yvonne.Golembeski@sjsu.edu

Haworth, Christine
CCB 220
408.924.2911
Christine.Haworth@sjsu.edu

Kaye, Melisa
CCB 113
408.924.3073
Melisa.Kaye@sjsu.edu

Khatri, Hiral
CCB 220
408.924.5811
Hiral.Khatri@sjsu.edu

Long, Katrina
CCB 111
408.924.3139
Katrina.Long@sjsu.edu

McLaughlin, Rochelle
CCB 104
408.924.3089
Rochelle.Mclaughlin@sjsu.edu

Paige, Lesley
CCB 111
408.924.3112
Lesley.Paige@sjsu.edu

Pendleton, Heidi McHugh
HB 232
408.924.3083
Heidi.Pendleton@sjsu.edu

Pickett, Karen
CCB 220
408.924.3201
Karen.Pickett@sjsu.edu

Richardson, Pamela
MH 431
408.924.2900
Pamela.Richardson@sjsu.edu

Schultz-Krohn, Winifred
CCB 206
408.924.3081
Winifred.Schultz-Krohn@sjsu.edu

Smith, Gigi
CCB 204
408.924.3072
Gigi.Smith@sjsu.edu

Teaford, Graham
CCB 104
408.924.3335
Graham.Teaford@sjsu.edu

Tipton-Burton, Michelle
CCB 220
408.924.3696
Michelle.Tipton-Burton@sjsu.edu

Emeritus/Emerita Faculty

Read Faculty Emeritus/Emerita Bios

Burton, Gordon
Gordon.Burton@sjsu.edu

Cara, Elizabeth
Elizabeth.Cara@sjsu.edu

Glogoski, Carolyn
Carolyn.Glogoski@sjsu.edu

Killingsworth, Amy
Amy.Killingsworth@sjsu.edu

Llorens, Lela A. W.

MacRae, Anne

Pedretti, Lorraine

Schultz-Krohn, Winifred
Winifred.Schultz-Krohn@sjsu.edu

Schwartz, Kathleen Barker
Kathleen.Schwartz@sjsu.edu

Serrett, Karen Diasio

Southam, Marti
Marti.Southam@sjsu.edu

Staff

Fanfa-Sullivan, Catherine
CCB 205
408.924.3079
Catherine.FanfaSullivan@sjsu.edu

Sara Villarreal
CCB 203
408.924.3071
Sara.Villarreal@sjsu.edu

Ocampo, Vicky
CCB 212
408.924.3086
Vicky.Ocampo@sjsu.edu