Parent & Family Orientation

Join us this summer!

We welcome parents and family members to attend Parent and Family Orientation to learn more about SJSU and how you can play a supportive role in helping your student succeed.  We offer orientation programs for both families of freshman and transfer students.

While at orientation, you will learn and talk about: 

  • Information on class registration and paying bills
  • SJSU traditions and culture
  • Academic requirements
  • Housing & dining options
  • Health & wellness
  • University Police
  • SJSU policies & procedures

2022 Sparta Camp (Frosh Orientation) - Parent/Family Orientation Dates

Parent/Family Orientation for freshman takes place concurrently with your student's Sparta Camp session, please refer to the list of session dates found below.

  • Thursday, June 30 - Friday, July 1, 2022
  • Thursday, July 7 - Friday, July 8, 2022
  • Tuesday, July 12 - Wednesday, July 13, 2022
  • Tuesday, July 19 - Wednesday, July 20, 2022
  • Friday, July 22 - Saturday, July 23, 2022
  • Tuesday, July 26 - Wednesday, July 27, 2022
  • Tuesday, August 2 - Wednesday, August 3, 2022
  • Tuesday, August 9 - Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Parent and Family Orientation Scheudle

You can access the Parent and Family Orientation Schedule HERE [pdf].

Register for Sparta Camp - Parent/Family Orientation

You may register for orientation in your student's nextsteps.sjsu.edu portal. Scroll down the homepage and select guest option. The CASHnet registration receipt is your confirmation of registration. You will be placed in the session on the same day as your student's Sparta Camp session.  You will receive a confirmation letter one week prior to your session with more information upon registering. 

Local Hotels & Accommodations

Overnight accommodations are NOT provided as a part of the Parent and Family orientation.


Orientation for the Parents/Families of Transfer Students

We understand many transfer students have parents and families who would like to know how they can support their Spartan. Parent/Family Orientation for transfers is offered virtually and free to attend.  Please refer to the list of session dates found below.

  • Wednesday, June 8 - 4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 15 - 4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 22 - 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Register for Orientation for the Parents/Families of Transfer Students

You may register for Parent/Family Orientation via the Google Form linked below. The Google Form receipt is your confirmation of registration. You will receive a confirmation letter one week prior to your session with more information upon registering. 

Register for Transfer Family Orientation

Technical requirments needed to participate are Zoom, an internet connection and a device that has working audio. Please download Zoom software prior to the event. You may download Zoom here


For more information contact us at mystudentis@sjsu.edu or 408-924-5972.