Faculty

 

Headshot of Curtis Asplund.Curtis Asplund
Assistant Professor
SCI 322
curtis.asplund@sjsu.edu

Specialization: High energy theoretical physics, entanglement entropy and complexity of quantum field theories and black holes, applications of gauge/gravity duality to condensed matter systems


Headshot of Ramendra Bahuguna.Ramendra Bahuguna
Professor and Chair
408-924-5245
SCI 245
ramendra.bahuguna@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Holography, fingerprint sensors


Headshot of Kassahun Betre.Kassahun Betre
Assistant Professor
408-924-5210
SCI 240
kassahun.betre@sjsu.edu

Specialization: High-energy theory, quantum gravity


Headshot of Peter Beyersdorf.Peter Beyersdorf
Professor and Graduate Advisor
408-924-5236
SCI 235
peter.beyersdorf@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Laser physics, precision measurements


Headshot of Alejandro Garcia.Alejandro Garcia
Professor
408-924-5244
SCI 245
algarcia@algarcia.org

Specialization: Computational fluid mechanics,
statistical mechanics


Headshot of Brianne Gutmann.Brianne Gutmann
Assistant Professor
SCI 235
brianne.gutmann@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Physics education research


Headshot of Ranko Heindl.Ranko Heindl
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
408-924-5259
SCI 264
ranko.heindl@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Experimental condensed matter physics


Headshot of Hilary Hurst.Hilary Hurst
Assistant Professor
SCI 264
hilary.hurst@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Condensed matter theory; many-body atomic physics including quantum feedback control, topological phases
and dissipative quantum systems.


Headshot of Michael Kaufman.Michael Kaufman
Professor and Dean, College of Science
408-924-4800
SCI 127
michael.kaufman@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Astrophysics: interstellar medium, infrared/submillimeter observations


Headshot of Ehsan Khatami.Ehsan Khatami
Associate Professor
408-924-5235
SCI 312
ehsan.khatami@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Computational condensed matter physics, strongly-correlated electronic systems, quantum machine learning


Headshot of Monika Kress.Monika Kress
Professor
408-924-5210
SCI 148
monika.kress@sjsu.edu

Specialization:  Data Analytics for STEM Student Success, On Sabbatical AY 2022-2023


Headshot of Thomas Madura.Thomas Madura
Associate Professor
408-924-5268
SCI 312
thomas.madura@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Astrophysics, astronomy education for blind and visually impaired persons


Headshot of Cassandra Paul.Cassandra Paul
Associate Professor
408-924-5228
SCI 248
cassandra.paul@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Physics education research, astronomy


Headshot of Gina Quan.Gina Quan
Assistant Professor
408-924-5255
SCI 322
gina.quan@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Physics education research (PER)


Headshot of Aaron Romanowsky.Aaron Romanowsky
Professor
408-924-5225
SCI 235
aaron.romanowsky@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Astrophysics: galaxy formation, dark matter, dynamics


Headshot of Christopher Smallwood.Christopher Smallwood
Assistant Professor
408-924-5270
SCI 248
christopher.smallwood@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Experimental optics and materials spectroscopy


Headshot of Neil Switz.Neil Switz
Associate Professor
408-924-5252
SCI 310
neil.switz@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Biophysics and optics; primarily optical imaging and fluorescence techniques applied to medical diagnostics.


Headshot of Kenneth Wharton.Kenneth Wharton
Professor
408-924-5257
SCI 308
kenneth.wharton@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Quantum foundations


Headshot of Carel Boekema.Carel Boekema
Professor Emeritus
carolus.boekema@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Magnetism and superconductivity in solids, computational condensed matter physics


Headshot of Patrick Hamill.Patrick Hamill
Professor Emeritus
408-924-5241
patrick.hamill@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Atmospheric physics, aerosol physics


Headshot of Brian Holmes.Brian Holmes
Professor Emeritus
brian.holmes@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Musical acoustics, sports physics


Headshot of Lui Lam.Lui Lam
Professor Emeritus
lui.lam@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Nonlinear physics, liquid crystals


Headshot of Kiumars Parvin.Kiumars Parvin
Professor Emeritus
kiumars.parvin@sjsu.edu

Specialization: Experimental condensed matter physics

Adjunct Faculty

Headshot of Natalie Batalha.Natalie Batalha
Adjunct Faculty
natalie.batalha@sjsu.edu

Headshot of Friedemann Freund.Friedemann Freund
Adjunct Faculty
408-924-5210
ffreund@mail.arc.nasa.gov